Michelle

Nanny in Bromsgrove

Babysitter in Bromsgrove

5 stars
(2)

Female Member since Jul 2017 Last Updated Dec 2021 Last Login Jan 2022

My Summary

Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Mothers Help

About Me

NANNY/BABYSITTER/SPECIAL NEEDS AND EPILEPSY EXPERIENCE

Hi everyone :) I'm Michelle, I'm 30 and I am a nanny/babysitter based in Bromsgrove. I have 9 years experience with children from 9 months onward. I also have special needs experience, including autism and epilepsy.

I have my own car with business insurance and am able assist in the school pick up and drop off and take children on outings.

I am flexible, punctual and enthusiastic. I love working with children, I have a great imagination and can develop positive relationships with all ages.

My Experience

I have 10 years experience working with children and young people in different settings.

Private Part Time Nanny
(Oct 2019 - present, Mondays and Fridays)
Working in the family home with 2yo twins (9mths at start of nannying) and their 4yo brother. Also some home help.

Private Part Time Nanny
(0ct 2020 - present, Tuesdays and Wednesdays)
Working in the family home with 1yo and 3yo - when not at preschool. Also some home help.

Private Part Time Nanny
(Oct 2019 - finished August 2020, as youngest started preschool)
Working in the family home with a 6yo, 4yo and 2yo. Responsible for school pick up and drop off, lunch and dinner and trips out. Also some home help during naps and/or quiet time, such as laundry, hoovering, cleaning and organising/tidying.

Private Support Worker
Part time (Aug 2012-Jan 2018) Full Time (Jan 2018-July 2019, finished due to house move)
I worked in the home of a young man with epilepsy and special needs for 7 years. Responsible for showering and personal care, overseeing nutrition and diet, establishing daily exercise and following physiotherapy programmes, administering medication, monitoring and managing seizures, managing challenging behaviour, organising days out and interaction with peers, promoting healthy living and ensuring a good quality of life in all areas.

Us in a Bus
May 2018-July 2019, finished to due house move)
Employed as a sessional worker to assist with running sessions for people with profound learning difficulties, using intensive interaction and my initiative to provide opportunities for people to communicate, socialise and express themselves.

Private Part Time Nanny
(Oct 2017-Jan 2018, finished due to change in family circumstances)
Worked in the family home with a 1yo and 3yo and providing some home help.

Hawkes Farm Academy, Individual Needs Assistant
(Sept 2016-Jan 2019, finished due to increase in work load for Open University)
Supporting a year 4 student with attachment disorder and challenging behaviour, I helped her access the curriculum, interact safely with her peers and manage challending behaviour and worked closely with the SEN team.

Private Part Time Support Worker
(Feb 2016-Sept 2016, finished as family found full time care)
Working in the home with a young woman with Autism and special needs, assisting her in day to day life, managing anxiety, supporting during meal times, personal care, organising trips out and working with her parents to provide a good quality of life.

St Piers School, Young Epilepsy, Senior Support Worker
(Sept 2011-Feb 2016, finished due to change in circumstance)
St Piers is a special needs school, the students ranged from pre-verbal, multiple and profound to mild learning difficulties, as well as other neurological conditions such as epilepsy, Autism, ADHD, attachment disorder and Fragile X Syndrome. Responsible for personal care, managing seizures and administering emergency medication as necessary, managing challenging behaviour, assisting in their learning, writing up lesson plenaries, collaborating with the teacher on lesson plans, working as a team and working with other professionals such as Speech and Language Therapists, OTs, PTs, psychologists and play therapists.

In these varied roles I have learnt:

To work closely and develop strong relationships with parents of children I work with.

To work in a child centered way, understanding the child as an individual and to recognize their needs and challenges on a day to day basis.

To build positive and trusting relationships with the children.

To have lots and lots of patience!

To promote learning in every situation, socially, emotionally and educationally.

To be calm, adaptable and to use my initiative in challenging situations.

To encourage their independence.

To build a child's confidence, self-esteem and curiosity.

To be a positive role model.

To deal with any medical situations, from managing seizures and administering medication, to applying plasters and cold compresses.

To use intensive interaction, to allow a child to control a situation and follow their lead. This was initially designed to help pre-verbal children to interact and communicate, but works beautifully with babies and can be adapted to suit different abilities.

My Qualifications

Currently working on a BSC Honors in Psychology and Counselling with The Open University

Level 3 Certificate in Supporting Teaching and Learning in Primary Schools

Intensive Interaction

Previous training:

Safeguarding
Food and Hygiene
Fire Safety
Moving and Handling
Safe Support
Appointed Person's First Aid
Epilepsy First Aid
Success for All
Information Governance

My Availability

Available for September start. Can be flexible with hours/shifts.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/12/2021

My Fees

  • Nannying from £12.50 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £13.00 per hour

I am self-employed, so my fee covers holidays and sick days.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Michelle. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Michelle has been a fantastic nanny for our three children (6, 5 & 2). She has fitted in as part of the family, she is incredibly honest, reliable and is always on time. She has also been extremely flexible and sensible throughout the pandemic this year, which has given our children a great sense of stability and routine.

She is absolutely adored by our three children, and interacts with them with care, interest and kindness. She has helped us with the school run and settling our two older children into a school routine, and has helped our little one learn sign language to enable him to communicate despite his delayed speech. She is happy to make dinner for the children and will always select healthy food for them. She also helps with jobs round the house, such as washing and cleaning, which is incredibly valuable to us when we are out of the house all day.

The only reason Michelle will be finishing her employment with us, is because all three children will be going to school in September. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending Michelle to anyone, and would be more than happy to provide a full reference by phone or email to a prospective family.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for stiggle2 stiggle2 about Avatar for Michelle Michelle on 19/08/2020

Michelle has always been a a very punctual and reliable nanny. Michelle looked after our twins with a lot or care and attention. A times, it can be a difficult job, as they are very different with one much bigger than the other. Michelle adapted to this very well and gave Mum much needed support. The twins were always happy and well looked after in her care.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Arthur Arthur about Avatar for Michelle Michelle on 03/08/2020

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.