
Childminder in Horsham

5 stars
(3)

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2010 Last Updated Nov 2018 Last Login 03 Nov 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

CURRENTLY NO VACANCIES

I'm Vanessa and I'm an Early Years degree qualified Ofsted Registered childminder in North Horsham. I'm a Mum to two girls aged 13 and 11 and I have been married to Paul for 17 years. My husband is an Accountant with a local authority and I was previously an Executive PA for various large companies including a well-known bank and a global security firm. I became a childminder in 2007 after the birth of my second daughter.

My Experience

I am an active member of the local childminding community and member of PACEY (Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years). I have looked after children from 3 months to 11 years old on both a part time and full time basis over the last nine years. I was graded 'Outstanding' by Ofsted at my last inspection in April 2016.

I run a weekly drop in for local childminders so the children in my care can socialise with a wide range of children. The children in my care will experience a homely family environment and a wide range of facilities and experiences are available to them. I have experience of looking after children with disabilities and additional needs, particularly those with Down syndrome.

My husband is also registered as my assistant and has Paediatric First Aid training. He often comes on outings with us in the school holidays.

My Qualifications

I have the following qualifications/training experience:

BA (Hons) Early Years degree

Introduction to Childcare Practice

Paediatric First Aid

CACHE Level 3 Diploma in Homebased Childcare

NVQ 3 Children's Care, Learning and Development

Level 3 in Child Protection

Level 2 CIEH in Food Hygiene in Catering

Level 2 Certificate in Health and Safety

Manual Handlng

Inclusion in Childminding

Child Protection training

Level 4 qualification in Special Educational Needs (University of Gloucestershire)

Level 4 Certificate in Early Years Practice

Level 4 Certificate in Working Together for Children

I have successfully completed the BA (Hons) degree in Early Years (2:1 classification) and am in my first year of an MA in Childhood and Youth. I also teach Level 3 Early Years to practitioners at a local college as part of their adult education programme.

I was awarded the Parent Action Team (PAT) mark confirming the accessibility of my setting for children with impairments and disabilities for two years in a row.

My Availability

I currently have NO childminding vacancies

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 14/03/2018

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.25 per hour

Fee information available on request. Please contact me for details. Fees include the provision of meals, attendance at toddler groups and outings.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Pickles. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Our son has been in this setting since he was 1 year old (now 2 and 4 months) for 2 days per week. It was very important for me to find a home setting that would compliment the care, structure and learning that I enjoy with my son. Pickles and Pumpkins is just that. Equally important to me was that Vanessa is energetic and fun, and has a very loving family of her own, which makes the house a lovely place to be. Her 2 daughters contribute to my son's enjoyment of the setting as he adores playing with them, and loves the holidays when they often take very nice day trips. Vanessa keeps the children active in the mornings with groups and play dates and has a wide range of fun and developmental toys at home for the afternoons. She is very flexible with hours too (we don't work nearby). I think it's really impressive that Vanessa has the Pickles and Pumpkins website and blog, as well as regular newsletters. She is also doing a childcare degree in her own time, which means she is constantly improving the setting and her practice. I would highly recommend Pickles and Pumpkins to any parent!

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Katherin Katherin about Avatar for Pickles Pickles on 09/02/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.