Avatar for Eilidh
image/svg+xml

Eilidh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Mar 2024 Last Updated Jun 2024 Last Login 20 Jun 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Home School Helper

About Me

I am a kind, caring, organised, and enthusiastic person, keen to support children in their development. I have just concluded my final year at the University of Dundee with a first class honours MA in Psychology. I am looking for babysitting jobs in Edinburgh for July, having previous experience working as a childcare practitioner and babysitter.

My Experience

2021/22/23 | Nursery Practitioner
During the summers of in 2021, 2022, and 2023 I worked as a Childcare Practitioner at Cranley Nursery as a Bank Staff Employee. I had the opportunity to work with all ages at the nursery ranging from 7 months to 5 years. I received First Aid Training where I was taught and assessed on what to do if a child or baby is choking, and how to administer CPR and give rescue breaths to a child or baby. I gained a Food Hygiene Qualification and was trained in preparing and providing snack and lunch for the children. I also received training for Nappy Changing, Safe Sleeping and Child Protection. I was involved in some of the planning and preparation of learning activities for the children in each room, developing literacy, numeracy, and art skills. Through working in each of the rooms I got to care for children at different stages of development, gaining a better understanding of the support needed at a range of ages.

2024 | Babysitter
I have experience in babysitting children, most recently looking after a 6-year-old child after school twice a week. This has allowed me to further my skills in working with children, namely finding activities to do that are fun and support the child’s development. This can be a challenge, with this child having difficulty with their attention. I have learnt to overcome these challenges and build trust whilst being respected and listened to.

2023 | Reading Volunteer, Bookmark Reading Charity
During my final year at university I volunteered for the charity Bookmark, set up to support children who are struggling with their reading. They aim to help boost children’s self-esteem and confidence in reading, gain vital reading skills to progress in school, and show that reading can be fun. Taking part in two different programmes I spent time reading stories and playing games with a child aged between 5 and 10 years old. Each programme involved two 30-minute sessions a week with the same child, for six weeks.

2020 | Mental Health Workshop, Feeling Strong
During my first year at University, I volunteered at a mental health workshop for the charity ‘Feeling Strong’. We created mental health resources for children and guardians. Contributing ideas to the resource improved my creative skills and I gained more knowledge of mental health.

2022/23 | Research Assistant
I have assisted in three research projects being conducted by PHD students at the University of Dundee. The first of these called Art at the Start, involved observing children aged 3-5 completing art tasks with their caregivers (and sometimes siblings). A year later I assisted the same researcher in coding children’s drawings of people. Finally, I assisted another PHD student in her project on the self-reference effect in children. This involved me going into a primary school and completing games and tests with children

2018 | Support Worker, East Lothian Special Needs Playscheme
In 2018 I volunteered at the East Lothian Special Needs Playscheme where I provided one to one support to children with learning disabilities. I was given basic training in child protection and was required to receive my PVG before starting volunteering. I developed skills in working in a supportive role independently and under instruction.

My Qualifications

1st Class Honours MA Psychology
Level 1 British Sign Language
First Aid Trained (0 – 5)
Safeguarding/Child Protection
Food Hygiene

My Availability

I am looking for babysitting from the beginning of July onwards in Edinburgh, however I am available in May and June depending on the dates.

I am happy to babysit at any time of day.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/06/2024

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: Food Safety (added 13/04/2024)
  • Full CV (added 13/04/2024)
  • DBS Check (added 13/04/2024)
  • PVG Check (added 13/04/2024)
  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 13/04/2024)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.