5 stars (3)

Childminder in Old Coulsdon

Babysitter in Old Coulsdon

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2011 Last Updated Jan 2019 Last Login 11 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Registered in Northern Ireland
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

I am a outstanding registered childminder with OFSTED and PACEY in the Old Coulsdon area. I have two children aged 8years and 13years and have been a qualified teacher for 14 years. After having my last child I decided that as a working parent myself it is very difficult to find the appropriate care for our children that we would like, hence I trained as a childminder.
I am paediatric first aid trained and hope to achieve my Early Years Professional Status in the near future. I have several different certificates of training appropriate for the development and care of children, especially in the early years stage.
I am a friendly loving person who has the ability to offer a home from home experience for all children, catering for every individuals needs. My teaching background enables me to work with children to bring out the best in them. I have a three bedroomed house with a large secure, fully equipped garden for play activities.
Please feel free under no obligation to come and have a look at my setup.
My husband assists me out of school hours and holidays, who is also fully CRB checked and paediatrically first aid trained. This enables the ratio of adult to child to be kept as low as possible, enabling all children to fulfil their full potential whilst also getting the one to one attention they often like.
I currently drop off and collect from Coulsdon Cof E primary school.
References are available to view on request as is my latest OFSTED report where I was graded OUTSTANDING.

My Experience

I have been caring for children for the past 18 years in one capacity or another either as voluntary work with special needs children, as a teacher for 14 years, as a parent for 13 and generally being around children.
I have completed all necessary training required to be registered with OFSTED on all registers and for overnight care.
I have trained intensively on child protection and gained my child protection liason officer role in the education sector, giving me in depth knowledge and understanding of the role.
I have worked with special needs children including autism, aspergers, tourettes and physically disabled children.
I have recently undertaken numerous training courses with Croydon Borough Council including Tracking, planning and assessment of children; Terrific Two Yr Olds; CIEH Level 2 Health and Safety; CIEH Level 2 Food Safety and Catering; 2Yr Progress Check (essential as this has been taken away from Health Visitors role).

My Qualifications

I hold a degree in Physiology/Pharmacology and Biochemistry; a PGCE Secondary Education (Science); A level's and GCSEs.
I also have the relevant training needs for a childminder including the paediatric first aid certificate.
I have experience of special needs including dyslexia, dyspraxia and autism including working with ADHD sufferers.
CIEH Level 2 Food Safety and Catering
CIEH Level 2 Health and Safety
.

My Availability

I currently have spaces available in the 0-8 age group and the over 8's group.
I am available from 7.00am to 7pm Mon-Fri and willing to negotiate start and end times with individual parents, to cater for the needs of shift workers.
I work 48 weeks of the year.
I am also registered for overnight care to help aid shift workers (or just those parents in desperate need of a night out).
I regularly babysit for the children on my register.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes no no
Last Updated: 15/01/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £7.50 per hour

Fees vary according to the hours required and the number of children placed with me, with my normal hourly rate being £7.50 before discounts. I have been told by my current parents that I have extremely fair and very competitive rates. All rates include food, snacks and drinks, outings and treats. For babies, formula and nappies are also included in the fees. Please do not hesitate to contact me regarding the information posted.
Substantial discount is available for full time places and multiple children.

My Local Schools

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for letts childmind. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I have been using Rachel's services for many years now. My son, who is now four began staying with Rachel when he was around 18 months old. I now have a two year old who is also looked after by Rachel, which causes some problems as my 4 year old gets really jealous as he wants to still go too! :-). My daughter loves her days with Rachel as she does so much with them. They are always out and about doing something different and interesting.

I think if my children had the choice, they would spend every day there!

Rachel is warm and affectionate and the children adore her. I would highly recommend her.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about letts childmind on 19/05/2014


Response by letts childmind on 19/05/2014:

Hi Siobhan,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Much appreciated.

See you all soon,

Rachel

Rachel took care of my kids for nearly 6 months. She was the best thing that ever happened to my children, my son was so attached to Rachel, that it was so painful to take them out. I am so happy that Rachel took the time to provide the apropriate care plans for my children and made them feel at home away from home.

Rachel is a Godsend.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about letts childmind on 17/10/2012

i would like to take this opportunity to say that i placed my 8 month old son with rachel at the beginning of february. i was extremely nervous about going back to work. since, ive had no tears or tantrums he loves being with the childminder the food is all nutritional he goes out and about to places. Rachels fees are a lot lower than ALL nurseries and childminders.
I feel totally at ease knowing that my son is in very safe and trustworthy hands. i dont think i could of picked any better. So i would like to say a big thank you for making the move back to work go so well.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about letts childmind on 01/03/2012

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.