Nanny in Edinburgh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Aug 2018 Last Updated Aug 2019 Last Login Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter

About Me

Hello, my name is Clare! I am a friendly, family-orientated person with substantial amount of childcare experience. I am kind and patient with a slightly silly nature that seems to lend itself to bonding with children. That being said, I always take my job very seriously and do it to the best of my ability.

In June 2018 I completed my HNC Childhood Practice and worked as a nursery practitioner from June to November. Although I met some amazing children and, despite the length of time, developed some fantastic relationships, I found that I did not enjoy this kind of environment. I prefer to have one or two children to devote my attention to, spending quality time together and going outdoors as much as we can without the constraints a nursery environment often brings.

I believe in working with children, helping them to develop their interests, skills and most importantly, independence. I don't believe in doing everything for them, rather offering the support and encouragement they need to learn how best to do it for themselves. I am a firm believer in being outdoors often as a child, and having many life experiences such as visiting museums, botanical gardens and art galleries. Finally, play is the most important part of being a child! And in whatever capacity, I advocate the importance of this in as many different forms as can possibly be imagined: outdoors, imagination, arts and crafts, climbing trees, singing, dancing and many many more!

At the age of 14, I became an older sibling for the first time and since then have gained hands-on experience in caring for children at varying ages and stages of development. My younger siblings are now 10, 8 and 1 and are extremely important parts of my life. I always aim to spend as much time with them as possible and therefore I am unable to work most weekends.

My Experience

*Since January '19, I have worked four mornings a week for a family with a one year old boy. During this time, we go out as much as possible visiting the museum, soft play and attending messy play classes. I am also responsible for his providing his snack and milk, making lunch and putting him down for his afternoon nap. In this role, I have also become accustomed to reusable nappies.

*HNC Childhood Practice with two placements completed during the year: one in a council nursery and one in a primary 1/2 class.

*Nursery practitioner June to November 2018. In this role, I mainly gained my experience in the Toddler room but also the Tweenies (18 months to 2 years) and Baby (6-18 months).

*Part-time Nanny 2013-14 for my then five and two year old siblings with sole-charge from the morning to bedtime. This was a paid role and although family, as much responsibility as being a nanny for another family. Responsibilities included nappy changing, preparing meals as well as carrying out bath and bedtime routines.

*Volunteer classroom assistant 2016 for primary 4 class.

*Babysitting for friends and family from the age of 14.

*Allergy experience: in my career, I have encountered many children with allergies and intolerances. My mother also suffers from many allergies and this has taught me from a young age to be both vigilant and sensitive towards these issues.

*Administering medication: as a qualified member of staff, I was often required to administer medication for the children. This has been Cystic Fibrosis medication, antibiotics and applying skin creams.

*I am comfortable with pets and a massive fan of dogs!

*Basic children's yoga training

My Qualifications

HNC Childhood Practice A (Graded Unit: 'Support for the Emotional and Mental Health of Primary School Children')
PVG Registered
NC Acting and Theatre Performance

I am not currently First Aid Trained but booked for training Nov this year.

My Availability

BEFORE MEETING ANY PARENT OR FAMILY IN THEIR HOME I REQUIRE EITHER A FACE TO FACE MEETING IN A PUBLIC PLACE OR A BRIEF FACETIME CONVERSATION.

BABYSITTING: available Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu evenings and all day Fri. Occasionally available Sat and Sun on request.


NANNYING: I am no longer available for any regular nannying hours for the foreseeable future.


I like to keep my weekends free to spend time with my family, however I can make myself available on occasional Saturdays and Sundays.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no yes yes yes
Morning no no no no yes yes yes
Afternoon no no no no yes yes yes
After School no no no no yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no yes yes no
Last Updated: 13/08/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (net)

Agreed on application

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.