5 stars (1)

Childminder in Weston-super-mare

Babysitter in Weston-super-mare

Usually responds within 3 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2013 Last Updated Apr 2019 Last Login 18 Jun 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

Hi, my name is Karen & I'm married to Mike & we have two daughters aged 17& 13. We live in Worle (just off Walford Avenue). We have a friendly cat & dog. I have a eight seater car & have car seats available for all ages. I am insured as a business user for both my car & home & have public liability insurance. I am a member of PACEY (formerly known as NCMA).

Children will have access to the whole of the ground floor of our home as well as our enclosed rear garden. I have lots of toys, puzzles, games & books suitable for both boys & girls from birth to 11.

I am registered with Ofsted & follow the EYFS framework.

Outings that I will do with your children include playgroups, trips to the park, library, soft play, beach, Jump N Jackz, Puxton Park, Bristol Zoo & the Wild Place Project.

Activities at home will include; free play inside & outside from a wide range of toys, arts & crafts (messy play I feel is a very important part of a childs development - not to mention lots of fun!), books, puzzles, games & cooking.

I am able to accept 0-2, 2, 3 & 4 year funding & I am registered to take Computershare, Sodexo, Edenred, Busy Bees Benefits & care-4 childcare vouchers.

I aim to provide a service to you & your child that is safe, fun, flexible & reliable in a home from home setting. If your child has a particular interest please talk to me to see if we can include it into our daily routine.

My Experience

I have been working as a Childminder since June 2013 & in 2018 became a Specialist Childminder. I have attended a lot of training courses since then to improve my knowledge further including; First Aid, Basic Child Protection, Inter Agency Child Protection, Scaffolding Children's Learning, Fun with Language, Early Language Development, Maths for Childminders, Physical Development for 0-5 year olds, Numicon Approach for 2, 3 & 4 year olds, Celebrating Cultural Diversity through a Generous Learning Environment, Sensory Processing & Social Communication Difficulties, PECS, How to make a healthcare plan, Introduction to Trauma & Attachment in Early Years Children, Introduction to Autism, Makaton 1 & 2, Portage & Introduction to Downs Syndrome.

Apart from being a mum of two (my eldest daughter is 17), I am also an Auntie to 14 children & regularly had my children's friends around to play & stay over.

I ran my own pre-school arts & crafts business for nearly six years were I could have up to 30 children in a session along with their parents. Each week we would do six arts & crafts activities based on a theme e.g. numbers, transport, animals etc. As part of this business I ran arts & crafts birthday parties for children from 3 - 10 years.

I have also worked in a Childrens Centre as a SMSA (School Meals Supervisory Assistant), working with two other ladies providing lunch & supervision for up to 30 nursery age children each day.

References are available from both current & former parents.

My Qualifications

IHC (Introduction to Home based Childcare).
Paediatric First Aid
Level 2 Award in Food Safety in Catering
Portage Practitioner
Makaton Beginners 1& 2

I will also be attending regular training provided by North Somerset Council (see above for details) & wish to take further childcare qualifications in the next couple of years to enhance my skills & keep up to date with current legislation & practices.

My Availability

Monday - Friday from 8am - 5.30pm, with some flexibility on hours, please contact me to discuss.

I will have a space for one child on a Monday, Thursday & Friday. Please get in touch to see if my availability has changed.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes no no yes yes no no
Afternoon yes no no yes yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 01/04/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £5.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

I charge £4.50 per hour & this includes entry to groups. Special outings may incur an additional entrance fee / spending money required for your child.

Meals are provided by you - I am happy to heat up meals.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Twinkle Toes. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Corey has only been going to Karen for a few weeks but he is very happy to go to Karen. Corey had servere separation anxiety and we had to change childminders to Karen but feels very happy with her. He enjoys playing with all the toys and interacting with Karen's daughters too. Karen has been a godsend and I don't worry about Corey whilst I am at work. Karen gives me details of what Corey has done that day as well as detailing his food intake, nappies and naps. I would reccomend Karen to everyone she really does provide great care for everyone she comes in contact with.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Twinkle Toes on 08/07/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.