Avatar for Little G
Little G

Childminder in Sheffield

5 stars
(1)

Female Member since Nov 2013 Last Updated Jun 2021 Last Login Sep 2021

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

I live with my fiance of over 17 years, my Daughter who is almost 6 and our youngest daughter who is 20 months. I have 2 very friendly cats Tiggy & Woody that are amazing with children, particularly Woody who thinks he's a childminder also, following the children everywhere and always begging for cuddles.
We have a very happy, relaxed household where children are encouraged to treat it as a second home, select toys and activites freely and show their individuality.
I have a large, secure garden with a vegetable plot, swings and slides, sand table and plans to make improvements in March 2017. I like to get out and about in the local area to playgroups, soft play and other free activities, including visits to the library, park, museum and duck pond. I'm a splashing in puddles, throwing sticks under the bridge kind of lady, good, messy fun!
I particularly enjoy craft activities, cutting, sticking, painting and the like. I left my job in education when I had my 1st daughter to be a full time mum. My eldest daughter is super chatty and extremely sociable and ever so slightly bossy, but she is dearly missing having playmates in the house since I went on maternity leave May 2016. My youngest daughter (20 months) is a very easy going, smiley girl with amazing speech for her age. She's a pleasure to be around and is not terribly demanding or needy so you can be assured that I will be able to really interact, include and bond with your child.
We are all looking forward to having some new playmates to join us on our explorations and adventures. My eldest daughter is at school full time at Angram Bank primary. I have to leave in the morning at 8:40 and collect her again at 3:20. I can do school pick up's and drop off's but only If the times work out with what i already have to do. Ideally I am hoping to take on one child on a full time basis but all options will be considered.

My Experience

As I mentioned, I have worked in
education for 9 years. I have HLTA status (higher level teaching assistant) and have worked as a cover (suppy) teacher for 5 years. I have taught children from reception to year 6, all subjects but mainly art, maths and reading.
I am a very creative, imaginative and inventive person. I find interesting, stimulating ways to engage children. I have always been able to form caring genuinely meaningful bonds with children and communicate effectively with their parents, creating positive professional relationships that ensure the needs of each and every child is met.
You can find my contact details on the Sheffield directory website under Little Gems daycare or my name Gemma Henser

My Qualifications

Level 3 PACEY Home-based childcare
Level 4 teaching assistant HLTA Status
Paediatric first aid
AVCE health & social care
Nurture Group teacher
9 GCSE's A-C

Several local authority certificates for;
Pathways to independent reading
Dyslexia awareness
Handwriting
Child & Adolescent mental health
Safeguarding
P4C (philosophy 4 children)

My Availability

I am available from January 2017 when i return from maternity leave Monday - Friday 7:30am - 7:30pm

I am also available at weekends upon request

I can do pick ups from;
Green Gate Lane Primary
Angram Bank
Lound Infant *****DEPENDENT ON HOURS OF PICK UP/DROP OFF*****
Windmill hill

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 08/02/2018

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

I charge £4.50 per hour Mon-Fri
This includes drinks, snacks, packed lunches should be provided for children who are staying for longer periods of time.

I charge £6 per hour Sat-Sun
This includes drinks, snacks, packed lunches should be provided for children who are staying for longer periods of time.

Day rate £45

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Little G. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My daughter has been spending 3 days a week with Gemma and I could not have asked for anything more. As a new mum I was so worried about going back to work and leaving my daughter with someone else. I had no reason to worry. Gemma made it easy to spend time gradually building up to leaving my daughter full time. In the 4 months Fiann has spent with Gemma, she has developed her learning and interaction massively. Fiann gets to have the all of the one to one learning you would want along with visits to play groups and days out at farms etc. Gemma's daughter is a very caring little girl who treats my daughter like a sister. I can not fault Gems Daycare and I am happy for anyone to contact me if they are looking for childcare and have any questions.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for ThomasRa ThomasRa about Avatar for Little G Little G on 14/04/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.