Buttons

Nanny in Bromsgrove

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Member since Nov 2015 Last Updated Aug 2019 Last Login Jan 2022

My Summary

DBS Check
Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience

About Me

I am married and live with my husband in Bromsgrove. We have two cats and enjoy visiting National Trust properties, walking in the countryside and visiting wildlife reserves.

I am a creative individual with a particular passion for drawing, reading and writing. I also enjoy music, singing and playing the ukulele in my spare time. Basically if something requires creativity, I'm hooked! I've tried most crafts out at some point in my life and have stuck with any I've enjoyed.

One of my favourite things to do with children is reading! I read on a regular basis to the classes I work with and often get carried away with the character's voices and expressions. I like to think I bring the stories to life and therefore encourage children to enjoy books as much as I do.

Having worked in a school environment for many years, I have found great satisfaction in helping children understand what and why they are learning things. I value learning and teaching and would hope to be of educational assistance to any children I work with.

As an animal lover and pet owner myself, I am happy to work in an environment which includes animals and will walk them if necessary too.

Cooking and baking is something I really enjoy so I would happily cook lunches/dinners for the family I worked with.

I consider myself to be a caring, friendly, easygoing, happy and bubbly individual. I like to think children can have fun in my company and hopefully learn a few things too. Working with children has brought such joy and accomplishment to my life. I can't imagine working in any other industry.

After many years working in schools, I am looking to change the direction of my career. Seeing my sister make the move from teaching assistant to nanny has been a real eye opener. She absolutely loves her job and I want that same job satisfaction for myself.

My Experience

I have been working with children varying from the age of 0-11 years old for over 18 years. I started out working at a breakfast and after school club when I left school. During my work experience as a teaching assistant at a primary school, I was offered a full time job and worked there for several years until I decided to gain more experience by taking on supply work. This built on my previous experience as a nursery nurse but also gave me the opportunity to broaden my horizons in schools, children's centres, and special needs schools.

My first job was as a special needs teaching assistant based in a mainstream school. During this time, I worked with three children who were in wheelchairs, providing their physiotherapy plans and took care of their individual toileting needs, as well as working with them and their classmates in the classroom. At times I was required to fill in for other members of staff who worked with children with various special needs, including autism and Down's syndrome. I also carried out classroom based tasks to help out the teachers I worked with.

For the last 10 years I have worked in a lovely little Primary school in Worcestershire. I start my day in the school's breakfast club, which I co-run with another staff member. I then become a class based teaching assistant in the mornings, assisting the teacher with English and maths support. This often involves taking groups of children and leading them through their work or explaining things they find difficult and helping them understand.

In the afternoons I have two roles at the same school. The first is as "reading champion", providing reading interventions for children who need a little extra help with building on their reading skills. The second is as a classroom support for children with Autism or similar diagnoses. I am also a key worker for some children who need emotional support.

During my supply work days I worked in several nurseries around the local counties, carrying out the relevant tasks needed such as nappy changing, toileting, play and preparing healthy snacks/meals.

As the eldest of four children, I helped my parents with the day to day care of my younger brothers, who are 10 and 12 years younger than myself. I have lots of friends with babies/young children who I look after on a regular basis and really enjoy doing so.

I am NVQ level 3 qualified in EYCE. I have been DBS checked, however this is only valid in my role as school based staff. Therefore I will need to apply for a new one if DBS check if I change jobs. I will also need to be OFSTED registered, but from talking with other nannies, this is something that can be obtained whilst working and is fairly straight forward.

My Qualifications

NVQ 2 & 3 EYCE
GCSE's - 6 Bs and 4 Cs
Paediatric First Aid
Food Hygiene certificate
Positive Handling

My Availability

As I am currently working contracted hours, I am not available immediately and would need to give at least a month's notice to my employer.

I would be looking to work between 20 and 30 hours a week, preferably full days. Ideally I would like to work the same days each week, however I understand that on the odd occasion it may be necessary to be flexible and this can be discussed.

I am happy to work full days on Monday to Friday. Exact hours and days are negotiable.

* Please note I am not looking for a job that requires only before and after school care. I also do not wish to work weekends as this is time I dedicate to spending time with my husband and our personal commitments. *

I enjoy my current job and have a great relationship with those I work with. Therefore I could only leave if I found a family whose needs were in line with what I can offer.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 28/08/2019

My Fees

  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (gross)

At least £12 per hour dependent on amount of children, household duties and/or any special requirements (eg medical/behavorial needs), unusual hours.

I would also ask that any expenses incurred during work hours (eg day out admissions) be added, though this would be discussed beforehand and agreed.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.