image/svg+xml

Childminder in Exmouth

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2012 Last Updated Mar 2020 Last Login 29 May 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Forest School Childminder

Awarded ‘OUTSTANDING’ by OFSTED

Awarded ‘MAKATON FRIENDLY’

My name is Shelly and I am a professional Early Years Educator. I live in Exmouth with my husband Neal, and my two boys Brad (19) and Jay (12). We have a dog called Ozy who is a lab collie and a cat called Mow. We are an active family and love the outdoors and spending weekends doing fun things. Never a quiet house, but that's how we like it! In my spare time I run a community health & fitness group called The Tri-hards & Tri-hards Juniors.

MY SETTINGS

I have 2 settings, my home and an outdoor setting based on a beautiful farm in Westhill. I have spent the last 2 years gradually turning this site into a wonderful place where children can be free to explore and learn within a safe environment. We spend the majority of our time here. We have access to a 3 acre private woodland and over the summer months use our 5m bell tent as a base on the farm. Over the winter we switch to a safari tent which has a full kitchen and log burner.
The children will help on the farm with caring for the pony and other animals whilst doing lots of other lovely outdoor activities. The majority of our day is completely child led. However we do have occasions where I offer circle time which is always based around group learning. Children decide themselves if they want to participate in this.

It's not just me that makes my setting such a special place! I am very lucky to have Lucy who has spent the last 2 years doing her apprenticeship with me. Lucy absolutely loves baking and craft and the children are very fond of her. Lucy also babysits for all our families.

Every child within my setting will have an online story personalized to them. This is done by using a secure Early Years app called TAPESTRY. Parents can have the app on their phone/pc and children's stories are updated on a regular basis. As a parent you will be able to view photos of your children and see what they are getting up to. This is a great app and also works well for distant family members eg.. Forces Families, Grandparents etc.

Please note, I do not write termly reports and I will only provide 2 year progress checks if parents request them. I am not a fan of pushing children in areas of the curriculum where they may not be meeting goals and ticking boxes. All children develop, in their own time. What I offer is a setting where children can thrive and be themselves.

MY ETHOS

My setting was graded ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted. As a setting we do sit outside the mainstream settings in the area. Not just because we are outside but because we are truly child led. I completely disagree with planning ‘ages and stages’ and ‘next steps’. In a culture that increasingly encourages predetermined outcomes and narrow curricula this feels like a huge achievement.

I am so passionate about offering exceptional childcare, with an emphasis on attachment and outdoor learning. I believe children need plenty of time out in nature and warm relationships in order to thrive. Children in my setting will benefit from-

-Caring , responsive adults and strong relationships.
-A rich educational experience based on creativity and immersion in the natural world: always informed by the interests of the children.
-Two fantastic setting, my home and the farm.
-Lots of day trips to wonderful places.
-A bell tent and outdoor learning area.
-Caring for the animals inc chickens, lambs and Ebony the pony.
-A strong focus on health and nutrition.
-Mixed age group with children 0-5 years.

My Experience

MY EXPERIENCE

I have been working with children under 5 for 20 years. However I started childminding back in January 2012, after leaving The Children's Society.

Employed as a Family worker for The Children's Society my role was:

-Supporting parents and children in many areas
-Running parent support groups
-Leading gym sessions and community play sessions
-Teaching infant massage
-Co-facilitating a parents programme around health, exercise and nutrition
-Care plans for children

Before The Children's Society I have worked many years within pre-school and nursery settings whilst training towards Early Years qualifications.

During my training I covered the following-
-Providing for children's physical needs
-Promoting the physical development of children
-Promoting children's social and emotional development
-Proving frameworks for managing behavior
-Promoting children's language and communication development
-Contribute to the protection of children against abuse
-Setting up a childcare setting and achieving the highest results
-Observing and assessing the development and behaviour of children
-Plan, implementing and evaluating learning activities and experiences
-Establishing and maintaining relationships with parents
-Planning and equipping environments for children
-Caring for and promoting the development of babies
-Supporting the development of children's curriculum skills
-Working alongside other agencies inc Speech & Language Therapists, Health Visitors and The Children's Centre

My Qualifications

Professional Development:

Level 3 Forest School Leader
Child Psychology Diploma
Mental Health & Well Being in Children
NVQ 3 Early Years Care & Education
NVQ 2 Early Years Care & Education
Safeguarding Children Level 3
Makaton Level 1
Paediatric First Aid
Introduction to Childcare Practice
Level 2 Food Safety & Hygiene
Allergy Online Workshop
Devon Assessment Framework Workshop
Working with Parents Level 4 Foundation
Certified Infant Massage Instructor
Safeguarding For Practitioners
Safeguarding Children's Awareness
Listening to Young Babies & Children
Tackling Domestic Violence & Abuse
Health Exercise & Nutrition In The Really Young Facilitator Training
Birth To Three Matters Foundation
AXS03 Common Assessment Framework
Introducing Homebased Childcare PASS
Special Educational Needs Training
Supporting Children with Additional Needs inc Down Syndrome
Working Together Because Every Childminder Matters
Supporting Children with Learning Difficulties

I have attended numerous workshops all linked to supporting and working alongside children under 5.

My Availability

Please contact me

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 29/03/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £7.00 per hour

£7 per hour

£1.50 Lunch

£2 Evening meal

Open Monday Tuesday Wednesday

The setting is not open bank holidays.

The setting closes over the Christmas Period.

The setting closes for 4 weeks a year. Half fee's are due for these 4 weeks.

PLEASE NOTE I DO NOT ACCEPT 2 and 3 YR FUNDING

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 12/07/2018)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Shelly. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Our daughter Beau started to go to Shelly when she was 8 months old , she is now 2 . No words can describe how amazing Shelly is . Not only does she care while Beau is in her setting but also cares when Beau is home . She is honest and brings out the best of Beau while she is looking after her . Shelly has always been there when we have had questions or worries about Beaus development .

Shelly really does take pride in her job and and you know she cares with all her heart for each child she looks after .

I feel really proud when people ask me who looks after Beau , and I say Shelly Stammers they all say ahh yeah heard she is really good . When Beau has gone for her checks with health visitors , their face beams when i say that Shelly looks after her .
Yes by all means go look at other childminders but I know deep down once you meet her and see what she does you will know she is the right person to look after your child.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Shelly on 10/11/2016

Shelly has been looking after my 1.5 yr old for around 8 months now for 2.5 days per week and also has my 4 yr old Daughter in the School holidays. Shelly does so much with the children it's amazing! My Son loves going to Shelly's house and has learnt so much since being there. Shelly is a very outdoors person and takes the children out for lovely day trips, educational outings and general good old fun! I changed my Son from a nursery setting to a childminder as I believed he would benefit from having an environment where days out and a more one to one relationship were present and I am so glad I did! Shelly has adapted her house to accommodate her childminding business and it looks fantastic well done Shelly!!!!! x x

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Shelly on 13/11/2013

My child has been receiving after school care from Shelly and her staff for several months now and I am very happy knowing that he is extremely well cared for and happy. My child really enjoy's his time with Shelly and has lots of fun whilst in her care. Shelly always offer's my son activities to do after school and provides him with a cooked evening meal. I would highly recommend Shelly's service.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Shelly on 06/11/2013

I can't praise Shelly enough, she is truly is an amazing childminder (& not forgetting the lovely Beth too!!!).
My son Noah has been going for the past 5 months & as soon as we arrive he can't wait to leave me & go for a big cuddle with Shelly!!
The activities that Shelly has planned for the children are fantastic & I love the fact that I know that my little boy is being well looked after & is about to embark on a new little adventure every day!!
I would highly recommend Shelly to anyone!!!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Shelly on 28/10/2013

My little girl has been going to Shelly for a few months now and is delighted as she walks/toddles up the driveway everyday. This is truly an amazing place for my child. She has a day full of love, care, adventures that spark her inquisitiveness, curiosity and sense of self. She has blossomed in her social skills, her language and communication and her adventure making and risk taking. We are kept well informed and are quite frankly jealous of her fun-filled days. The service Shelly provides is a real home from home, cosy play areas that look inviting, enabling environments for exploring and learning together, home cooked, nutritional meals, outdoor play and challenge for her physical development. We could not be happier with our new choice. I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Shelly on 14/10/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.