Nanny in Edinburgh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Aug 2019 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login Oct 2019 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Governess
Mothers Help
Emergency Babysitter
Bedtime Nanny

About Me

I am affectionate towards children and go out of my way to get to know them individually- their character, what they care about, what inspires them and how they think. This helps me adapt creative activities to them, and get them as engaged as possible in fun and pedagogical pastimes that play to their strengths, like reading and listening to good children’s literature, drawing and working on specific projects like making paper masks and fantasy treasure maps and learning magic tricks. When it comes to things like helping with homework, I have also taught in the past, and so have experience conveying ideas in the manner best suited to the individual child’s way of learning and trying to make the concepts as inspiring as possible. I am energetic and inventive, and I have a range of delicious and healthy recipes in my cooking repertoire.

I am imaginative and resourceful, and love working on projects. After University, I spent three weeks in Belgrade teaching Afghan refugees English and French. Since my return from India where I worked as a teacher and muralist, I have set up a website for my portraits and illustrations, created a deck of Shakespeare-themed playing-cards that I aim to sell, completed portrait commissions and have taught myself HTML and CSS. I have designed and nearly finished making an app that I am excited about, and will hold my second art exhibition in 2020 on the plight of Afghan refugees. Next year, I will begin a psychology MSc at the University of Edinburgh in order to become a therapist. I am seeking a part-time job to finance these studies.

My Experience

02/18 – 03/18: Volunteer English and Art teacher (Ishaprema Niketan Orphanage, Pune, India):
Teaching English dialect to ages through 5 to 12 through art classes, magic-trick workshops and singing lessons.

10/17 – 11/17: English Teacher (Hidaya Public School, Calicut, India):
Teaching English dialect to ages through 8 to 14 through reading sessions, art classes, magic-trick workshops and singing lessons.

01/17 – 06/17: Essay writing tutor (Tutora Ltd., Newcastle, UK):
Providing at-home tutoring for people seeking to improve their university-level essay writing skills. In this capacity, I was thrilled to be able to dramatically improve the academic know-how of a victim of domestic abuse on welfare with two children gain the qualifications to be accepted at Northumbria University, a crucial step in her goal of becoming a social worker in order to help others like her. I also tutored children, teaching french and helping a boy with his English GCSCs.

My Qualifications

I have a first class honours MA in literature and philosophy from the University of Glasgow (2016), and speak English, French, Swedish and Danish.

My Availability

I don't yet know what my lecture hours will be during the weekday, but I will be free on evenings and weekends.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no yes yes
Morning yes no yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School no no no no no yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 30/09/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £10.70 per hour (gross)

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Full CV (added 19/08/2019)
  • EU Passport (added 19/08/2019)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.