Avatar for Kathleen
Kathleen
image/svg+xml

Childminder in KILWINNING

Female Member since Aug 2019 Last Updated Aug 2021 Last Login Jun 2022

My Summary

Scotland Care Inspectorate Registered
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Pre-Registration

About Me

Hello,


I offer a warm, caring and genuine home-from-home environment, where children will feel safe, secure, respected and listened to. Most of all, I want children to enjoy their time here. I achieve that by:
• allowing them to have a say in what activities they do
• developing their interests and helping them to learn new skills
• ensuring plenty of fresh air and exercise
• providing a wide range of toys and activities for them

Children will have fun learning and developing in a range of ways and will have the opportunity to enjoy both time at home and in organised group settings (Covid-19 dependant!).

I care for children in my kitchen/lounge area. This a large, L-shaped garage conversion with plenty space for children to play and move around, full of natural light and with a large chalk board on the wall. I have a safe, enclosed back garden which is accessible from the back kitchen door with an artificial grass lawn, a patio area and a decked area. The decked are is due to be levelled along with the building of a pergola in January, which will create a sheltered space for outdoor play.

Our routine will be dependent on mindees’ other activities and clubs. I am happy to take children to clubs and groups according to parents’ wishes. For pre-school children, I endeavour to provide a fun and stimulating environment, ensuring there is a good variety of activities on offer throughout the week including both indoor and outdoor activities, organised groups, child-led activities and activities which keep them stimulated, active and healthy.

I will offer a range of healthy meals, snacks and drinks, including a variety of fruit and veg options every day. I have an honours degree in nutrition so have an in-depth understanding of the importance of good nutrition in childhood. I will work with parents and children in this area regarding likes, dislikes and fads/phases etc, to ensure children can experiment with new foods and textures in a way suitable to the individual child.

My Experience

I am new to childminding but have more than 24 years’ experience raising my own children and looking after nieces and nephews. My 8 year-old son Ruairidh is at Abbey Primary, and we live here with my husband Alan who works from home.

I volunteer for the Children’s Hearing Service, as a Children’s Panel Member, and my training has taught me just how important it is for a child’s development – and for their long-term outcomes - to feel safe, secure, loved and protected. Children therefore need to feel safe and protected in all care settings, whether that is at home, at school, or in a childminder/nursery/after school setting.

Positive relationships with the adults involved in their care are also hugely important to their general health and wellbeing. These positive relationships and other positive experiences throughout childhood help to build a child’s resilience. It gives them confidence to think independently and develop their own views of the world, which again has a positive impact on their long-term development and outcomes. I therefore aim to ensure that my home environment provides the nurture required for all children to feel safe, happy and secure, and I commit to doing my best to help them on their journey to becoming happy and responsible adults.

My Qualifications

Scottish Childminding Association Introduction to Childminding course

Extensive Child Protection training via Childrens Hearings Scotland and the Local Authority

*Child and Baby First Aid pending (rescheduled to November due to Covid)

My Availability

Open to babies from 6 months to children age 12 years old (exceptions may be agreed on a case by case basis).

Opening hours are 7am - 6.30pm, although occasional early drop-offs or late picks-ups can be arranged in advance.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/08/2021

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

Pre-school
20 hours or less per week = £4.50 per hour
Over 20 hours per week = £4.00 per hour
Second child rate is £0.50 less than the rates above. The second child rate applies to the child
with the least contracted hours in the setting.

Before and after school only
£5.00 per hour

50% retainer – applies to term-time placements, and is required to secure a place (where start date is more than 4 weeks away).

All snacks and meals included.

My Local Schools

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml Care Inspectorate Certificate (added 15/10/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.