
Nanny in London

Babysitter in London

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2018 Last Updated Jun 2020 Last Login 10 Jul 2020 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Governess
Mothers Help
Hotel Babysitter
Tax-Free Childcare
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Potty Trainer
Bedtime Nanny

About Me

Hi, my name is Lily, I'm 29, and I've been nannying, tutoring and looking after babies and children for over nine years in London. I'm an English Literature graduate, a practicing fine artist and performer, and have completed a training in Counselling and Psychotherapy at Birkbeck, specialising in children and early years development.
I have tutored young people from teaching them to read and beginning numeracy, KS1 and up to A-level standard according to the general curriculum and exam boards.

I find looking after and teaching children extremely rewarding, and I feel privileged to have been involved in the education and development of the young people I've worked with so far. In the past nine years I have looked after babies as young as four days old, for long periods in the day and overnight, helped parents organise children's routines and after-school activities, and taught, supported and supervised teenagers. I am comfortable working both as a sole charge nanny and as parents' help. I am currently looking for long or short term nanny/ parents' help and tutoring positions with babies, toddlers and home-schooled children and I’m available between 8am- 8pm Monday- Friday, with flexibility to stay later and babysit some evenings during the week.

*Please note: I will exclusively be cycling or walking until further notice due to the pandemic- I have been isolated in Gloucestershire since February but returning to London in June and looking to
return to nannying/ tutoring ideally from mid June 2020*

I enjoy making up games, helping and encouraging with homework and tutoring, reading to little ones and teaching them to read, creating stories and making up and performing characters, art projects and activities, music and singing, nature walks, going to classes and on outings, baking and cooking with children, and playing games with little ones of all ages. I have experience caring for newborns, weaning babies, potty training, helping with sleep schedules, and activities that encourage language acquisition and development.

I use my skills as a practicing artist, performer/ actor and teacher to encourage children and babies to express themselves and learn through having fun, exploratory and creative games, as well as drawing on other resources.
I'm looking for work that reflects my ongoing interest in the care, education and development of children of all ages. I am comfortable, warm and enthusiastic with children of all abilities, confident teaching and tutoring young people who are particularly gifted intellectually and/ or artistically, as well as children who have learning idiosyncrasies/ diagnoses such as ADHD and dyslexia, and neurodivergent children.

I specialise in tutoring english, creative writing, drama, history, art, geography, science, and biology/ natural science for children aged 1-16, and am competent helping with all school homework and after-school activities. I am fully background checked (Enhanced DBS certificate updated 2019) and have training in paediatric first aid (certified 2017). I studied Counselling and Psychotherapy at Birkbeck, with a view to encouraging children's creative expression as an art-therapist and counsellor when I have completed this training. I co-founded and direct an artist support network and collective where I run and organise events and workshops, mostly for young LGBTQ+ artists and performers. I trained as a sculptor and in acting/ theatre, and have my own practice as an artist, performer and sculptor. In 2019 I wrote and directed a devised play at the Arcola Theatre in Dalston and I really enjoy encouraging imaginative play and drama with young people. I find the equilibrium between teaching and looking after children and teenagers with my practice as an artist/ university guest tutor really inspiring, playful and rewarding.
Through my work as a director of the artist support programme I have worked in schools and taught workshops to young people in art institutions across London, including Tate Modern, Tate Britain and Somerset House. I have also worked as a guest lecturer at Universities, including Winchester School of Art and Bristol University, teaching art and art history to undergraduate and masters students.

In my spare time I read, make sculptures and draw, cook (I'm mostly vegan and love cooking vegetable-based meals, but most of the families I've nannied for ate meat, which I’m also comfortable cooking), and doing other craft activities (I went to a Steiner School as a child so learned a lot of craft and art activities I now enjoying teaching to children). I also love cycling, walks outside, practicing Tai Chi and meditation, and am comfortable around all animals.
I am not a professional cleaner/ housekeeper but I am happy doing nursery duties, children's washing, cleaning up after children (and helping them to tidy up) and other domestic activities. I love cooking and am happy to cook and prepare meals for parents as well as children.

I was born and grew up in Bristol/ Gloucestershire and have lived in London for ten years. My parents are
a doctor and a nurse (my mother is now also a teacher). Growing up with a medically and holistically trained family I have a sound understanding of mental and physical health, nutrition and the physical constitution, and am confident and calm with helping parents to assure the general wellbeing and development of their babies and children.

My Experience

*Please see my availability and review my rates before sending me a message, thank you*

The family I nannied for for the past two years full time have a daughter, who was 10 months when I started, and her brother was born when she was nearly 2; I looked after them both full-time until the family emigrated in January (please contact me for more details/ a current CV).
Lovely references from other families I've worked with are available on request. I take pride in being a warm, caring and reliable nanny and tutor with lots of energy and enthusiasm.

My Qualifications

Foundation Diploma in Counselling & Psychotherapy (focus on child development and early years), Birkbeck, London (First Class) English Literature B.A., Goldsmiths College, London (first class dissertation of note selected by external examiners)
6 A-Levels, completed with four A and two B A-Level grades

My Availability

For short term/ Summer positions I am open to full and part time nanny/ tutor roles. For long term positions from September onwards I am available for maximum 26 hours a week so I also have time to go to my studio/ continue with my art practice.

I am flexible on hours/ days at the moment but currently looking for tutoring/ nanny/ parents' help and babysitting positions between the hours of 8am - 8pm.

I'm open to nanny share positions with up to five children (maximum three babies if under 3 years)
I am able to babysit most evenings from 7.30pm.

I am not available for morning and after-school run only positions, unless these include daytime childcare as well. Regular days weekdays only please, but I'm sometimes available for weekend days as well / additional weekend babysitting.

I'm based in Hackney so nannying and tutoring in East, North and Central London are ideal for me (I prefer to cycle or walk where possible).

Please note: Due to Coronavirus I will exclusively be cycling or walking until further notice and will not be taking children on public transport until further notice/ September.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 10/06/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £13.00 per hour (net)

*These rates reflect my nine years of experience and reliable enthusiasm for educating and looking after children and babies in London.

Nanny/ tutor rate/ daytime: £14 p/h net - for daytime positions
Nanny rate/ after school: For after-school only positions I charge an after-school nanny/ tutor rate of
£19 p/h net, as tutoring/ homework help is usually included in children's after-school routines this enables me to commit to long-term after-school positions with fewer regular hours, and to perhaps increase to full-time hours as your nanny during school holidays if necessary (at the full time day rate of £14 p/h).

Nanny share positions: £18 an hour
(up to three children under 5 years old, up to six children 3-16 years)

Evening Babysitting only (from 8pm): £11 an hour, minimum 3 hours or £33

Babysitting evening and night-time (unplanned/ 12am onwards): £20 per hour (this only applies to evenings when parents are back later than 12am or back more than 35 minutes later than arranged)

Planned overnight/ sleepover (12am-7am): £70 a night

Tutoring only £20 p/h

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.