Private Tutor in Sheffield

Babysitter in Sheffield

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2016 Last Updated Jan 2019 Last Login 15 Aug 2019 Email

My Summary

Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
DBS Check
English Tutor
French Tutor
IT/Computers Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
Special Needs Tutor
Languages Tutor
11 Plus
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter

About Me

From a very early age I realised that I loved to be around young children. I come from a very large family and therefore had many opportunities to babysit during my teens, and this reinforced the desire and skills needed to take care of children. By the time I left school, I had a natural affinity for working with children and committed to a lifelong career doing this, trying out various settings, roles and backgrounds (see experience below). I have always been an outgoing, lively, positive person who is young at heart and genuinely enjoys getting fully involved with all activities the children are engaged in. I have a very good understanding of child development and learning, and use a holistic approach to developing the child (spiritually, morally, socially, culturally, physically and mentally). I ensure the children in my care have positive experiences of life and learning, and I use praise and rewards to manage behaviour. I love what I do and feel very lucky to have had a career working alongside so many wonderful children with diverse needs and backgrounds. I look forward to continuing this and endeavour to enrich the lives of many more children I care for in the future, as they have enriched mine and continue to do so.

My Experience

I have over 24 years experience of working with children both in schools and the home. I have worked as a live-in nanny both in the UK and abroad, and have also cared for children after school in their own home and at after school clubs. I am a fully qualified Primary Teacher with 7 years teaching experience; I have also worked as a support assistant in schools for approximately 15 years. I have extensive experience of supporting children with special needs and speakers of English as an additional language. I am very confident with children on the Autistic Spectrum and those who do not settle easily. I have supported deaf and blind children in a school for the hearing & visually impaired and was beginning to learn BSL. I have completed the mandatory training course for childminders. I speak French and have taught this to a Year 6 class, I have also taught Spanish to a Year 5 class.

My Qualifications

BA (Hons) Primary Education with Qualified Teacher Status and English Specialism

Access to Social Sciences and Humanities – Sociology, Psychology, English Literature and Study Skills

Future Carers Social Care Academy (placement at Greenacre School) – First Aid; Health & Safety; Infection Control; Tissue Viability; Nutrition; Safeguarding Vulnerable People, Data Protection Act & Confidentiality.

Registered Childminder Training Course.

St. John Ambulance First Aid Qualification (Including Babies and Children); Paediatric First Aid; Basic Food Hygiene Certificate


Training that did not lead to a qualification:

PECS, Thrive; Jump Ahead; Read, Write, Inc.; Time to Talk; Catch Up; Autism; Safeguarding Children; Benchmarking; Social Stories; Socially Speaking; Smartboard; BVP Assessment; Adventures in Learning.

Safeguarding Children and Child Protection, Roles and Responsibilities

British Sign Language; Team Teach

Person-Centred Planning Awareness

Assessment for Learning; Developing Speaking and Listening Skills; Accelerated Learning Approaches; Teaching Investigation and Problem Solving in Maths; Planning & Progression, Monitoring and Recording of Learning in ICT; Assessment of Narrative Writing.

Emergency Aid for Appointed Persons; Managing Young People Effectively; Strategies to Combat Bullying; Child Protection Policies & Procedures; ICT in Music; Digital Imaging; Creative Web Design; Using a Camcorder & Video Editing; Maths in Schools; Design Technology in Schools.

Women’s Studies

My Availability

I am available immediately for a part time position. I prefer to work Monday to Friday but may also be available occasional weekends.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes no no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes no no no
Last Updated: 18/01/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £9.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £15.00 per hour

My fees for childcare (at the child's own home) start at £9 per hour (1 child), but increases for any additional children (negotiable).

My fees for tutoring start at £15 per hour for 1 child/person, this increases for any additional students (negotiable).

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Full CV (added 17/07/2016)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.