5 stars (8)

Private Tutor in Greenford

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2011 Last Updated Jan 2019 Last Login 21 Mar 2019 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus

About Me

I was a full-time teacher for 22 years and now concentrate on private tuition. During my teaching career,I taught throughout KS1, 2 and lower KS3. I was Numeracy coordinator in my school for 12 years.

(My DBS was issued in September 2016. I am subscribed to the DBS update service, which constantly updates this certificate).

My Experience

I have a wide experience with nursery,KS1,KS2 and lower KS3. I have a thorough knowledge of National Curriculum requirements and testing and keep up-to-date with any new developments. I am also currently tutoring for GCSE maths,both higher and foundation levels.

In addition I offer tuition for 11+ entry for both grammar and independent schools.

The children I have worked with enjoy the lessons and have achieved good results. Each child has shown very good progress, as I monitor and assess their learning throughout.

I usually also set homework,as this will reinforce the learning from the lesson.After each lesson, I will give feedback and discuss any concerns or areas you would like to address.

I am available for adult English lessons during the day..

My Qualifications

BEd Honours in Education Lancaster University 1990

My Availability

Daytime,evenings and weekends.

During school holidays,I am available for more intensive support with individual children.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening yes no yes no no yes no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/03/2019

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

£25-£30 / hour for 1-2-1 tuition.

The first one hour session in a parent's home is charged at £30.

(If you would like a longer lesson,or would like me to stay and teach a brother or sister, I offer a discounted rate).

£35 / hour for 2 children.

I offer tuition within a 4 mile radius of my home.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 12/10/2016)
  • Training Certificate: Degree letter (added 19/05/2016)
  • Reference (added 19/05/2016)
  • Training Certificate: Degree letter (added 19/05/2016)
  • Reference (added 19/05/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Gallison. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Really works well with my 9 year old daughter who can't be bothered to study and I see my daughter studying and laughing and playing and learning with this tutor and I can't believe it I'm so pleased she is absolutely five-star.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Gallison on 09/10/2018

Allison has been with us for almost a year now and I am very happy to have such a committed teacher to help my son. She takes most of the credit for his dramatic improvement in his handwriting and positive attitude towards his work. I like the fact that she takes the initiative in providing additional materials when required to help my child when he's struggling to understand a particular concept. She knows how to create a rapport with children and the time she spends with them is always productive. I would highly recommend her and commend her organisation and dedication.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Gallison on 26/06/2017

I am a teacher with two daughters, 5 and 7 years old. I met Allison through childcare.co.uk two years ago. My older daughter's English and Maths has improved massively; she is more confident in her studies now! My youngest one is looking forward to starting with Allison in September.

Allison is extremely organised teacher and serious about homework which she sets after every lesson. Her years of experience in teaching is well worth what we are paying for. I highly recommend Allison to any parents who is looking for a great private tutor in KS1 and KS2. My daughter is getting ready for the 11+ exams. Allison is stretching her in the right direction. My child is aware of her teacher's high expectations and tries to meet her standards. We are very pleased to have an excellent tutor, Allison!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Gallison on 13/06/2015

Our 5 year old daughter takes tution lessons from Alison. We have searched a lot to find a right teacher for our child. We came across Alison's profile on childcare website and luckily managed to get a slot for our daughter. I must admit that we are extremely happy that we found Alison. She has great experience and obvious skills in teaching children. She has lots of patience.
My daughter's reading and writing improved a lot. Recently her school teachers appreciated her beautiful handwriting. Alison deserves lot of that credit.Alison is never bothered just about money. I would not hesitate to recommend Alison's tution for anyone looking for genuinely experienced teacher.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Gallison on 27/04/2014

Allison has been my daughter's English and Maths Tutor for the last 18 months, coming to visit our home to teach on a weekly basis.

During this period our daughter has made considerable progress thanks to Allison. She shows considerable patience and empathy,while maintaining a firm approach.She is always actively engaging our daughter in the lessons,combining learning and fun.It's also very clear that Allison puts considerable thought and planning into lesson

.Allison not only keeps me fully informed of my daughter's progress,but also is keen to involve me with follow up activities and is willing to listen to my queries and concerns.

In summary,she is a wonderful teacher who treats her pupils as individuals and cares for them.I have no hesitation in recommending her.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Gallison on 29/07/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.