5 stars (3)

Childminder in Hartlepool

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Dec 2017 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 01 Dec 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

My name is Nic and I’m an Ofsted Registered Childminder. I live with my husband Andrew, two children Elizabeth and Joshua and our dog Eric. We live on Mowbray road, Hartlepool in a lovely laid back, family friendly home with a well equipped secure garden. The estate is quiet despite being on a main road, with lots of green areas only a short walk away and we have a car for further afield trips.

I love children of all ages and helping them to learn and grow as individuals is extremely rewarding; I, alongside my assistant Katie aim to offer a ‘home from home’, warm, friendly environment with lots of opportunity for fun and learning with stimulating activities, outings and experiences. Our home is full of fun, we enjoy being outdoors, in the garden or parks, farms. We equally enjoy chill out days, baking, song times, reading and crafts – all creations are valued equally, even ours! We attend a number of play groups that I have attended since my own children were babies and always have children to go out and about with, or have round to play so children learn to socialise with all different children of all ages.

My Experience

I have experience of caring for all ages of children from babies right through to teenagers through family and friends. Katie has also worked in the childcare sector since leaving school and even before has had lots of experience of young children as her own mum is a well respected childminder.

Before my move into childcare I specialised in learning disabilities, complex physical needs, challenging behaviours, and Progressive end of life care, all of which has equipped me with a lot of skills, patience and importantly, a sense of humour. Unfortunately the responsibility I had within the role was almost impossible to commit to alongside having children so I appreciate the importance of flexible, reliable childcare.

My Qualifications

Level 3 Award in Preparing to Work in Home Based Child care
Paediatric Infant & Child First Aid Level 3
Introduction to Safeguarding Children V5
FGM: recognising and preventing FGM V3
Food Standard Agency: Food Allergy Online Training.
Food Hygiene
I.A.B.A - Positive Practices in Behavioural Support
Schemas
Supporting Children with speech language and communication needs
Effective Partnership working with fathers
Safeguarding Children (Pacey)
Raising Developmental concerns with parents
Home Office - Prevent
Delivering the EYFS
Expectations of Behaviour
Supporting children's emotional well-being
Makaton trained

My Availability

I am available 7.30 til 5.30 Monday to Friday

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 07/07/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

7.30-5.30 - £35.00

4.50 per hour either side of these times.

Includes all meals, snacks, activities.

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Ofsted Certificate (added 07/07/2019)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for NicSwan. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

We have been with Nic since February 2017, at 10months old, until now and would not go anywhere else. She is an amazing childminder who my son loves to spend time with. Nic puts a lot of effort into making each day fun and educational, and as a result he is a very happy, confident little boy who has been brought on leaps and bounds. I really can not recommend her enough!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about NicSwan on 27/10/2019

My daughter has been with Nicola since March 2019, when she moved school in a new area. Not only has Nicola been amazing in the "general childminding duties", she goes so much further in that she also offers such fantastic support too. Moving to Nicola was one of the best choices we have made and my daughter adores going. She loves the range of activities they get up to in the holidays whether its the farm, the park, play group etc. - in fact she'd prefer to be here than anywhere else (don't tell Grandma!).

The food that Nicola offers is great for a range of eaters too, as mine can (sometimes, depending upon what day it is) be quite fussy! The environment is very clean and safe at all times. Katie, Nicola's assistant, is absolutely great with the children too and my daughter loves playing with her. I love checking the Facebook group as it provides you with pictures and stories about what has been going on in the day and it is wonderful to see what they have been getting up to!

Finally, we both love the dog, Eric - so placid and excellent around the children! I'd definitely recommend Nicola to anyone - she has her own wonderful family and yet she still has the time and puts in the effort for yours.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about NicSwan on 17/07/2019

Nicola is one of the most patient loving people I have met. My daughter has been going to Nic for a little over a year now she always looks forward to going and they have a superb relationship.
Her learning has come on leaps and bounds and Nicola is always insightful and supportive when it comes to developing new skills like potty training.
Her home is warm and friendly and has a real homely feel to it. It’s well equipped and the garden is a great area for the little ones with lots of fun stuff in it.
Nicola has a full schedule and the children are always out and about at playgroups, farms, and parks they are always entertained and having fun.
There’s also Katie who works alongside Nicola who is a real natural with the children and they all love her.
I would recommend Nicola to anyone. I trust her with the most important people in my life and I know they are always safe and cared for.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about NicSwan on 11/07/2019


Response by NicSwan on 04/11/2019:

Thank you Aimee.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.