5 stars (2)

Childminder in South Lowestoft

Babysitter in South Lowestoft

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Oct 2014 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 21 Sep 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Free Smear-Test Childcare

About Me

Hi!! I work all year and am happy to take holiday children as well as term time children.
At present I have very limited vacancies for term time, but not for long!!
My name is Nikki, I am a mum to 4 wonderful children who age from 24 (DBS clear) 21 (DBS clear) 19 (DBS clear and Full-time student ) and my little one who is 7 and is in Year 3.
We have 2 cats and a bouncy dog who are all a big part of our family. The dog has her own area indoors (she can get excited when meeting new people!) and also outside so she can be part of our day, or not seen depending on confidence of those indoors.
Our family welcome children of all ages ensuring every child feels welcome, valued and equal in our home.
Our home is in South Lowestoft and is full of role models and we always expect good manners and respect for each other from everyone.

My home is a large Victorian house with a carpeted lounge which I use throughout the day and I also have a separate playroom/dining room which is laminated. I use the playroom for all messy play. I have a small but secure paved rear garden with high fences so the children can have lots of fun and experiences!

Indoors - We LOVE creating things and making anything arty! Sometimes it feels my playroom is an art store!!
Role Play - we have an area that regularly changes depending on what the children are showing interest in or the topic we may be following at that time of year.
We have a beautiful range of books for all ages covering all interests, from fairies & tractors to "Room on the Broom" & visiting the dentist.
We have various resources for the children to use for IT. We use construction toys and love a board game too!

Outdoors - I have a small paved rear garden which has a brand new sand pit! We have tree stumps for stepping onto, tractors and cars for riding along with skipping ropes, swing ball etc. We make the most of our space but we are also close enough to the beach and the park to get out and about!
We have a large 7 seater car we can use for going on outings if it is too far for little legs to walk. We visits farms, the woodland walks or Redwings Horse Sanctuary etc.
We also go for walks and ride bikes and scooters. We socialize at structured groups but also a trip to the Post Office or to run an errand can be a fabulous learning experience too.

I follow the EYFS and will liase with HV, nursery or Pre-school and also support after school children with homework if needed.

I believe in healthy eating and always have a selection of fresh fruit and water/juice accessible to the children throughout the day.

My Experience

I have 24 years experience as a mum, doing the list of things a mum does!
I have 10 years experience working as a Teaching Assistant in primary school, which I thoroughly enjoyed!

I have worked 1:1 with many children with different issues whether it be behaviour or learning difficulties.
I have run a Nurture Group with a small group of children needing extra support for their learning. These children were a mix of learning difficulties and behaviour issues.
I was also the Senior Midday supervisor in school so I am a whizz at outdoor activities!

I have experience in dealing with many medical issues.
I have dealt with and previously had training for -Epilepsy, Diabetes and administering Insulin as well as weighing all food for carbohydrate recording.
I inject my own children with Hydrocortisone when needed.
I also have experience in working with ADHD children and Autistic children (various types)

My Qualifications

Setting up a home based child care service
Safeguarding Children
Enhanced CRB/DBS
Paediatric First Aid
Level 2 Teaching Assistant
Food Safety & Hygiene

Studying towards:
Diploma in SEND (Special Educational Needs & Disabilities)

My Availability

I have some part time vacancies for children from birth upwards.
I work all year but am happy to take term time or holiday children.

I collect from Red Oak Primary School at 3.15pm, the end of the day.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 20/09/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour
  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for JellyBea. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My 3 month old is about to start with Nikki. It may sound strange to write a review before she's been but I want to.
I have very high standards and I saw / spoke to a few child minders but none compared to Nikki.
She made sure she had time to spend with us, was so interested to listen to all our daft little stories and she was so organised. Some older children arrived while we were there and it was instantly clear that they considered Nikki's home as a second home.
Nowhere filled me with the same confidence and I'm looking forward to my daughter starting her time with Nikki with no reservations.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about JellyBea on 27/08/2016

If I could of given Nikki a 10 star review I would have. She has been the most fantastic childminder to my 2 children since April of this year. I needed her at very short notice and the hours that I needed were very awkward but Nikki bent over backwards to fit herself completely around myself, bearing in mind she is a mother herself. As a single mum I don't get a lot of help with the 3 children I have so I had such a high standard when I looked for a childminder that I honestly thought I wouldn't find someone, Nikki completely related to this and gave 2 hours each week before I committed to have my children, with me there watching and really made me feel 100% comfortable. Since my children have been with her they have learnt so much, my son now has confidence and is so much more open, his speech has improved Beyond recognition when he started he was very shy and barely spoke a word apart from at home. My little girl has learnt so much that when she starts nursery she will be so ahead, and that's made me feel reassured that I have help with them both and I'm not really alone. They both adore her and she goes above and beyond the low cost of her childcare because she genuinely cares for them both. I trust her with there lives, and that's a big thing for any parent. If your thinking about hiring a childminder please make sure you give her a shot, from parent to parent she is a wonderful person and amazing at her job, after even a small amount of time I don't class her as the lady who looks after my children, she is now a friend, who I hope will be a part of my children's lives for many many years xxx

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about JellyBea on 30/06/2016

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.