image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in Birmingham

Babysitter in Birmingham

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2015 Last Updated Mar 2021 Last Login 13 Apr 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
Virtual Tutor
Home School Helper

About Me

I love working with children and believe that education should be enjoyable, with children striving to learn more. I have been a maths and English tutor for over 6 years with prior experience in schools, group settings and 1:1 settings. My focus has been on Key Stages 1-3 though I have also supported Key Stage 4 students. With a tailored approach to learning, I will work with you to maximise your child(ren)’s confidence, knowledge and understanding.

Prior to the first session
I would like to have a conversation with you through the childcare.co.uk chat to discuss:
The tuition service you are looking for (e.g. online or face-to-face; maths, English or a combination; homework and homeschooling help or tutoring with my own materials; length of sessions).
Long term and short term goals.
Any special considerations and SEND that I need to be aware of.
A bit about your child(ren) - how do they learn best? What works for them? Are there any areas of strength or challenge that you would like to prioritise?
Any feedback from school that you wish to discuss including their current levels.

Our first session (1 hour)
This will be a chance to get to know each other including learning/teaching styles. If you wish for me to help with homeschooling (with resources provided by school), we will get started on the work for that day. If you wish for me to tutor using my own materials, I will start with National Curriculum topics at the level your child is currently working at (according to school and your own observations).

Subsequent Sessions
Consistency and routine are important during these ever-changing times so I ask that we stick to the same day and time each week. If you need to change the set day/time or need to cancel/rearrange a particular session, please give me at least 24 hours notice where possible.

Feedback
You will receive feedback at the end of each session; you may choose to have this verbally or via email. I will also give more detailed feedback at the end of each month, detailing topics covered and areas of strength/areas to develop.

My Experience

My previous roles include:
- SEN community buddy (1:1)
- Brownies (Girl Guiding) assistant
- Special needs 6th form classroom assistant
- Sunday school teacher and creche assistant
- School classroom assistant (work experience)
- Go! Youth club worker
- Manager at tuition centre
- Math and English tutor

If you require further information on any of these roles, please feel free to send me a message.

My Qualifications

My training includes: safeguarding, common core skills (childcare), National Curriculum, SEND and behaviour management. I also have a current DBS.

I am currently studying part time to develop my skills further. My current courses include: speech therapy, teaching assistant, TEFL (TESOL).

My GCSEs include: Maths (Methods (A*), Applications (A)), English Language (A*) and English Literature (A)

My Availability

I am available in the mornings and early afternoons (up until 2pm). I can tutor online or can tutor face-to-face. If you would prefer face-to-face tuition, please know that I will follow current pandemic government guidelines and I will discuss measures that I will have in place.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 25/03/2021

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £14.00 per hour
  • Babysitting from £10.50 per hour

My fees may vary dependent on how far I have to travel and the service you require. Once an hourly rate has been established, I will not change it. As the first hour will be a chance for us to see if I am the tutor you are looking for, it will be priced from £11.

Please make payments via bank transfer so we both have a record of what has been paid. I ask that payments be made, at the latest, by the end of each session.

My Documents

  • Exam Certificate: GCSE Certificates (added 12/02/2021)
  • DBS Check (added 12/02/2021)
  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 12/02/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.