Nanny in Norwich

Female Non-smoker Member since Dec 2017 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 10 Dec 2019 Email

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
Mothers Help
Bedtime Nanny

About Me

I am looking for part time work as a housekeeper/nanny. My current job finishes in March.
I am really looking for a permanent, flexible role where I can offer a high standard of all or a mixture of cleaning, laundry, ironing, vegetarian or vegan cooking, shopping, dog walking, childcare and tutoring, gardening, cleaning and managing change overs of holiday lets, helping with painting and decorating, I take real pride in working hard and multi-tasking. I have a strong sense of visual presentation as an artist and enjoy putting in the extra effort to make things look nice. I am very energetic and love long distance walking. I love engaging with and looking after children, my background in teaching art means I am able to create lots of creative fun projects and activities and also provide some tutoring if required to. I could equally be an extra pair of hands to an artist requiring an assistant or someone running their own business. I am able to be completely flexible with hours and can do changing hours and days each week but I am looking for at least 20 hours a week.

My Experience

I am currently working in a historical home in Suffolk set in a walled garden as a temporary,daily, part time nanny/housekeeper. The family are a Barrister and Filmmaker with two daughters nine and eleven years. The house has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. An Informal family style home with vintage contents, wooden floors throughout with rugs and tiles. A typical day might include getting the girls up for school, sorting out packed lunches and breakfast, emptying and loading a dishwasher, cleaning the fridge and pantry, laundry and ironing- clothes sheets and towels, some hand washing. Dog walking. Grocery shopping and running errands, cooking healthy vegetarian and gluten free evening meals (lunches during the school holidays). Helping organise homework and managing the after- school diary. Painting and decorating, sewing and mending, upholstery – making new curtains and cushions. Art activities with the girls in the school holidays. Evening babysitting when there is a late finish.
Throughout 2018 I have been a Nanny/Housekeeper for a family in Plymouth, Devon. I looked after two little boys aged two and five while their parents - both Hospital Consultants in Torquay were at work. I maintained and kept the house immaculate each week, keeping it organised and beautiful which was greatly appreciated by two busy parents. I took the boys to Nursery and School and also educated and looked after them at home each week. Lots of emphasis on creative activities, making, constructing and play, imaginary games and activities and interesting days out exploring the coast of Devon and Cornwall or museums and the aquarium. Due to changing shifts I frequently worked into the evening - feeding, bathing and putting the boys to bed with occasional overnight stays too. I cooked healthy meals for the boys and gradually coaxed two fussy eaters into a good pattern of eating well each day. I did this patiently, always making meals look attractive and appealing to the boys and sitting down to talk to them at meal times. In addition to my Nanny post from October - December 2018 I took on a house sitting post in Plymouth for a couple living temporarily in France. I looked after the house and garden, keeping it immaculate and taking care of deliveries, also looking after two lovely cats.
In 2017 I worked as a live in Housekeeper for two Artists and their four teenage children. My role there was caring for their isolated, large nine bedroom house and estate located on the moors in East Dartmoor, Devon. I was responsible for all aspects of housekeeping including filling the rooms with beautiful flowers from the garden. I kept the house immaculate looking after antique furniture and a huge collection of books, paintings and artworks, preparing bedrooms for frequent visitors. Ironing and laundry was a large part of the job - taking care of delicate fabrics in my employer’s wardrobe and clothes and fabrics collected from all over the world, packing and unpacking suitcases from trips away or abroad and helping pack clothes for the children who were weekly boarders at boarding school, ironing clothes to a high standard and maintaining wardrobes for all the family and arranging dry cleaning. My sewing and mending skills are excellent. I was responsible for stocking the pantry and household goods, ensuring the refrigerator was clean, helping prepare meals such as Sunday lunch when all the children were at home, picking fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden, running errands, shopping for organic fruit and vegetables and household supplies. I have my own car and a full, clean driving license. The large kitchen and conservatory as a focal point in the house was always warm and welcoming, I lit fires, tended plants, kept all the surfaces and sinks spotless and the cupboards and drawers tidy. Frequent guests and dinner parties demanded that tables and rooms were beautifully presented to a very high standard. Both principals were artists with their own studios which I kept clean and welcoming. Due to the family frequently travelling and being away, I was responsible for house and dog sitting, keeping the property secure and dealing with deliveries and tradesmen and contractors. I walked their two lovely dogs on the moor twice a day and looked after them with great care and affection when their owners were absent. I also looked after the chickens, feeding them and collecting eggs daily. I worked well as part of a small team with other staff, good communication skills were essential and I kept in close contact with the Principals when they were away to keep them up to date about the property and the dogs. I developed a clear understanding and intuition throughout my time with the family of how to prioritise tasks to ensure the household functioned efficiently and smoothly and was always warm and welcoming. This was always appreciated and praised.
Prior to Housekeeping I have been a Teacher of Art & Design and a freelance Artist for over twenty five years. I have a strong visual awareness for making things look beautiful and in addition consider myself to be efficient and energetic, kind, calm, caring, responsible, hands on, confident, well spoken, reliable, trustworthy, practical and able to work independently or as part of a team. I am educated to Degree and Post Grad level, well-travelled and have been engaged, adaptable and forward looking throughout my career and never static. I have happily balanced raising my two children (both now in China and London) and having a successful career and business. I come from a large and loving family always surrounded by children and babies. I subscribe to the online DBS service so that my DBS can be quickly checked by potential employers.
I am a very confident cook and in particular love baking. I come from a big family of great cooks and am used to cooking for lots of people. I love trying new recipes and ideas and I enjoy making the effort to present food well and make it look attractive. I always see the kitchen as the heart of the house and meal times as really valuable social occasions for children, learning to eat well and enjoy really healthy, great tasting food. I love teaching children to cook and be involved in cooking. As a keen gardener, I manage a large organic vegetable plot at home growing lots of different salad leaves, oriental greens and herbs, kale, chard, kohl rabbi, green beans, beetroot, broad beans, carrots, potatoes, tomatoes and even cardoons. I try to cook with seasonal, local ingredients and love making jams, preserves and pickles for the winter with fruit and vegetables from the garden.
I am really looking for a permanent role where I can work for a family for the long term. I have lived in Norfolk since I was a child and it has been my family home for many years. I love the countryside and enjoy my own company, I would not be phased by looking after a property on my own and the estate I looked after on Dartmoor could not have been more remote. I really enjoyed living there and embraced the experience of being on the moors. I am able to bring a real wealth of life experience to a post and a lot of flexibility. I am looking for a permanent post in Norfolk/Suffolk from Feb - March 2020 when my current job reaches the end of its term. I have references and testimonials from my previous jobs.

My Qualifications

BA Hons 2:1
PGCE Art & Design
Up to date Safeguarding Certificate

My Availability

From December 2019/January 2020
I am looking for a minimum of 20 hours a week ideally.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 29/11/2019

My Fees

  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (net)

£12.00 per hour

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • UK Passport (added 14/12/2017)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.