5 stars (2)

Childminder in Cambridge

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2015 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 30 Nov 2019 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Free Smear-Test Childcare

About Me

I am a childminder offering a warm and homely childminding service from my house just off Gilbert Road in Cambridge. I was rated as 'Good' by Ofsted in my inspection July 2017. I have 2 children of my own age 15 and 9. We have a spacious and light home with lots of toys, puzzles, games, role play, craft etc. We also have a large secure garden with climbing frame, slide, swing, sandpit, trampoline and lots of other outdoor toys. The garden has a large patio area that can be used in all weathers to allow daily outside play. Lots of visits to local groups, library, parks etc. I do all the necessary observations and regular assessments and keep parents updated on activities and progress. I incorporate learning, playing and different themes each week. I also try to include parents in planning for activities or continuing themes at home. E.g shapes week - parents cut sandwiches and fruit into different shapes. Weather week - made weather charts with children that they then took home.

My Experience

Experience of being a mum for 15 years and experience of volunteering at local school in class. Childminding since September 2015. I have experience of working with various aged children from babies to school age children.

My Qualifications

Courses I have completed:
Introduction to childminding, including child protection.
12 hour paediatric first aid.
Delivering the Early Years Foundation Stage.
Planning for next steps.
Five to thrive.
Shared assessment matters.
Every child a talker.
Prevent duty.

My Availability

Term time only 8am to 5pm. No fees to pay during school holidays. I only take time off during school holidays, not during term time. Happy to meet and discuss your requirements.

Places available from January 2020 please contact me to discuss.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 30/11/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.50 per hour

£5.50 per hour

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Sharon01. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My daughter has been with Sharon for one and a half years I chose Sharon as a child-minder because when we first met I felt like I was walking into a warm loving family home. Iris seemed content, relaxed and quite happy to chat away to Sharon; she always keeps me informed on Iris’s progress. Sharon is caring, fun and yet also firm, setting clear boundaries and expecting and developing polite and considerate behaviour from the beginning. Iris is always excited when I tell her she is going to Sharon’s and I often find it hard to get her to leave which I think says quite a lot about her time there.
Sharon does a wide range of fun activities including cooking, messy play, has a wide range of toys and puzzles and takes the children to local baby groups and parks; she puts together weekly themes whilst also attending to individual interests and preferences of the children she cares for.
She takes on board when we are working on something at home and tries to support me with that an example; when we were working on matching at home Sharon carried on with it by getting matching cards out when Iris was next in. Sharon has also helped me in getting iris potty trained and has helped my daughter develop her verbal, number skills and also taught Iris her shapes which she included in the lunch hour by asking parents to cut the children’s lunch into shapes.
I was very lucky to find Sharon not only is she a great child minder she is very close to my work and was very flexible with the hours I needed, I am very sad that Iris will be leaving her this year because I have had another baby so I will not be returning to my job for a while and I live 20 minutes away, I will definatly be sending my youngest daughter to her if or when I got back to work if she has space, she has been an absolute pleasure.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sharon01 on 27/07/2017

Sharon has been my childminder for my son kaeden for the past 2 years. During this time my son now aged 3 has enjoy many sessions with Sharon, upon arriving my son always makes himself at home as he heads straight for the toys and settles every time. I feel my son enjoys it there as he is always happy being left and doesn't want to leave when I come to pick him up which it is always reassuring, especially if you are first time mum. During the time my son spends there I know Sharon takes him out, they go to morning sessions at playgroups which has been really important in my sons socialisation and personal development skills. He would often come back with pictures that he had made or singing a song he had learned. If there were days that the play groups were not on, I know Sharon would then take my son out the park so everyday he was with her, he was out exploring the world. She even took him on a train on a day out of Cambridge which he loved! But with little ones, comes routines and I know with Sharon she kept to his usual nap time and would follow the changes in his routine as he grew. Sharon also was great at promoting healthy eating when my son with her which then changed the types of different fruits I gave him, resulting in him liking fruit he wouldn't eat before. Also she has done things like cutting their lunch into shapes so when she is sat with him at lunchtime he was learning the different types of shapes, like triangles and squares. Which all helped in his development of the knowledge of things around him, so much so he can already count to 13 and knows all his colours. Overall the last two years with Sharon my son has had an amazing experience, he was welcomed into a calm loving family home which he has grew to know and love. We shall miss her!! And the boys!!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sharon01 on 21/07/2017

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.