5 stars (9)
image/svg+xml

Childminder in Bedford

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2013 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 23 Sep 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

Hi, I am Ofsted registered childminder in Bedford. My name is Karra, I am 40 years old and a married mother of three. My eldest son is 9 years old, my daughter is 7 years old and my youngest son is 4 years old.

We live in a fully enclosed and secure three bedroom semi detached home in Putnoe, close to several schools, preschools and nurseries.

We have a large open plan space with lots of toys and facilities for children of all ages and stages of development. The room opens out onto a large patio area and lawn. We enjoy planting and growing a wide range of vegetables in our raised vegetable plots. We have also recently built a large wooden cabin/playhouse in the garden for the children to use and to store the garden toys.

We also enjoy visiting the nearby shops, library, parks and several local playgroups and sessions. We occasionally visit farms and soft play venues.

I am an honest, caring and friendly person who will seek to work with you to meet your child's requirements. I am always fair and consistent in my approach in managing children's needs.

My Experience

I have over 9 years childcare experience and have three children of my own. Prior to childminding I carried out adhoc babysitting and nannying for various families.
I have been a registered childminder since October 2014 and received a good Ofsted report in September 2016. I have also undertaken several childcare related courses and I have a level 3 diploma in Early Years.

My Qualifications

*Advanced DBS check.
*12 hour Paediatric First Aid course.
*Fire Safety in the Home course.
*Basic Food Hygiene course.
*Clinical Psychology of Children and Young People course.
*Child Protection course.
*Food Allergy course.
*Baby massage.
*Baby signing.
*CYPOP5 Setting up a Childcare Business course.
*Level 3 in Early Years.

My Availability

1 FULL/PART TIME SPACE AVAILABLE WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.
Further spaces available from July 2017.
My hours are 07.00-17.00 Monday to Friday throughout the year.
Any other hours may be possible, please discuss your individual requirements.
***I can offer places for funded 2, 3 and 4 year olds.
***I accept childcare vouchers.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 22/09/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

Please contact for details.

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 20/04/2020)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Karra W. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I just think Karra is great. She parents just the way I hope to myself (and don't always manage). She has just the right balance of really nurturing the children and being firm and clear. She always seems so on top of it.
My daughter really enjoyed coming to Karra's. She's got a nice set up for childminding too with toys and garden.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Naomi about Karra W on 24/06/2020

Karra looked after our son from when he was 11 months old. From the very first settling in session, he loved being at her home. He rarely cried when I dropped him off, and in fact was so happy to be there that he often forgot to even say goodbye to me! Karra is so open in the way she deals with both children and parents - I always felt in the loop and trusted her completely with my son's safety and happiness. We received regular updates on activities and assessments and lots of photos of what he had been up to during the day. She even took on the challenge of using our reusable nappies! She is an excellent, caring childminder; I recommend her wholeheartedly.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Lisa about Karra W on 24/06/2020

Karra has been looking after my son since he was 10months old 4 days a week! He is now 2 and absolutely loves going to Karra's house and playing with her children and other mindees. I can honestly say I have no hesitations or concerns about leaving him with Karra! When I am at work I am fully relaxed knowing he is receiving the best possible care!

Karra is very open and honest, keeping me up to date with daily activities, food etc via a diary and photos via WhatsApp. They get out of the house a lot which I (and my son) love. There are often outings to the park and sometimes further afield to soft play, farms etc. She offers a wide range of activities inside the setting too!

Karra is great at communicating, policies etc are clear and she is always willing to chat /respond to messages with any questions I have. She has also been flexible when necessary with extra hours of childcare needed.

I would whole heartedly recommend Karra as a childminder. She has a kind, gentle approach with the children that empowers them to trust in her and communicate their needs and I see lots of happy (sometimes tired) faces on pick up!!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Emma L about Karra W on 01/08/2017

Karra is an excellent childminder and I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone. My 5 year old son and 20 month old daughter have been with Karra for a year now and they love spending time at her house and with the other children she cares for.

Karra is very organised and professional. She always makes sure the children have activities to do, ranging from attending play groups, arts and crafts, singing and exploring educational games/toys. The outside environment that she has created for the children at her home is perfect. Karra also often plans days out i.e. trips to the park and farm which my children love.

Karra is very patient and calm. Nothing phases her and as a result my children are very relaxed in her company. My son is quite shy and has really opened up to Karra. She understands his moods and has brought him out of his shell by letting him take things at his own pace. My daughter has loved being at Karra's since day 1 and has never once been unhappy about me leaving her there. She often can't wait to get in her house quick enough!

Karra's communication is excellent. She always keeps me updated of event my daughter's daily diary and with photos and messages on WhatsApp. All of her policies and procedures are clear and regularly updated and circulated.

Karra is also very flexible and has helped me out with extra hours/days on a number of occasions. Where she cannot help she often suggests alternative child care arrangements with trusted childminders that she knows well.

Overall, Karra is reliable, trustworthy, friendly and approachable. I am so pleased that she has formed very strong relationships with both my children. I go to working happy knowing that my children are in safe (and fun) hands!

  • 5 stars Overall

by Karen P about Karra W on 21/07/2017

Prior to my eighteen month old starting at Karra's I asked around other mums in Bedford about her! I was told that Karra was a very calm and kind parent to her own children. When I visited Karra her setting was organised, relaxed and fun which I knew was the perfect environment for my son. Karra knew I was nervous about leaving him as I had never left him before. Karra sent me pictures and messages of him throughout the settling in sessions to show me that he was busy playing happily.
Karra is approachable, friendly and extremely professional. My son has now built a great relationship with Karra and now will wave happily when I leave him. Karra is very flexible and communicates well. The children's routine is flexible and the activities age appropriate. Karra sends out a newsletter with useful information and hands over day to day information in a daily diary and over WhatsApp. We loved getting pictures of our son at playgroup, playing in the garden and sitting at the table doing arts and crafts. Karra always replies promptly to any questions or concerns that I have.
I would highly recommend Karra as a childminder and so would my son (if he could).
I would be happy to give a verbal reference is anyone wanted one.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Candice about Karra W on 19/11/2016

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.