5 stars (2)

Childminder in St Leonards On Sea

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since May 2011 Last Updated Jun 2019 Last Login 15 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

We currently have Full / part time space for children aged 0-4 years available for immediate start if needed,spaces also available from August / September due to children moving on to start school...
I have chosen to not upload any of my documents to this site , but all required documentation, including dbs and ofsted registration certificate can be seen when you visit

I work with an assistant one of my youngest twin sons Shaun who holds a relevant level 2 childcare qualification and is now working towards a level 3 childcare apprenticeship with me.
At our recent Ofsted inspection we were graded as "Good", the report can be seen on their website, or i can provide interested parents with access to a copy.
we are registered to provided funded places for 2, 3 and 4 year olds,
i also accept tax free childcare payments plus any other childcare vouchers, please ask for more details.
We have a good sized well stocked dedicated playroom with direct access to the garden plus use of the rest of the ground floor for the children to make full use of.

PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR INFORMATION REGARDING VACANCIES AND FEES.
I have over 40 years experience as a parent, grandparent and childminder, i live near silverhill in st leonards with my youngest 2 children, aged 21, I provide a professional childminding service to suit the needs of both parents and children. I will work closely with parents to enable children to reach their full potential.
I have an extensive range of quality toys to suit children from 0 - 5 years, a comfortable family home and a small, safe enclosed garden, which has been developed specifically to suit the children in my care.

My Experience

I previously worked as a registered childminder for 20 years,while my older children were at school,I then had a change in 2000 where i worked as a childminding coordinator for 11 years with East Sussex county council and The National childminding association[Now known as Pacey].,
After being made redundant I chose to return to the job i always loved in August 2011, Childminding, working directly with children and families.I love to see a child develop from a baby to a confident 4 year old ready for school and to know that i have helped them along that path.
I can provide childcare tailor made to suit the needs of your child, i have a good working knowledge of child development and the Early Years Foundation Stage.and truly believe that children learn through having fun and playing, I will get to know your child's preferences and interests and use these to develop their all round skills for life, hopefully instilling a love of fun and learning from an early age
I am a parent of 6 children aged between 21 and 43 years old, so not actually children anymore i am also the proud Granny to 4 beautiful granddaughters aged 24,15, 11,and 7 years and my grandson who is 5.

My Qualifications

i hold a current peadeatric first aid qualification
NVQ4 in children's care learning and development
A level 3 Cache Certificate in professional development working with children and young people aged 0 - 16 years,.
I have also attended many other short courses / workshops to keep my practice current and as well advised as possible.
.Recent courses include, Health and safety, Food safety, "every child a talker", Child protection and Observation, planning and assessment, child development from birth to 3 years..
i attend as many of the courses that are offered to keep my practice as current as possible.
I am registered with The Information Commissioners office [ICO] as a data handler,



I am aware of The special educational needs and disabilities code of practice September 2014, [SEND] and have completed my contribution the the local offer.
Also food standards agency guidance on notifications regarding allergens in food provided, regulations December 2014.
My assistant holds a level 2 childcare qualification and has recently signed up for his level 3 apprenticeship with me,he hold a current relevant First aid qualification and is safeguarding trained, he has also attended relevant short courses and workshops and conferences to enhance his knowledge and understanding of child development

My Availability

I provide care for pre-school children from babies to 4 year olds, I don't offer school pick up / drop of as i prefer to focus my day on the needs of the younger children in my care without disrupting their day with school runs.

My core hours are 8am to 5pm, I can also cover shift patterns and regular day time hours including early starts by negotiation.

I will not be available for two weeks over Christmas and new year, I will also take 2 weeks off in August which I will discuss with parents and try to coordinate if possible.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 11/06/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

available on request.
Variable dependant on service required.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for michellec54. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Tom has been with Michelle three full days a week since he was one year old. He's about to turn four and will remain with her until he goes to school on a year. He has thrived and his development has been wonderful under Michelle's experienced and kind wing. As working parents, Michelle has been an invaluable part of our lives, providing steady care, flexibility when needed and she's never had a day of illness and this reliability has been a great rock at the centre of our busy lives. Tom has always been very happy with her and her son Shaun who provides a lovely male carer for the children. They learn to explore have fun, to be polite and play and share, exploring bugs in the garden. I've never had a moment of worry when Tom's been with Michelle. I liked that she doesn't go out or do school runs, so that the domestic environment is the central experiencr: safe, happy , secure. Tom has thrived and is confident, sociable and inquisitive as a result. I highly recommend a visit and look forward to new children joining Tom this autumn!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about michellec54 on 27/07/2018

Michelle is a wonderful childminder, my 2 children have been with her for 2 months now and their mental and physical development is coming along in leaps and bounds.
Her home and family are very welcoming and my children benefit greatly from the interactions with them, helping them to develop their their social and communication skills. My 18 month old son says a new word every few days, and has started to string sentences together.
Michelle plans out their day in advance based on what they like and their ability. She also encourages them to try new activities. She has a fantastic selection of toys and games for my children to use, many of which they don't have at home, so they benefit immensley from a vast selection of different toys and activities.
My 18 month old wasn't walkin until he was 15 months old but thanks to the work that Michelle has done he is running, climbing, jumping and dancing around everywhere.
Michelle also thinks of activities for my children to do that neither my partner or I think of, so the children face new challenges on a daily basis, and they relish the opportunity to sink their teeth into something new and different.
I'm so glad that we chose to place our children with Michelle, they are growing and developing into well rounded individuals with a taste for adventure and a little mischief. New challenges no longer worry them and they are becoming very confident in everything that they do.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about michellec54 on 11/11/2011

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.