4.88 stars (8)

Childminder in Swindon

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2011 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 18 Feb 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered

About Me

My name is Lisa Davies. My family and I live in Woodhall Park, Haydon Wick. Our home is situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, with own driveway for ease of parking.

My husband is Terence who is a National Sales Manager. We have three children ages 20, 19 and 12 years.

In our house we have a dedicated play room, which has lots of toys for all ages. There is always a room available for rest time. The garden is large which is secure and fully enclosed. With lots of out door toys from a Play house, Slides, bikes, cars also bats and balls, sand pit and water play.

I have my own car with full insurance and several fitted car seats for various ages. We do a lot of walking and sometimes use public transport.
I have car insurance with Class I Business Use, relevant house insurance and public liability, which between them cover all eventualities.

We have a Chocolate Labrador retriever (Gun Dog) called Daisy. She is a very gentle and loving dog who enjoys the children’s company but has her own room to enable her to have her own space. I feel that it is important for children to care and interact with animal’s, this is why I chose to get one.
Daisy’s inoculations are up to date and any flea and worming treatment is administered at the direction of the vet.

My Experience

I have been working as a childminder since 2003 and have worked with Children from birth to teens. I am registered with Ofsted who carry out my inspections. Which I have always maintained a Good or above grading. (Last inspection July 2019) I am also registered with PACEY.

I am a professional person and like to put the needs of your child first. I operate policies to enhance your child’s mind, behaviour and understanding and consider “Continuity of care is a priority"

I firmly believe that a contract will be successful when you – the parent and I work closely together. I strive to make my business flexible and transparent with open and honest communication.

The service that I provide is based on what I would demand and expect should I be the one seeking childcare for my child. My aims are to be inclusive, understanding and professional and that it is tailored to suit your needs.

All families are welcomed into the warm, fun atmosphere by myself and my own family.

Children are involved and immersed in a home atmosphere where care and learning merge in a fun, loving and caring environment.

Some of the activities on Offer are;

In and out door messy play
Music and instruments
Dance and movement
Arts and Crafts
Construction toys
Dolls, buggies
Treasure baskets
Role play and dressing up
Cooking and baking
Sand and Water
Books, reading writing, story telling,
nursery rhymes, puppets,
puzzles, sewing,
TV, DVD, Virgin box,
and lot lots more.

All toys are age appropriate. They are checked and cleaned on going and are all in good condition.

We have lots of trips out to shops, libraries, play groups, picnics, exploring parks, walks, farms, museums, cinema, soft play, beach, swimming, and lots more. I always involve the children to choose what they like to do and help me plan my week.

My Qualifications

ICP Introducing Childminding Practice 2003
DCP Developing Childminding Practice 2006
ECP Extending Childminding Practice 2007
Birth to 3 Matters 2006
Safeguarding children level 3 Advanced Award
First Aid (12 hour )
Food Safety (6 hour course) Asthma and Epi pen training
Trio Network
EYFS Early years foundation training
Observation & Assessment
Childs behaviour
Multicultural
Messy play
Cooking
Lots of door step training
Signalong
Training always on going and updating

My Availability

Full/Part time Contracts
Holiday and Term time contracts
Emergency Childcare ( Subject to availability)

I will take children from birth to teens

I take and collect from Haydonleigh school

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 19/11/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.75 per hour

All requests are considered upon individual requirements.

Rates include (non specialist requirements) snacks, drinks and lunch. (Although parents are welcome to provide a packed lunch in line with my healthy eating policy) and routine outings during term time such as play groups.
Although please note that other larger scale outings ie soft play, farms may incur an extra cost to parent.

Did you know?
Many parents can claim tax credits towards the help of child care costs.
Many Companies and Businesses are part of a childcare voucher scheme.
I am happy to accept childcare vouchers


I provide excellent quality of service and provision, experience and training.

Good childcare isn’t expensive – it’s invaluable!

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for LISA J D. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My daughter has now been with Lisa for a year and Bella adores her days with with Her and playing with her new little friends. Lisa is fantastic with the children and all their individual needs and personalities and she has a Super relationship not only with Bella but with us as well. Lisa is everything you could ask for in a childminder. We would have no hesitation in recommending her to others.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about LISA J D on 19/07/2013

When we started looking for childcare for our daughter, there seemed to be a long list of 'requirements' that we were after in our new childminder and we were not optimistic we would find anyone. There were the obvious characteristics...friendly, approachable, cheerful, trustworthy, etc and then the more challenging one of finding someone able and willing to work around both mine and my husbands working patterns. I work near Heathrow four days a week, leave the house very early and dont get home much before 6pm. My husband works a fortnightly shift pattern, earlies and lates and keeping track of school pick ups, drop offs, Training Days, school holidays, etc in amongst everything else seemed like a nightmare to me.

A family friend recommended we speak to her childminder to see if she could help us and so, we had a brief 2 minute first chat in the playground at school and we arranged to meet at Lisa's house later to discuss what we were looking for. I can safely say that in those first couple of minutes, amongst the noise and chaos of the school playgroud, we found someone
not only willing to offer the flexibilty we were looking for, but also a fantastically friendly, welcoming, happy, warm and loving home, where we knew our daughter would love to be and where we were happy for her to be.

Our daughter has now been in Lisa's more than capable hands for nearly 4 years and whether it's breakfast, lunch or tea; playing in the garden or in the play room; playing hairdressers or writing stories, she always comes home with a smile on her face and tales of what she's been doing! During the school holidays, Lisa always has lots of fun things planned for the
children to enjoy, from trips out to Animal/Adventure Parks, Country Parks, Cinema's, Bowling, Soft Play, Pottery Painting, Museum's, to more simple things like making cakes, playing in the pool in the garden, making up songs and dance routines. Some days it seems that really she'd quite like to stay at Lisa's all the time and maybe just visit us at home at the weekend!! We take that as a sure sign that Hannah is more than at ease in Lisa's care and thoroughly enjoys her time there!

We can't rate Lisa highly enough; she treats Hannah just as one of her own, with lots of love and kindness but also not being afraid to remind her of the behaviour she (and us) expects. Biased as I am, Hannah is growing into a lovely, considerate, caring and happy young lady, and that, in no small part, is due to the care she recieves from Lisa.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about LISA J D on 17/07/2013

Lisa is an excellent childminder who cares for the children as if they were her own. My 2 year old girl has been with Lisa for nearly 1 and a half years now and she is very settled. They often go out at least once a week and much more during the summer holidays. Lisa even picked up on my daughter's eye condition before me...... She is that switched on!! Lisa also always has time to talk at pick up time as to how my daughter has got on which I always appreciate. I would have no hesitation in recommending lisa to other parents .

  • 4 stars Overall

by about LISA J D on 15/07/2013

We interviewed three childminders and instantly knew that Lisa was the childminder for us simply because she offers exactly what we wanted for our son – a home away from home.

Harry has been with Lisa since December 2011 when he was 8 1/2 months old and attends three times a week. He very much has a second family due to the fun atmosphere Lisa has created with all the children in her care as well as her own. Her husband and children are brilliant with Harry and he frequently asks to go there even at weekends!

We speak daily about how Harry has been and events to come and value the Daily Diary for hints and tips as to what to expect for the night ahead. We appreciate her opinion and trust her judgement implicitly.

Lisa is professional, friendly and very accommodating with a loving but firm and fair approach, which has been well received by Harry. She is very vigilant and spotted Chicken pox before we did!

Always planning day trips and fun outings, Harry has experienced a variety of activities from a very early age which has encouraged his development and communication skills no end.

We feel extremely lucky to have found Lisa and can not recommend her highly enough.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about LISA J D on 10/07/2013

Lisa has been looking after my little boy for almost 2 years now and I have been more than happy with her level of care. She made me feel really at ease when I first met her, especially as it is such a big step for a new Mum going back to work. I was really impressed with her set up initially, a lovely dedicated play room, big garden which was fully equipped, lovely size house but most importantly every child that I met in her house was so happy and polite, that sold it for me straight away.

Reece has been very happy within Lisa's care and always takes part in a variety of activities both inside the house and when then go out for trips. She is very caring in her approach - some days he has just needed extra cuddles and he has always got this. He is treated like part of the family which I like.

Lisa is happy to go through in detail what he has done that day/sleep patterns/eating etc and we have a diary confirming this too.

Lisa adopts a firm but fair approach, and the children are always taught right from wrong. Reece has learnt a lot from being in Lisa's care, which shows and which I am grateful for.

Lisa and her family have always made Reece feel really at home there and I love the little extras like the handmade gifts on Mothers Day/Fathers Day etc.

I would be more than happy to recommend Lisa to anyone looking for a good, reliable and caring childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about LISA J D on 10/07/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.