Private Tutor in Catford

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2013 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 15 Nov 2019 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus

About Me

I'm a qualified secondary school teacher with Qualified Teacher Status and an up to date DBS check. I have a degree in Drama and Film Studies and can confidently tutor students from KS2 to KS4 Higher Tier GCSE English Language, English Literature and Mathematics.

In 2017, I completed DfE (Department for Education) funded Subject Specialist Training in Maths and am now DfE certified to tutor students Maths from KS2 to KS4 Higher Tier GCSE Mathematics.

I support students for the End Year Exams, Year 6 SAT exams, 11 plus exams, and GCSE English Language, Literature and Maths to Higher Tier.

I am up to date with the new curriculum for all the key stages.

I am able to support all levels of numeracy and literacy and have specialist materials for children with Special Educational Needs especially Dyspraxia, Dyslexia, Autism and Aspersers Syndrome.

If I tutor your child, I will spend time preparing an individualised learning programme for your child and will discuss with you, prior to commencing the tuition, the learning outcomes and expectations.

I will spend time planning, preparing, adapting, photocopying etc. varied lesson resources and I mark lessons away from the taught one hour’s tuition. This ensures that the student has more of the paid hour’s tuition spent on teaching and learning.

My Experience

I have been tutoring for 20 years and have up to date teaching and learning resources which have enabled all my pupils to reach their full potentials in all areas of the curriculum. This academic year, I have been tutoring students in KS2, KS3 English and Maths and KS4 English Language, English Literature and Maths GCSE.

I have successfully tutored children for entrance exams in the following schools: Bexley Grammar, Chislehurst and Sidcup Grammar, Beths Grammar, Colfes, Dartford Grammar, Eltham College and St Dunstan’s.

I like to gain as much information as I can about where the child is academically through their school reports and by listening to their parents' concerns.

Specific goals and learning outcomes will be outlined so that parents and my pupils know what we are aiming for. The child’s progress will be regularly monitored and parents will be kept informed of progress.

I welcome pupils of all abilities and strive to get them all to achieve their potentials. All my pupils have homework books, an organised folder and the expectation to undertake their homework weekly. Parents are kept up to date with their children’s learning and guidance is given as to how to further support their children’s learning between lessons.

My Qualifications

10 GCEs, 4 at A Level, 6 at GCE O level
ALCM in Flute Performance
BA in Combined Studies (Drama and Film Studies)
MA in Music
PGCE in Secondary Music
Completed Subject Specialist Training in Mathematics in 2017 and am now trained to teach Maths as a Second subject in Secondary Schools up to KS5.

My Availability

Weekday evenings and weekends

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 04/11/2019

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £35.00 per hour

Because I travel to the child's home, my fees for tuition are £35 for the first hour and £30 thereafter.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Training Certificate: Qualified Teacher Status certificate (added 03/11/2019)
  • Training Certificate: PGCE Certificate (added 03/11/2019)
  • UK Passport (added 03/11/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 12/11/2017)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.