
Nanny in Huddersfield

Babysitter in Huddersfield

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2012 Last Updated Feb 2018 Last Login 30 Dec 2020 Email

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience

About Me

I have worked with children from the age of 14, I originally started working at a summer play scheme for children who had autism for 3 weeks of the summer for 4 years. I worked on a 1:1 basis with children who had autism and other learning difficulties.

I then went on to study Level 3 Child care and Education at Kirklees College, where I did 3 long term placements at different settings. Ashbrow Infant and Nursery School, Castle Hill School for children with special needs and Buffer Bear Nursery for children aged 3 months to 5 years. I started working at Buffer Bear whilst studying for my qualification and worked there for 18 months until I moved to Manchester to study for my degree. I also worked at a camp in America for 3 months during my second year of university. I worked with children and horses at the camp and taught children of all ages and learning abilities how to interact with and ride the horses. At the camp I learnt how to work with a big group of people and by doing this ensure I am giving each child in our care the best possible care received the best possible care that we could offer them. It was an experience that I thoroughly enjoyed.

I am very passionate about working with children and families and enjoy learning and implementing new ideas often. I am an enthusiastic, hard working, polite, punctual, team member. I enjoy learning new skills and meeting new people. I feel that if I was to embark on this new opportunity then I would be delighted to gain the opportunity to learn more about children and gain even more experience working with them in a different environment. I feel this would enable me to bring out my own full potential and do the best I can in my chosen career path.

My Experience

From 2004 to 2008 I was a volunteer at the Huddersfield Support Group for Autism. I worked independently on a one to one basis with children who had complex health and social care needs, ranging from the ages of 4 to 14. Some of the children I supported and cared for had learning disabilities and challenging behaviour. I had opportunities to discuss any difficulties with my supervisor on a regular basis. Feedback I received from the children, parents and professionals was positive indicating an ability to build and maintain relationships with the children and their families.

I have also worked at Castle Hill school, on a voluntary arrangement working with children aged 8-10 who also had complex health and social care needs from multi cultural backgrounds. I believe I have a warm caring and supportive manner with an approachable attitude and my supervisor indicated if I hadn't been going to university she would have recommended me for a job as a support worker.

When I worked at Buffer Bear Nursery I worked as part of a team ensuring high standards of care were provided and maintained by attending to the hygiene needs of the babies and children. This included preparing bottle feeds and meals, helping toddlers with their food, changing the younger children's nappies (disposal of these correctly as per health and safety policy) and supporting parents with potty training. I had responsibility to plan daily activities that met the Early Years Foundation Stage programme, this enabled the nursery to monitor the progress of the children and feedback to parents on their achievements. As an individual and as part of a team, I was responsible for the health and safety of all on the premises and child protection issues, reporting any incidents to the duty manager as per policies and procedures.

Whilst studying for my level 3 qualification in childcare and education I completed numerous observations of children in my care during my placements with local schools and nurseries. This equipped me with the knowledge regarding developmental stages children go through and enabled me to feedback appropriately to the relevant professionals.

My admin roles provided me with the opportunity to utilise my organisational skills, I was methodical in my work and this helped the teams I worked with. I helped with prioritising work loads, managing diaries and liaising with health care professionals regarding patients and service users, to ensure smooth running of the office. I understand issues surrounding confidentiality as I worked with patient identifiable information.

I underwent a strict selection process and was fortunate to be offered a place at Frost Valley Camp in New York, USA, in the summer of 2012 for 3 months. I worked with children who were on an equestrian programme. My duties included the care, welfare and spiritual guidance for a diverse group of children. Some of these children were day campers and some were resident campers. I had responsibility for planning and delivering daily activities that were challenging and enjoyable within health and safety guidelines. I also had responsibility for caring for the horses, this included, stabling, feeding, care of tack, riding lessons and cleaning.

Towards the end of camp, hurricane Irene hit unexpectedly and suddenly, this was frightening and challenging. We had to lead the children to safety and attempt to secure the safety of the horses as part of a team, we also had to attempt to clear the areas we worked in to enable it to be safe. This experience has taught me how to work under pressure in challenging and unexpected situations as an individual and as part of a team.

During my time at Manchester Metropolitan University, I studied Early Childhood Studies. My coursework has enabled me to explore the theoretical framework of child development as well as national policy. I have studied child protection and the Children Act 2004 in depth as well as Every Child Matters and relevant theorists regarding children.

My Qualifications

English Language/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - C 2007
English Literature/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - C 2007
ICT/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - C 2007
Food Technology/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - C 2007
Religious Education/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - B 2007
Maths/GCSE Kirklees College - C 2008
Science/GCSE Salendine Nook High School - DD 2007
History/GCSE Salendine Nook High School -D 2007
Childcare and Education/Diploma (Level 3) Kirklees College - BBB 2009
Early Childhood Studies/BaHons Degree Manchester Metropolitan University 2:2 2012

My Availability

Hours to be discussed with employer as I am very flexible and will be willing to work evenings and weekends.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/10/2018

My Fees

  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour

£10ph during the week, to be discussed evenings and weekends. Fees can be discussed with the discretion of the employer.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.