5 stars (2)

Nanny in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Babysitter in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Usually responds within 4 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2014 Last Updated Oct 2018 Last Login Jan 2019 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Mothers Help
Bedtime Nanny

About Me

I am a caring and responsible 21 year old currently taking a gap year to save up for a teacher training course. I completed a BA Hons in Ancient History at Newcastle University this July with a 2:1 and am very proud of it. I intend to take a teacher training course next to become fully qualified as a Primary School teacher (my ultimate goal and something I'm passionate about). I currently work part time for Newcastle City Council as a CCS Assistant in the library and have a casual contract at Seven Stories (National Centre for Children's Books), but am looking for a more stable second job as my hours at Seven Stories are not guaranteed.

I am passionate about working with children and helping children develop. This is what is fueling my desire to become a teacher and my hopes of working in a related field whilst my teacher training isn't possible. I very much enjoy helping people in general and have found that children have a wonderful way of showing their gratitude through love and respect - this, for me, makes any job working with children worthwhile.

My work in libraries (both with Newcastle City Council and Wakefield Metropolitan District council) has been highly enjoyable and has allowed me to work extensively in Customer Services and be involved with a range of children's activities. Thus has been supplemented with my work at Seven Stories where children are the centre of what we do. Both of these positions and my own personal interests and studies have also allowed me to engage with and develop a deeper understanding of a range of cultures and customs.

I love children of all ages and find it very easy to talk to and get along with them, I have experience with young children in the family as I have 2 nieces and 3 nephews under the aged 5 and under. Unfortunately, as I now live quite far away from the majority of my family, I don't get to see them as much as I would like to anymore.

I am looking for a stable position with a family that would work around my hours with the library (I work 18.5 hours a week with them, on a set 2 week rota so would be able to provide my availability with no problem).

Just send me a message if you think I can help.

*Just an additional note to say that I am a twin and my sister also has a childcare profile, so please be aware of which of us you are contacting as we have had instances of both of us accidentally speaking with the same families in the past. Thank you*

My Experience

I have 3 years of experience working in a primary school as a voluntary classroom assistant. Whilst gaining this experience I worked in Year 1, 3 and a Year 5/6 class at two different schools. As I stated above, my ultimate goal is to train as a primary school teacher which I intend to begin in September 2019. I am hoping to be able to specialise in the 3-7 age range but qualify in general primary education.

My most recent voluntary position was between November 2017- July 2018, in a Year 3 class at Chillingham Road Primary School. I really loved working with this class and was sorry not to be able to go back this year. This really gave me an idea of activities for similar ages and the experience working on a education level with these children. My current DBS check is through this institution, though I hold the certificate.

I also volunteered in Class 4 (year one) and Class 11 (year five/six) at Stanley St Peter's Church of England Primary school for two years before moving to Newcastle for university and so have plenty of work experience with children of varying ages.

I have held a number of childcare roles within the Newcastle area for the last three years whilst studying at university, working with children aged between 2-13 years and taking on a number of different tasks. This largely involved school drop offs and pick ups, organising age appropriate activities, late night babysitting, preparing meals and covering bath and bed times. I have been very luck to have worked with a number of lovely families in the area.

Prior to this I worked with children aged 3-12 as a babysitter, private tutor and part time nanny for two year in Wakefield whilst studying for my A-levels. I spent 11 months from October 2014 to September 2015 tutoring a 4 year old girl and a 5 year old boy through the Kumon education scheme. As a result I have experience writing work for a variety of ages and explaining the work to a number of different ages and levels as well as working within an education scheme to provide additional support for learning.

I also have some experience working with children with special needs. This is through my work with the two primary schools I have been involved with mainly, but also within Outwood Grange Academy. This ranged from reading and working one-to-one with children with learning difficulties to behavioral issues and illnesses such as cerebral palsy, epilepsy and autism.

My Qualifications

I have 17 GCSEs ranging form Bs to A*s - although none in childcare as my school did not offer it - and have 3 A-levels, giving me a high skill level in a broad range of subjects and an even deeper skill level in four specified subjects.

My GCSEs include:
English Literature A
Maths A
Biology A
Chemistry A
Physics B
English Language A*
History A*
Religious Studies A*
and a number of others.

I also completed my maths GCSE a year early and so to fill a year I completed the Free Standing Maths Qualification which is a precursor to of A-level maths and was very pleased to have passed it.

In my A levels I achieved:
English Language B
Philosophy and Ethics A
History B

I have just received a 2:1 BA Hons in Ancient History from Newcastle University.

I am currently studying BSL (British Sign Language) through an online course and would be delighted if this was something that I could do with the family I would be working with.

My Availability

My availability varies depending on my work patter. Essentially, I work on a 2 week rota with the library which averages at 18.5 hours a week but actually consist of me working 16 hours in week 1 and 21 hours in week 2.

In week 1, I work Wednesday and Thursday so would be available for childcare:
Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday.

In week 2, I work Thursday, Friday, Saturday so would be available for childcare:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Sunday.

Please get in touch if interested.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes no no no no yes
Morning yes yes no no no no yes
Afternoon yes yes no no no no yes
After School yes yes no no no no yes
Evening yes yes no no no no yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 21/10/2018

My Fees

  • Nannying from £8.00 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £7.38 per hour

To be negotiated with the parents.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for HannahJa. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Hannah has been our regular Tutor three times a week for our 4 and 5 year old. She has been wonderful and I would most certainly employ her over and over again. She is reliable, sensible, trustworthy and lots of fun for the children. She helped over the school holidays and had planned activities, cooked lunches and engaged the children effectively. Our loss is most certainly your gain! Good Luck Hannah.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about HannahJa on 26/09/2015


Response by HannahJa on 27/09/2015:

Thank you so much! I really miss Aadam and Aaliyah, send them my love and hopefully I'll see you when I come home.

A really great help, only helped a couple of times but my daughter - who is very shy - opened up to Hannah and had a great time! I felt as though she was safe with Hannah!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about HannahJa on 08/10/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.