5 stars (1)

Nanny in West Dulwich

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2011 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 22 Jan 2020 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Newborn Experience
Nanny Share

About Me

Hi! I'm Jackie. I'm an Ofsted registered early years professional based in West Dulwich, and mum to my own sweet and friendly 13 year old boy.

I am currently offering my services as a live-out nanny.

I have worked in early years childcare for the best part of a decade, having discovered that being a City professional clashed horribly with being a single mum (for me, anyway)! For seven years I ran my own Ofsted registered childminding business. I loved the flexibility of our busy days and seeing the children in my care grow and prosper.

As my son neared teenage, I decided it was a little unfair for him to be living in what was essentially a full-blown nursery (!), so I took a job in a primary school early years nursery, undertaking much the same role as I did as a childminder.

As a childminder I always loved our days that were full of joy, wonder and adventure.The nursery setting, with far more children to look after, necessarily makes for a much more rigid day. For that reason, I have decided to return to home childcare.

I believe that it is of paramount importance that children of this age are exposed to as much warmth and kindness and positive attention as possible to help them grow into healthy adults. Their days should be filled with as many interesting experiences as possible, outdoor and in, that help to broaden their understanding and language, and build their confidence and physical abilities.

There is a reason there is such a focus on this age group: it is the foundation on which all future learning and development are based. It has been proven that children who have been exposed to a wealth of positive experiences at this age are far more likely to fare well when they start school age five, and beyond.

In my past I worked, among other things, as an editor and translator, so I guess I am something of a language buff! In addition to mother tongue English, I speak Spanish reasonably well; French slightly less well, and have a smattering of German and Italian in the mix too.

My Experience

I love to keep busy!

As a childminder I organised visits to various farms - Deen City, Surrey Quays, Godstone, among others. We did fruit picking, we went to the woods, spending lots of time in Dulwich Woods, and also discovering Chipstead Woods. We'd go to the Maritime Museum in Greenwich at least once a month (fantastic early years area there) and I'd hate to think how often we went to the Horniman! We went to the Cutty Sark; we did journeys on the Thames; we searched ponds for newts in Goose Green!

I once organised a fun trip to West Norwood fire station with a group of childminders, where we were lucky enough to have a look around the station, try on the firefighters' helmets and have turns of the water hoses. Everyone laughed a lot and got very wet!

It's not all go-go-go though. Children, like all of us, need balance. So I always ensure that there's time for reading, singing and just being together. Children enjoy trying out baking and making their own simple lunches. Sometimes, again, like all of us, they just need a quiet snuggle and a chat.

I know many excellent childcarers in the area, which means the children get to make new friends too. We often get together in parks and normally, in the summer, organise fun/sports days.

Both working as a childminder and working in the nursery, I have had to work to the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), so I am very familiar with child development stages and am happy to discuss thoughts and concerns parents may have with their children's development, and to put in place appropriate actions to address them.

My Qualifications

I have a degree in Spanish/French and have completed various courses on childminding, first aid and safeguarding, as well as courses on specific areas of early years development, such as Autism in Early Years and Speech and Language.

My Availability

I am aiming to work around 40 hours a week across a maximum of four days. I am happy to work out with the family/families which arrangement of hours/days would suit them and me best.

I am obliged to give my current job a month's notice before leaving, but aside from that, am available asap.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 21/10/2019

My Fees

  • Nannying from £13.00 per hour (net)

One family: £13ph net.
Nanny share: £9ph net per family.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for J Nanny. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Jackie looked after our daughter Lola for almost a year, from the age 10 and half months. Jackie was loving and caring to our daughter from the onset and made my transition back to work so much easier as I felt so secure that she was being well cared for. Jackie works really hard with the children on their development, encouraging their learning through play. We were delighted on how Lola progressed under Jackie's guidance. Jackie offers healthy nutritious meals to the children and lots of fruit and snack to keep them going. Most days she will take them out to playgroups or parks etc and she also has a large, secure garden of her own where they can play. Overall Lola loved her time there, as well as learning a lot she also had days full of fun and laughter. We only left because we were moving house - because of her love for Jackie it took her quite some time to settle in her new nursery. I would recommend Jackie to any parent, your child will be loved, cared for and respected and we will always be grateful for how she supported us and our child.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about J Nanny on 11/02/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.