Avatar for Rue


Nanny in Brighton (also available for babysitting)

Female Member since Jul 2023 Last Updated Jan 2024 Last Login Jan 2024

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Bedtime Nanny
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

I love working with children, and have 15 years worth of experience. In September 2023, I start my degree in Psychology and Sociology, the first step in my training to become a Child Psychologist.

Outside of this I love art, music, reading, and being outdoors - all activities I am happy to do with your children too. I love all animals (currently have a cat and a kitten), I grew up around dogs, used to horse ride and even lived on a farm for a while - so pets will not be a barrier for me providing childcare (if anything, pets are a bonus!).

I believe in the importance of engaging play and education time, and with any tasks that your child may find boring or challenging (may that be homework, or meal times, or getting ready for bed), I will always work to find a fun way to help them through it. I'm also well adept with the Montessori Methodology (also known as Gentle Parenting) and use this approach with all children.

With me as a Nanny or Babysitter, you will find openness and acceptance for your whole family, regardless of your religious/spiritual beliefs, sexuality or gender identity. I fully believe in the importance of allowing children's self-expression! Each family and child are different, and I will always follow your lead as their parents or primary caregiver to make sure that my approaches mirror yours to provide consistency for your child/children.

My Experience

I have worked with children from 6 months+ in kid's clubs, school settings, and as a nanny over the past 15 years. I can nanny for mixed ages - one family I frequently nannied for had children ages 1, 2 and 4. I also have experience with toilet training whether that's first stage, or starting to try through the night sleeping without nappy's or pull-ups.

I have worked as a tutor for mixed ages into adulthood, so help with homework or educational play is something I can do with your child/children. I am also skilled in co-regulation techniques, something I find beneficial for all children but especially those with any regulation challenges.

I have experience and knowledge of children with Special Needs and how this can impact them, and the importance of adapting my approaches to suit their needs, and techniques to support with distress.

Regardless of whether your child/children has any Special Needs or not; before starting as your Nanny or Babysitter, I will have a conversation with you to get as full an understanding as possible of your child/children's personal needs, routines, and what techniques you know works for them. This enables me to be the best Nanny/Babysitter for them I can be, and helps limit disruption when introducing a new adult into their life.

Lastly, with me as your Nanny/Babysitter at the end of every shift with your child/children, I will provide a summary of our time together. This can be verbal or written (it's entirely your preference) and as standard this will include the following details (but it can also be adapted to include anything else you feel necessary for your family);

- What we did during our time together
- Meals or snacks eaten
- Nap times and duration (if applicable)
- Any highlights during our time together, for example; progress on something they've been working on, excellent behaviour, something your child found especially fun etc.
- Any incidents (why/how they happened and how we worked to resolve it together or care I provided), for example; challenging behaviour, a moment of upset your child experienced, any accidents and what first aid if necessary was administered, if they were poorly at all etc.

Especially applicable when babysitting;
- If they went to sleep okay or if it took a while to settle
- If their sleep was disrupted for any reason, e.g. bad dreams or became poorly through the night

My Qualifications

I have completed Child Safeguarding training twice over the past 15 years, and I am currently completing a refresh course through NSPCC - I will upload certificate upon completion.
Emergency First Aider (including a module on paediatric first aid)
Fire Warden Training (I was a Fire Warden for 5 years)

Other qualifications:
All GCSE's (grades available upon request)
BTEC Diploma in Interactive Art and Media - Distinction Distinction Merit

Reference available upon requests

My Availability

I’m currently fully booked as a nanny and babysitter. I will update my profile if that changes.

If after reading my profile you would like to discuss your requirements please do contact me and I will do my best to accommodate.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/01/2024

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £11.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £13.00 per hour (gross)

My Babysitter rates apply for evenings when children are in bed. If you need me to help you with bedtime to provide a transition for your child/children before you go out (so they know who's looking after them while you're away), this will be covered by babysitting rates.

If babysitting is required pre-bedtime, the day rate for this is the same as my nanny rate. However open to discussions around this depending on your individual needs.

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: Safeguarding Training Certificate 2015 (added 12/08/2023)
  • First Aid Certificate: Emergency First Aid at Work Certificate (added 12/08/2023)
  • DBS Check (added 12/08/2023)
  • Proof of Covid-19 Vaccination (added 11/08/2023)
  • UK Passport (added 11/08/2023)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.