3.67 stars (3)

Childminder in Stevenage

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2012 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 13 May 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered

About Me

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile. My name is Lisa and I live with my husband Gavin and our son Arron. We live in Chells manor, adjacent to Chells and Martins wood.
I aim to provide a wide range of opportunities and activities which is interactive, fun and in keeping with EYFS, to enable children of all backgrounds and abilities, to develop a and learn through play in a caring, supportive and happy environment. I am guided in my routines and policies by the Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS) where all chidren's achivements are recorded in a learning journal which parents take home everyday and can make comments. I also help children who are of school age with their homework if needed. I'm registered and inspected by Ofsted. I'm currently graded good.
I have looked after children for over 30 years, either on a one to one basis nannying, in a nursery/school setting, also my own children and now my grandchildren. I recognise the importance of parental involvement in a child’s formative years, and look forward to working together as a team to meet your child(ren)’s full potential.
I am a memeber of the Chells and Manor children’s centre, and St Nicholas and Martinswood children's centre. We also attend local play groups, rhyme time groups, where children can mix with larger groups of children and enjoy activities outside of my home. I live within walking distance to parks, a duck pond, Chells manor playgroup at the Chells Manor pre-school and Martins Wood school, Fairlands valley park, and I am lucky to have a green opposite my home where we can play larger games and activities that my garden isn't big enough for .
I am also part of a childminding network, we meet up every Thursday term time. so the children have an opportunity to be involved in larger planned activities organised by ourselves. Like nature hunts, picnics and much more. I also volunteer as part of a team of 3 childminders running a baby and toddler group every Friday term time. I have been volunteering for girl guiding for 10 years, I am a leader for a rainbow unit and unit leader (Brown Owl) for a Brownie unit. My role with girl guiding has expanded to Pin green district treasurer.

My Experience

I did child development as a GCSE at school which I supported this with babysitting to gain practical experience at the age of 14.After passing my GCSE's I went on to gain a place at Ware college to firstly study Btec 1st diploma in caring. which covered how to care for babies, children and children with disabilities and then on to care for the elderly. I organised my own work placements as a nanny, in a nursery, a special needs school, residential nursing home and I continued to still do babysitting to gain as much experience as possible. Once I passed my diploma I gained a place on the NNEB (Nursery nurse education board) an in-depth course on child development. Where I trained in various nursery schools and as a nanny to two lovely boys for 2 years.
I would like to add my experience of being a mother to three children and two gorgeous granddaughters. To continue my love of working with children i am now a childminder (Early years practitioner) providing home from home childcare, offering early years education to 0 - 5 years olds also before and after school care for the over 5s. Supporting homework needs and a reading programme for children 3 years plus. I also volunteer for Girl guides, I am a leader for Rainbows.(Girls age 5-7 years old), unit leader (Brown Owl) for Brownies (Girls age 7-10). I am also the treasurer and administrator for the district. I have been volunteering for over 9 years. I also co-run a baby and toddler group at my local community centre. Term time only on Friday mornings.
I have experience with ADHD and Type 1 diabetes, food allergies, children with phobias and separation anxiety.

My Qualifications

Child development GCSE
Btec diploma in caring.
NNEB
EDI Childminding course
Early years foundation stage update for September 2014
Full Paediatric 1st aid (updated every 3 years)
Supporting Children with Speech, Language and Communication Needs
Raising Developmental Concerns with Parents
The Revised EYFS
An Introduction to Children Diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder
Food allergy 2014
College of policing- Channel general awareness module
Early years update British values and Diversity for September 2015
Safeguarding, child protection and MGF (updated every 2 years)
Learning journal update for September 2015
Loose parts play
ICO registered (reviewed and updated yearly)
ITC safety
Safe space level 1,2&3

All over 16 yr olds have been CRB checked
I am fully insured
Ofsted registered and inspected
My home is registered with the Enviormental health to protect the children I look after, to ensure safer food and that I comply with the food safety and hygiene regulation. I hold a Level 2 food safety and hygiene certificate.
I do a lot of online training where I don’t receive a certificate, but ensures I keep up to date on any changes and is part of best practice.

My Availability

My ratios are no more than 6 children in my care at any time/day, due to age and insurance. But more importantly standard of care. I currently have a vacancy available from February 2019 on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays. Please do contact me with your requirements. I will always aim to accommodate and help the best way I can, as each family requirements are different.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/11/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

Please ask for my fees sheet, which gives you full details of my charges.
I also accept children with 2, 3 & 4 yr old funding (15 hours free education per week) including the 3-4 year old extra 15 hour funding (total 30 hours free education per week) I also accept payments via childcare vouchers.

My Local Schools

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for 1973LISA. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Lisa is amazing with our little girl, she’s been going to Lisa for quite a few months now part time and she absolutely loves it there. She is always happy to go there in the morning and always happy when I pick her up, she loves socialising with the other children Lisa looks after also and is always asking to see them including Arron, Lisa’s son. Lisa helps out with information that I need and any queries that I have and it has been a pleasure and put my mind at ease to know that my daughter is in such safe hands.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about 1973LISA on 14/08/2018

I have never had such a bad experience with a childminder! Tried over charging me, my children was so unhappy here and got shouted at each time they got upset as they would make too much noise and upset the son.. my children are 2 & 3 bare in mind. They was given little food.. she charged £15 for every 5 mins late! I do not recommend this lady to look after your child at all !! Now my children have no longer gone to her they are new children and so much happier!

  • 1 stars Overall
  • 1 stars Setting
  • 1 stars Cleanliness
  • 1 stars Food
  • 1 stars Communication

by about 1973LISA on 13/08/2018

We have been with Lisa for about a month now, she has made my daughter feel so welcome. She is very helpful with all the information you need. The children do lots of different activities each day. She is easy to communicate with and will reassure you if you have any worries. My daughter really enjoys going there and is very well looked after.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about 1973LISA on 07/03/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.