1 stars (2)

Nanny in Nettlestone

Babysitter in Nettlestone

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Feb 2014 Last Updated Jan 2020 Last Login 22 Mar 2020 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience

About Me

I am a very active person and I enjoy doing challenging activities and spending time outdoors. I have a two year old Border Collie puppy who I adore, and I very much enjoy taking him out.

I love to cook! I have been a vegetarian since January 2014 but I am still quite happy to cook with meat and fish! I also have experience in cooking for a vegan diet and also gluten and lactose free. I understand how fussy children can be at meal times, so I like to come up with creative and fun ways to get children interested in their food. I think it's particularly good for them to be a part of the preparation/cooking process, where possible, as it gets them more involved and excited to try it.

I spend a lot of time creatively writing, and have done so for as long as I can remember. I very much enjoy reading too, in particular thrillers and fantasy novels. I'm also an avid film watcher and keep up-to-date with new releases.

My new challenge to myself recently has been learning to play the guitar. I hoped that I would be able to self-teach, but as I still haven't been able to tune it I think I shall probably have to get some lessons!

It may sound quite odd, but I love to clean, and have worked as a domestic cleaner in the past. So I am more than willing to do any necessary housework or chores, including gardening!

I come from a large family and am one of five myself, so being in fast-paced environments or surrounded by children is very normal for me!

My Experience

In terms of professional experience I have over seven years. I started with regular babysitting, both during the day and evenings, and then went on to work in a children's nursery and as a nanny.

My most recent position as a nanny ended last month (September 2014) when I moved back to Brighton. I was caring for two boys, aged three and eighteen months. I absolutely loved my job and am still in close contact with the family. Having the extra pair of hands was vital to the daily running of the house, especially as both parents had work commitments. I take my own commitments very seriously and appreciate the need of a reliable and responsible person who will always show up.

In the nursery I covered all three rooms, including the pre-school, but I was primarily based in the baby room with ages three to eighteen months. I had my four 'key children', who's progress and development I had to track and also keep their file's up to date and create their profile books for their guardians to have at the end of each term. Our room would vary during the week, sometimes having as little as four children in, and on other days having as many as sixteen! This was certainly a challenging environment but I absolutely loved it and I learnt so much too.

After working at the nursery for seven months, I was offered a full-time, sole charge position as a nanny to a seven month old baby boy. This was when I discovered how much I loved to be a nanny! The nursery setting was brilliant, however, it cannot compete with being able to provide the infants/children in your care with their own routine which they are familiar with, and catering to their specific needs, and in the comfort of their own home. I much prefer the ability to have a strong one-one-one relationship as it also makes it far easier for the children to feel comfortable being away from their parents. This little boy in particular was very attached to his mother and had a lot of separation anxiety, but he quickly learned who I was and felt comfortable with me. He was certainly a loud baby and was best when in his pram being taken out, so we spent a lot of time outdoors, which wasn't so easy when the snow came in early January! But we certainly had a lot of fun.

After this role I found myself working in the hospitality industry for about two years. Then in January 2013 I got a position as a sole charge nanny to a five year old girl. The role included arriving at her home for 6.30am as her mother had to leave for work at this time, waking her at 7am and getting her ready for school, walking her to school, then I was finished until it was time to pick her up. She did many different after school clubs such as tennis and swimming so I would take her to these. Then we would arrive home and make dinner, do any homework or instrument practice, then it was bath and bed time. This was a very different role to my previous nanny position, but I thoroughly enjoyed it! And learnt more about taking care of older children.

Update: I have been working as a sole charge nanny in Surrey for a lovely family, a three year old boy and eighteen month old boy. The older boy is on the Autistic spectrum and so I have been learning how to care for special needs children.

My Qualifications

Fully OFTSTED registered

Child Development GCSE grade B

Full UK clean driving license held for over ten years

Pediatric First Aid Certified July 2011/November 2016

Basic Disclosure check completed January 2013 and I am on the update service

All certificates are readily available to be seen and excellent references provided.

My Availability

I am looking for a role with about 16 hours a week and am currently available for any days required, including weekends. I would like to find a role lasting at least six months. I am happy to do over night stays if you are parents who work oversees occasionally/late shifts.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no yes yes yes yes no no
Morning no yes yes yes yes yes no
Afternoon no no yes no no yes no
After School yes yes yes no no yes no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/01/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (net)

My basic fee is £10p/h

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Amy J Ro. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Same as previous reviewer, I had an interview with Amy and she didn't turn up. Only confirmed she wasn't coming when I called her 15 minutes after the interview was due to start. I stayed in especially to see her and I'm really annoyed. Don't bother arranging anything with her.

  • 1 stars Overall

by about Amy J Ro on 25/08/2015


Response by Amy J Ro on 11/09/2015:

I did explain to Rani that I had a family emergency late during the night which involved travelling back to Surrey from Brighton at 3am. I didn't return to my parents home (in Surrey) until 9am. I feel it's quite understandable under these circumstances that I simply forgot I had an appointment just an hour later. I apologised greatly for my mistake and am very sorry for the inconvenience caused. I do my absolute best to never let anyone down, and it certainly was not my intention.

I corresponded with this nanny and arranged an interview with her, however she did not turn up for the interview and did not contact us either beforehand or afterwards to explain

  • 1 stars Overall

by about Amy J Ro on 21/11/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.