image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

Nanny in Edinburgh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

Female Non-smoker Member since Aug 2019 Last Updated Feb 2021 Last Login 19 Feb 2021 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Special Needs Experience
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Mothers Help
Hotel Babysitter

About Me

I am a friendly, confident and bubbly 24 year old seeking work as a nanny. I am currently a studying for my Masters at Edinburgh Napier University so I am flexible with my schedule.

I would describe myself as a fun, outgoing, relaxed person. I don't take life too seriously, yet I understand when a job needs done and there is a time for hard work. I am very positive, dedicated and motivated and wake up each morning excited for what the day may hold. I am organised whilst having a great amount of spontaneity for those all important moments of fun! I am caring and loving of all those around me as them being happy is important to me.

In my spare time I love to go to the gym, so swimming, socialise with my friends, bake and cook, go to the theatre and read. I also love to ski, my family and I try to go on a ski holiday once a year and I have been skiing since I was 3 years old.

I enjoy to travel a lot. I have grown up in a family of travel industry - my dad was a pilot and my mum was cabin crew. I have been to lots of countries across Europe and further afield. I have solo travelled around Canada for a month and it was the best experience. I learnt about the culture, met so many new friends for life and gained some extreme independence and responsibility. I also decided to take my first job as an au pair abroad, as I wanted to immerse myself in a new culture, this was a fantastic experience.

Family is so important to me, my family and I are very close and do lots together. I have 2 older brothers, one of whom lives in Australia. I have a 1 year old niece who I love to watch learn and grow as she explores this new world. One of the reasons I am now ready to nanny in the UK is to be back close to my family. I am a huge family orientated person and therefore I am seeking a profession which allows me to immerse myself into a new family, building relationships and offering them my help. I understand we all have busy lives and I would love to help a family by being their Nanny.

My Experience

I have worked alongside children in many different settings, so not only do I understand and value the importance of investing in a child’s wellbeing and care but I know just how much I love working and playing alongside them!

My most recent role was working part time in a children’s wrap around daycare club and nursery. This involved a lot of creativity and imagination, using initiative to keep the children entertained. Bonding and building genuine relationships with the children as a responsible key worker was vital for their emotional and educational development.

I spent time last year working as an au pair in the USA for 5 months, and I have returned home to settle down and continue to work in childcare. I looked after 2 girls aged 13 and 8, 2 dogs and the day to day cleaning and upkeep of the household. Over the summer, I planned and participated in loads of fun activities with the girls, we baked, went to water parks, went swimming, played games, and more! During school time, I help tutor the girls, help them with their reading skills, any homework they should need to complete. I cook their dinner and prepare lunch and snacks for the next day. I was also their as a support. I’d say being their nanny is like being a guardian, teacher, big sister and best friend all in one!

I have 6 months work experience as a primary school teacher. I began my PGDE in Primary education, something which I hope to complete in the future. During this time I had responsibility for classes of various ages (11yr olds, 8/9 year olds, 4 year olds). I planned for educational, fun lessons, creating imaginative resources and keeping up to date with each child’s achievements and struggle.

I have further experience of working in a children’s soft play centre and hosting children’s birthday parties. Insuring the health and safety of each child, whilst ensuring they had the most fun possible through various games and activities including face painting.

I have 5 cousins under the age of 10 whom I babysit on a regular basis and help out with homework, taking them to and from school, activities, play dates and parties. I just love their enthusiasm for life and we have great fun playing together! Children are a big part of my family, I spend a lot of time with my cousins, they are aged 3, 6, 7, 9 and 10. It is safe to say I love being around children, I share many interests with them such as being a big lover of Disney, exploring the outdoors and having fun at any opportunity.

I have experience of studying child and developmental psychology through my degree so I understand the importance of the nurture and health and well-being, and most importantly the importance of play! I have a big interest in the link between child development, psychology and education and hope to explore this as a successful career in future life. A career as a nanny has so far and will continue to allow me to truly appreciate a child and their needs in their natural habitat. Building relationships with children that are based on trust and honesty is important to me for now and the future.

My Qualifications

University degree - 2:1 in BSc Psychology (Hons)
Highers: English - A , History - B, Drama - B, Modern Studies - B, Business - C
GCSEs: A*-C including English, Maths and Science
Level 3 Safeguarding
Full UK Driving licence
I am currently working towards a Masters degree at Edinburgh Napier University

My Availability

I have moved back to Edinburgh to be near my family, and during the current Covid-19 crisis I decided to go back to University to study for a masters, thus have lots of flexibility. I understand there is an essential and crucial need for childcare workers currently as families are under immense pressure with working from home whilst having children at home too.
My availability is currently weekdays and weekends, preferably morning, day time and evening but more than happy to be flexible where needed, I’m happy to help out where I can and dedicated my time to help out a family.

I’m very open about hours to work and so it would be great if you could message me and can discuss any possibility of making things work, I will be as flexible as possible.

Feel free to email me :)

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no yes yes yes no no
Morning no no yes yes yes no no
Afternoon no yes yes yes yes no no
After School no yes yes no yes no no
Evening no yes yes no yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 01/02/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £11.00 per hour (gross)

The fees I charge are all in relation to the experience and qualifications I hold. I feel these are necessary and valuable for your child/children’s care. If you wish to discuss these fees with me I would be more than happy to come to an agreement on such basis.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • PVG Check (added 22/08/2019)
  • UK Passport (added 22/08/2019)
  • UK Passport (added 22/08/2019)
  • Exam Certificate: Degree Certificate (added 21/08/2019)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.