Nanny in Cambridge

Babysitter in Cambridge

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2011 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 20 Jan 2020

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live In Nanny
Night Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Prepared to Relocate
Governess
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Potty Trainer
Bedtime Nanny
Festival Nanny

About Me

My name is Sarah Sparkes and I am looking for new and exciting position as a full time nanny, to support a family with the best interests of their children at heart. I currently live in Cambridge and since finishing college, I have always worked in the early years sector. I have predominantly worked in day nurseries and worked alongside colleagues to support children aged between three months to five years to grow and develop. Last year, at the peak of my nursery career, I decided to take up a nannying position with a close family that I have known for the previous seven years. I loved working with the family and feeling a depth of purpose to my work and the effect it had towards the family. It is something that I am eager to get back into and support another family with their loved ones. Now, I am looking forward to meeting another family and supporting them with their responsibilities and meeting the needs of their children and other aspects of the family’s lifestyle.

My Experience

Nursery nurse • September 2019 – present • Long road bright horizons

Since my nannying position, I have gone back to work full time at Long road bright horizons as a temporary position. Having benefitted from maintaining good relationships with colleagues and my management team, I have been able to attain a temporary position for myself whilst I have pursued other avenues for my career.

Nanny • March 2019 – August 2019 •9 Sleaford street Cambridge

I have recently finished my position as a full time nanny to a family of four children at the end of August. I have known the family for five years, since I looked after their eldest daughter at a local day nursery and we have kept in touch - and they later asked me to be their nanny to their two twin boys. We have maintained such a strong relationship, and it is great to feel so proud of the work that I have done for them and their family. When I started my position, the boys were 13 months old. I helped and supported them from 8am - 5pm. I ensured that they were stimulated and safe during the time that they were with me. I comforted them each morning as mum and dad left for work. I would usually take them for a walk around Cambridge, to explore their environment. The more able the children became, we would visit parks to stimulate their gross motor skills development. Some days, we would visit the local Cambridge museums and universities, their favourite was the dinosaur museum. Once home, I would also make them some lunch which was nutritionally balanced. I would then promote a messy activity to do with the both of them. Soon, we would all leave to pick up the older two children from school. I would often take all four children to the park, and then we would come back home and have tea - enough food for them to be able to wait for dinner. I would often help the older two with homework, and I would also support the younger two with their play. During the day, I would also change the children and make sure that they were safe and well looked after. I would also keep really good parent partnerships with the parents, to ensure I knew I was working directly with them and I was supporting them with raising their children. Sadly, they made a permanent move to Germany, which I did support them with and I did travel with them for a short period, but I decided to come back to the UK and pursue my career here.

Preschool room leader • October 2018 – March 2019 • Long road bright horizons

I was very lucky to be promoted to this position at the nursery in which I worked in. I was very aware of the magnitude of my position, as I knew that this preschool was one of the biggest in Europe. I had many colleagues and we had many children to look after collectively. Including myself, there were 10 colleagues working in the preschool room. We had 71 children on roll, and we would have an average of 45 children in everyday. I actively tried to engage my colleagues, who were new to the EYFS, to the learning goals and outcomes and I supported them to know how to observe, plan and assess for all their key children. I did see such a positive outcome from the support I gave, which was great to see. I did also support each member of my staff team, with they children or other work matters. One colleague really needed help to support a child who was showing signs of a potential need - as she needed support to help the child. I also supported and gave direction on how to ensure that we promoted a safe and stimulating environment for the children to play. I did also help to encourage that our environment does need to support our British Values and our English As an Additional Language children. I did also help some staff with safeguarding issues that they found with some children. Whilst also planning, observing and assessing my own key children. I did have nine in total and I always ensured strong and positive relationships between myself and my key children's parents - knowing the importance of parent partnership. I worked hard to promote and to engage my children on all the areas within the EYFS. I did also help to support them in becoming school ready and becoming independent.

Deputy room leader •March 2018 – October 2018 • Long road Bright horizons

In this position, I worked alongside my room leader within the 2-3 year old's. We predominantly had children in this room that would be going onto preschool. This was my first position at Bright Horizons, so I took my time to adapt myself towards their way of learning journeys and planning and assessments, especially once I was given a key group. In our 2-3 year old's room, we had on average 28 children a day and we had seven colleagues that were based in our room. I did my best to help and support my room leader with supporting staff and the children. I did help to support new staff to learn and to adapt towards the EYFS and how to demonstrate their knowledge through learning journeys. I also helped to maintain the routine for the ch

My Qualifications

BA (Hons) SOCIAL POLICY • September 2012 – July 2015 • Anglia Ruskin University • Achieved 2.1

• Undergraduate major project; Critique of the neoliberalist approach to the Millennium Development Goals

This social policy degree has helped and encouraged me to consider the reasons behind, and responses to, a wide range of social issues – such as social exclusion, health and social care, poverty, family policies, crime and community safety, citizenship, antisocial behaviour, racism and homelessness. I have also learned how social policy is formulated and implemented, and get to grips with the theory behind social policy-making in a stimulating and challenging environment.

BTEC LEVEL 3 in Childcare, Learning and Development • September 2010 – July 2012 • Cambridge Regional College • Achieved Triple MERIT grade

Throughout this college course, I developed skills, knowledge, and understanding within the childcare sector. I was also given the opportunity to apply and expand my knowledge in the practical and realistic way. I am fully trained and aware of the Early years foundation stage and I am also aware of the early years framework. I carried out practical placements within primary schools and other day nurseries: to broaden my experience. I learnt about different theorists and how children learn, regarding schemas and the characteristics of effective learning. I was also told about the importance of safeguarding and ensuring that I maintain a safe and stimulating environment for the children within my care.

• Paediatric first aid trained (June 2019)

• Child protection training (June 2019)

My Availability

I would be available on a full time basis from January 2020. I am flexible regarding my start and end times and whether I need to work weekends or not.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 23/11/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (gross)

To be negotiated between myself and the family

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.