Maggie72

Childminder in Auchterarder

Female Member since May 2014 Last Updated Nov 2021 Last Login Nov 2021 Email

My Summary

Scotland Care Inspectorate Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

Hi my name is Maggie and I've been running Maggie's Childminding for five and a half years now. I have recently moved to Auchterarder where I have adapted an outbuilding on my property to accommodate my Childminding business - this is now called Maggie's Playshed. Maggie's Playshed at Old Mill Farm is a unique environment adapted to incorporate learning using indoor and outdoor play facilities working with the concepts of heuristic play incorporating SHANARRI and GIRFEC.
Due to the unique and tranquil location of Old Mill Farm and being fortunate to have both the Piarney Burn and the Rurverthen River run through our land and a woodland this offers a unique envrionment for children to explore the fantastic opportunities that the great outdoors will provide without having to walk very far.

I am 46 years old but young at heart along with a good sense of humour. I am Registered with the Care Inspectorate along with being an active member of the Scottish Child minding Association.
I live in Auchterarder with my partner Alan with our two daughter's Daniella and Kasia along with our horse and four dogs.
I decided to make the transition into Childcare after I realised that I needed a change of career where I could maintain my skills and knowledge of care and make it a 'positive' within the local community.
I've always relished the thought of being self- employed and felt that this was a great way to start.
My daughters is my main inspiration as they are at their happiest when they are exploring, being active and creative wither it is through their love of music, craft or art or the great outdoors! I thoroughly loved the time I spent with my youngest daughter while she was developing through the different stages from birth to pre-school and now she is in P6. Being a mother means that life takes on a much slower and interesting pace where the simple things in life take on a huge depth of meaning for children.

My Experience

I have worked in Care of the Elderly for 24 years up to Managerial Level in a community based/Nursing Home setting. I also have an A1 Assessors Award in Health & Social Care which enabled me to train/teach managers and carers alike which I found exhilarating. My skills and knowledge within the Care Sector are transferrable and has enabled me to learn the 'Tree' of Childcare Legislation very quickly along with understanding how the National Care Standards work and how they have to be implemented within my business. I am also familiar with the Care Inspectorate and understand their role in overseeing quality assurance.
My life skills and experience with people of all ages with various degrees of mental health issues along with physical disabilities has gained me a valuable wealth of life and communication skills which through my own extensive research I'm transferring over to Early Years Learning.
I work with a positive & encouraging frame of mind which is essential within a Childcare Setting.
My Main Childcare experience is simply through being a Mother myself however after running my business now for over five years my knowledge base of Childcare has increased significantly. I work closely with the Scottish Childminding Association where I have carried out various training courses in Child Protection, First Aid and Food Hygiene, along many more which I will only be too happy to share upon a visit to my Playshed. I have had extensive First Aid Training through previous jobs which has been certificated along with Food Hygiene training.
I'am currently working towards my SVQ Level 3 in Children's Social Work and Young People through West Lothian Council which will aid my affiliation with Perth and Kinross Council to work in partnership with the funded hours.

My Qualifications

I have six 'O' Levels: English, Arithmetic, Modern Studies, Food & Nutrition, Secretarial Studies & Statistics. Scotvec Communication 3 English, Scotvec 1,2,3 & 4 Word Processing.

NC ~ Secretarial Studies
NVQ Level 2 ~ Business Studies
SVQ Level 2 ~ Health & Social Care
Level 3 ~ A1 Vocational Teaching Assessors Award
'FAST' ~ First Aid Certificate in the Workplace
'Edge Services' ~ People Handling & Risk Assessment Trainers Certificate
Pediatric First Aid Trained
I hold a currant Child Protection Certificate

Level 2 ~ Aberdeen College ~ Safe Handling of Medication
Level 2 ~ Aberdeen College ~ Nutrition Awareness

Private Funded Awards:

Gwent Healthcare Trust Award for attending a four day course on 'The Prevention and Management of Aggressive Behaviour.
John Mortlock Training Award for attending a two day course of Preventing and Responding to Aggressive Behaviour.
CCA Homes Ltd Award for Completing 'The Way Forward' Management Course.

I am currently updating my knowledge with several courses regarding Early Learning and Development which I will update my profile with once I have completed the training.I'am currently working towards my SVQ Level 3 in Children's Social Work and Young People through West Lothian Council which will aid my affiliation with Perth and Kinross Council to work in partnership with the funded hours.

My Availability

Full time and part time spaces are available and hours are negotiable to suit parents needs.
I have a fully ensured road worthy 7 seater 4x4 with car seats to suit all ages and offer school and nursery pick up and drop offs. Schools and nurseries negotiable.

I look forward to welcoming you and your children at Maggie's Childminding at Old Mill Farm

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 04/03/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.35 per hour

Early start - 0700-0800 £4.85ph
Daily rate - 0800-1500 £4.35ph
After School 1500-1800 £4.85ph (After school minimum of two hours)

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.