Avatar for Leah Jac

Leah Jac

Childminder in Torquay

Female Member since Sep 2009 Last Updated Oct 2023 Last Login Mar 2024

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check

About Me

I have been a registered childminder since february 2009. I live in the Daison area with my Husband, Sam, our son (age 12) and 2 daughters (age 3 and 6)

We enjoy lots of outings and adventures, and regularly meet up with other childminders or go to play groups. At home, we enjoy a range of activities, including messy play, treasure baskets, den building, gardening, cooking and art and crafts.

During school holidays we like to go a little further and have been on some great days out, including Plymouth Aquarium and the River Dart Country Park.

I take a holistic approach to children’s learning and development. I believe in a natural, play-based approach in which children develop their own skills and interests.

I am returning to work following a year out where I worked as a nursery manager.

My Experience

My first experience of working in childcare was as a student at Kiddi Karu nursery. I left there to have my son, then volunteered for Sure Start for a couple of years which involved creche work and a lot of work with parents and their young children, at stay and plays, art and craft groups, music sessions and a Young Parents support group. I was also a member of their Parent's Action Group, in which I helped to plan events and give parent feedback to SureStart.

After Sure Start I got a job as a nursery nurse at a children's centre nursery. I was there for 8 months, then decided to go into home-based childcare.

I recently took a year out to work in a local school where I set up and ran a nursery unit for 2-3 year olds. This was a fab learning experience where I developed skills I can bring back to my childminding.

I have some experience working with children with additional needs, including speech and language delays, autism and physical disabilities.

My Qualifications

BA (Hons) degree in Childcare and Education

I complete Paediatric First Aid training and Child Protection training regularly.

I have completed courses in Makaton sign language and in the Thrive Approach (supporting emotional development).

I have also achieved the Bristol Standard Award.

My Availability

Open 5 days a week, 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
I have spaces for children aged under 5, full time, including babies under 1 year old. I also provide before and after school care, with school runs for St Margaret's Academy, Homelands Primary and Priory School in Torquay.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 29/04/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.75 per hour

My fees are in line with most other childminders in our area. I try to offer a competative and fair price. Please contact for more information. I accept early years funding for 15 or 30 hours and am registered with Tax Free Childcare.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents


No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.