Avatar for Karen
Karen

Nanny in Dundee

5 stars
(1)

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since May 2020 Last Updated Jun 2022 Last Login 25 Jun 2022

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

I’m a qualified nanny and early years practitioner. My role is to provide quality, stimulating childcare in Dundee & surrounding areas. I care for children in your home, working around your schedule. I am a creative, fun loving and down to earth person with a genuine passion for my work.

I am very flexible - a key skill when working with families. My job is to make family life as stress free as possible. Until recently I was caring for a child from the age of 11 months. I was fortunate to work for such an amazing family, however both parents are health professionals who have moved out of Dundee (they are happy to be contacted).

I also cared for 2 school age children on an adhoc basis, however due to a change in their personal circumstances this recently ended (parents are happy to be contacted).

I understand that not everyone works Monday-Friday 9-5 therefore I’m happy to meet and discuss your requirements.

When childcare is provided in your home it is easier to adhere to current routines and structure. A child is more settled in their own familiar environment. My experience and background means I can offer additional support and advice if requested. Childcare in the home also means you have confidence and peace of mind care is being carried out in a way you are happy with. It also takes any additional stress out of the morning or evening routines, breakfast/dinner and homework can be taken care off. I am available to provide before/after school care, including taking children to/from school.

I’m also employed part-time in a children and families role. I work in a team aiming to improve the lives of vulnerable people who are experiencing adversity of some kind, carrying out focused pieces of work, building on existing qualities and strengths.

I have a good understanding of CFE and recognise the benefits of play as a key feature that supports development and wellbeing. I am happy attending groups with children in order to develop social skills. I also enjoy creating our own activities.

I am also available for short term or one off pieces of work, providing emergency childcare. I offer before and after school care, safely transporting children to and from school.

I worked in America a number of years ago as a nanny. Direct contact details for referees will be provided. All original documents/certificates will also be provided at interview.

Check the SSSC Register: 2041513

My Experience

As well as hands on childcare/nanny experience I was previously employed as a family support worker within Out of Hours Social Work, based at Seymour House in Dundee. This is an integrated child protection facility where staff from three organisations, Dundee City Council, Tayside Police and NHS Tayside are located. We responded to emergency situations to ultimately keep children safe from harm or abuse, a team working together to create a child centred approach.

I was also employed as a family support worker in a social work locality team, carrying out direct work with children and families who were experiencing adversity of some kind, often leading chaotic lifestyles, for example substance misuse or domestic violence.

I have co-facilitated Mellow Babies where the underpinning values are based on teaching theories of attachment, social learning and improving parent-child relationships. This programme also focused on the importance of early intervention and the positive impact of attuned parenting in the early years.

On a personal level i have a son who is 22 and is now in his final year at university. I have 2 rescue pugs called Daphne and Flossie and love all animals.

My Qualifications

I have always had a very strong work ethic, whether it is within the workplace or regarding my education. I believe it is important to have a strong commitment to work and to set goals. I recently completed an HNC in Childhood Practice which I funded myself, attending college 2 nights a week. I was awarded an A.

I have also successfully gained an HNC Health and Social Care where I was awarded an A for the Graded Unit. I have completed K100 an Open University course in Health and Social Care, as well as SVQ 3, Health and Social Care (Adults). I studied to make positive changes to my work life and to improve my prospects.

My Availability

I am open to discussing this, working with your schedule.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no yes yes yes no no
Morning no no yes yes yes no no
Afternoon no no yes yes yes no no
After School no no yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 21/06/2022

My Fees

  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (net)

£12 per hour.

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: HNC Childhood Practice (added 21/05/2021)
  • PVG Check (added 21/05/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Karen. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Karen was a wonderful help to us and our family last year and we miss her! She looked after our son from aged 1 for a year as a part time nanny. She is totally reliable, caring, creative and developed such a sweet relationship with our son, which he really cherished. Every week she’d think of new thoughtful ideas of fun outings and adventures for them to do together. She is highly qualified for the job and an experienced mum herself. We cannot recommend her highly enough. Happy to provide references, please contact me.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Nicky S Nicky S about Avatar for Karen Karen on 08/09/2021

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.