Cameron
image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in London Borough Of Hackney

Male Non-smoker Member since Mar 2021 Last Updated Mar 2021 Last Login 07 Jul 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Physics Tutor
IT/Computers Tutor
Geography Tutor
General Science Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
A-Level
Economics Tutor
Government and Politics Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Cookery Tutor
Business/Marketing Tutor
Humanities Tutor
Finance Tutor
Statistics Tutor
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor

About Me

Friendly, well-travelled and family-oriented. I have been a guardian for my two sisters aged 13 and 9 for over three years now, guiding them through their academic journey and helping them to make decisions based on the choices their achievements allow them.
Before this guardianship, I would be deeply involved in their school lives, tutoring them throughout my A-levels and sharing with them things I found interesting in my studies. Through this, I have developed a deep understanding of both primary school and secondary school aged children from an educator's perspective, most importantly the specific intellectual and emotional needs of children of various ages.

Thoroughly engaging with my education, I was the Head-boy of The Petchey Academy aged 16-18, as well as Head of Teacher/Student Learning, Head of Well-Being for Upper and Lower-sixth. Many of the individuals I studied with had come from similarly disadvantaged backgrounds, we had all struggled together in 2000s Hackney to avoid distractions and focus on our education, and this is something I deeply respected in everyone around me. The support of my friends and family to better our lives through education made me realise how lucky I was, and for this reason I decided to give back to my community as much as I could, with results that I hold to my heart as my greatest achievement to this day.

I value all learning journeys and requirements equally, as my passion to see my students thrive always drives me to go the extra mile to accommodate specific needs that other tutors may find unreasonable. I value patience and empathy in my teaching method, never becoming frustrated or disheartened. I believe individuals must be allowed to learn at a pace that suits them whilst baring in mind the academic requirements of the task at hand.

Ultimately I aim to create or develop a passion for the given subject, hoping to leave a lasting impression on students that they can call back to when they need inspiration. Additionally, teaching the student transferable skills that will serve them in subjects I have not covered.

My Experience

Army Cadet NCO between ages 13-18. Role mainly included teaching newly recruited cadets a pre-set syllabus with plenty of room for personal improvisation. Subjects taught in this role include but are not limited to fieldcraft; St. John's first-aid certification and examination, marksmanship with pistols & rifles, drill, camouflage & concealment, navigation using a map & compass and Physical Training (PT).

Ran after-school Mathematics, Economics and Geography classes for my peers, where we helped fill the gaps in each others knowledge. Additionally implemented a system wherein year 13 students studying linear subjects could sit in on year 12 lesson as Teaching Assistants. This allowed them to revise the first-year content of their course whilst simultaneous developing the understanding of the year 12 students. Mentor to five year 7 students during my Sixth-Form years, assisting them with the assimilation process between primary and Secondary school whilst providing guidance and situational advice.

University of York Student Ambassador and Child-minder, 2015-2018:
Ran tours through the university for students aged 7-18, organised events and managed questions from students and parents.

Private Tutor 2018-Present:
Private Mathematics and Economics Tutor, November 2018-March 2019
Year 13 A-level student aged 17, had suffered medical complications due to a disability, resulting in the student falling behind by 2 months. Required intensive tutoring alongside incoming work with excellent results. Student went on to study BA Business at the University of Edinburgh.

Private SATs Tutor, May 2019-November 2019
Year 6 student aged 10 requiring additional Mathematics, Science and English support 2 hours every weekday after-school, adding to 10 hours per week. Excellent learning experience for both of us, with the expectations set by the parents being met as student developed a deep passion for biology, a passion which infected her other subjects and saw her accomplish highly in her exams.

Private Physics and English Language Tutor, November 2019-Feb 2019
Two students aged 13 and 15 in a family, classes were taught in a classroom format by request from the parents. 5 hours a week in two 2.5 hour sessions. I would design content that could be accessed by both students, whilst always providing the opportunity to excel.

My Qualifications

11 GCSEs grade A*-C at The Petchey Academy
GCSE English Language and GCSE Mathematics Grades: A

A-levels: A*A*A*A at The Petchey Academy Sixth-Form
A-level Mathematics: Grade A
Cambridge Pre-University Economics: Grade D3 (A-level A* equivalent)
Cambridge Pre-University Geography Grade D3 (A-level A* equivalent)
Cambridge Pre-University Global Prospectus Report/Independent Research Report: Grade D3 (A-level A* equivalent)

BA Philosophy, Politics and Economics, First Class Honours (with distinction), University of York

Year 3 modules and grades:
International Economics: 82
Monetary Economics: 80
Gender and Political Theory: 83
Border Politics: Contemporary perspectives on sovereignty, mobility and citizenship: 80
The Value and Meaning of life: 78

Year 2 modules and grades:
Economics II - Macroeconomics: 90
Economics II - Microeconomics: 88
Econometrics II: 77
History of political thought: 95
Philosophy of mind: 81
Philosophy of time: 78

Year 1 modules and grades:
Economics I: 89
Mathematics I: 100
Probability I: 90
Statistics I: 100
Introduction to Political Theory: 93
Ethics: 81
Reason and argument: 89

Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award
National Under-16 Most Accurate Rifleman

My Availability

Full-time, Flexible

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes no no
Last Updated: 13/03/2021

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

- 11+ Exam Preparation (£25 p/h)

- 13+ Exam Preparation (£25 p/h)

- Year 7 to Year 10 Students (£25 p/h)

- Year 11 GCSE (£30 p/h)

- A-level Mathematics (Core, Mechanics and Statistics £35 p/h)

- Adult learners (£30 p/h)

My Documents

  • Exam Certificate: BA Philosophy, Politics and Economics at University of York, First class honours (with distinction) (added 13/03/2021)
  • Exam Certificate: Cambridge Pre-U and A-level results (added 12/03/2021)
  • UK Passport (added 12/03/2021)
  • DBS Check (added 12/03/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.