4 stars (1)

Private Tutor in Bristol

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2014 Last Updated Jul 2019 Last Login 12 May 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Maths Tutor
English Tutor
General Science Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+

About Me

I am a caring and patient qualified teacher with over 5 years experience teaching Early Years and Primary age children. I have a breath of classroom experience, I have worked with a wide range of students including those with special educational needs.

Since 2018 I have been tutoring face to face, I always tailor the level of work covered to the individual student’s needs. To develop both their self confidence and attainment levels. I am really enjoying helping my students reach their potential.

I teach all subject areas of Early Years and Primary Curriculum including: Maths, English, Phonics, Reading, Writing, Handwriting and Science in line with the Early Years and Primary Curriculum in your home or online. I also offer SATS Preparation tuition for end of KS1 (Year 2) and the end of KS2 (Year 6). Focusing on exam technique, building confidence and covering any areas of the Maths and English curriculum required to enable to the child to complete SATS confidently. I can also offer Transition to Secondary tuition - tuition for children who lack confidence or have gaps in their learning from their time in Year 6, to enable them to reach their potential in Year 7.

NEW for September 2019 KS3 Maths tuition Years 7 - 9.

My Experience

I have over 5 years experience teaching both the Early years and Primary curriculums. I also have one to one tuition experience most recently with year 5 and Year 6 pupils with good results. I tailor the level of work covered to the individual student’s needs. To develop both their self confidence and attainment levels.

How would you describe your teaching style?
During the first lesson I assess your child`s needs through activities and discussion with yourself and your child. I tailor lessons to the child`s needs and to reflect their interests, I like to include games and practical activities whenever possible. I continually assess progress to determine next steps in their learning.

What is your personal message to students?
I look forward to working with you and your child. To help your child to become a confident and happy learner.

My Qualifications

I graduated with PGCE Primary Education with QTS (Qualified Teacher Status) from Bath Spa University.

BSc (Hons) Marine Biology

My Availability

I am available Monday - Friday during the day, also evenings till 8pm.

I am also available Saturday afternoons.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes no
After School yes no yes yes yes yes no
Evening no yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 27/07/2019

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

4 - 12 yrs.

Reading including phonics
All Early Years and Primary subjects
SATS Preparation
Transition to Secondary School (Year 7)

Individual face to face lessons £30p/h per child at tutee's home
Individual online lessons £25 p/h per child
Parent/Guardian/Carer must be present.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 16/06/2019)


Below are the latest reviews for PrimaryT. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I have been using Nicola to tutor my daughter for a while now. After using a previous home tutor I was reluctant to do it again as the previous tutor was very formal and didn't give the confidence that my daughter needed.
Nicola however is a breath of fresh air, from a little ten year old that hated maths she loves it now and looks forward to Nicola coming.
I would def recommend her. Very flexible, asked lots of questions prior to coming. Her lessons are very well structured, fun and most of all filling our daughter with confidence.

  • 4 stars Overall

by about PrimaryT on 07/11/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.