Nanny in Jarrow

Babysitter in Jarrow

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2013 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login Jan 2019 Email

My Summary

First Aid Training
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
Visa
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Hi my name is Emma Marie Cook I am 21 years old Im a fun happy and positive person who enjoys all activites going out in all weather and having fun, I am a NVQ level 2 Teaching Assistant I have experience in working as a Personal Assistant as I am a carer for 2 lovely little girls one of them has Angelman Syndrome and epilepsy, The other has autism, I am very dedicated to my work and I have a special bond with children with special educational needs and children with all different abilities. My Profile says I have a child which is true i do have a daughter although she passed away last year i still class her as my daughter,


I am allergic to cat's and nuts, I am currently doing a Adult numeracy maths course level 1 and going onto level 2 I am also learning to drive and will hopefully finished learning before November 2013.


Please Email if you are interested in hiring me or have any questions

I know alot of busy parents need support with keeping the house organized, I am an excellent cleaner and will do a basic clean to a full house clean if required, other services i provide include going food shopping, ironing i can provide activity plans for the children if the parents required for me to do so.

I am currently fully booked with jobs at the moment I am currently a teaching assistant and gaining my level 3 qualification whilst looking after 3 SEN children. I do know some wonderful babysitters if interested, my friend has recently just signed up to childcare.co.uk make sure you read her profile - nicola harkus age 18 jarrow

My Experience

Personal Assistant - November 2010 - Present

I am a personal assistant for Mrs Carole Rodgers. I am a carer for her daughter Francesca who is 13 and suffers from autism. I have been Francesca’s carer for nearly 3 years and have encouraged Francesca to be more social, trying different activities and become more independent. When I first started being Francesca’s carer it was extremely hard to have a conversation as she was extremely shy and wasn’t interested in doing activities. With Francesca’s autism she has a routine and if that routine is broke it can cause her emotion’s to change. Every Saturday I encourage Francesca to plan what we should do. We get the train from Heworth to the metro centre we walk around and then go to McDonalds and then on the trampolines then walk around and go home. Francesca has become very independent and more vocal she has tried a variety of foods and goes to different places such as the beach, walks around Tynemouth. Francesca finds some basic hygiene hard to do by herself so I support her when It comes to washing her hands brushing her teeth and making sure her pants are pulled up.

Personal Assistant - June 2009 - Present

I am a personal assistant for Mrs Trudy Johnson. I am a carer for her daughter Ebony who is aged 8 who suffers from Epilepsy and Angelman Syndrome. I have been Ebony’s carer for 4 Years and have watched and encouraged her physical development develop in so many ways. When I first started caring for Ebony she had very weak balance and had to be supported a lot when it came to walking around as she had a tendency to fall over or become very tired, Ebony also use to find it difficult to hold items such as a fork or spoon she wasn’t able to feed her self so she would use her hands. Over the years with encouragement and a lot more physical activities Ebony’s walking has improved so much she can now walk for longer periods of times and can ride a scooter which she couldn’t do a few years ago. She is also able to feed herself, With Ebony’s condition she cant speak but can make sounds over the years I have helped Ebony learn a few simple words such as “mamaâ€? “dadaâ€? “Amberâ€? “Emmaâ€? “Tiggerâ€? which is amazing. When I look after Ebony I am in charge of her medication for her epilepsy, helping with basic hygiene such as washing hands cleaning her face and changing her nappy.


Work Experience In School Setting’s


Newcastle Bridges Nursery Kenton College April 2013 - June 2013

From mid April I worked in Newcastle bridges nursery with children aged from birth to 4 years. My role when in this setting was to vary between age groups and provide support for the children and babies. I was mainly on the baby side of the fence as the ratio varied all the time we had more babies then children. I would put out different activities on the floor’s and table’s for the children to play and interact with, When working with the babies I was mainly there to support during feeding and when it came to nap times and to monitor the children’s safety in the room and remove anything that may be a danger to the children such as broken toys or food from snack or lunch times.

Ridgeway Primary School: September 2012 - October 2012

From September until October 2012 I was support staff in a Year 2 setting. When in Ridgeway my role was to read one to one with all the children and to encourage them to develop and use their Phonics skills. Shortly before leaving Ridgeway I was doing one to one with a year 1 boy with suspected learning difficulties I encouraged him to read poems and notice words that sounded similar, With this child having suspected learning difficulties he was very easily distracted so I had to plan games to do for when it came to our Phonics session to keep him interested. During the week and after I had read individually with all children I would help with the lessons and prepare the exercise books for the next lesson. I was also support staff when it came to dinner duty and break duty. I also did a lot of administration work. Placing the lesson objective into the children’s books and to help with backing displays.






Leam Lane Nursery : May 2012 - June 2012

From May until June 2012 I worked within a large nursery with children aged 2 - 4 years my role involved providing support during activities such as reading stories, arts and crafts role play it was also important for me to encourage the children to engage in all activities to help develop their fine and gross motor skills and to help build their confidence when it came to interacting with other children. When it came to snack time and dinner time I would help prepare the snacks and make sure the children had washed their hands before coming to eat.



St Josephs RC Primary School Fellgate September 2009 – November 2010 (Student)

Whilst attending college I was doing some work experience in a reception class with 28 children, My role when working in this setting was to support the teachers with lessons and activities and occasionally being given my own group to do individual lessons with, I planned activities such as music and rhythm art and craft, drama and reading. I was also included in supervising break and dinner duties making sure the children were playing safely.

Greenfield’s SEN School September 2010

In September 2010 I worked for a week in Greenfield’s moving round different classrooms with children with all different special needs some more severe then other’s. I interacted with the children helped with sensory activities such as lights sounds and colour coordination also encouraged the children with physical education helping develop their fine and gross motor skills.

Bede community School Gateshead (Student) February 2009 - May 2009

When i attended Gateshead College I was a student in a Year 1 Class with 31 children aged 6- 7 years to help gain experience in classroom setting‘s, my role when working in this setting was to support staff with numeracy and literacy lessons. Whilst in the setting I worked one to one with a child with dyslexia so her work was adapted to meet her needs, we would spend time reading and learning new sounds. Whilst there I did a lot of admin work such as helping make displays cutting and sticking children’s work into their exercise books and photo copying homework.

Wardley Nursery (Student) September 2008 - December 2008

Whilst I was a student at Gateshead College I worked in a nursery setting working with 27 children aged 3-4 years. My role when working in this setting was to monitor health and safety make sure each area was cleaned and had no hazard’s. I worked with a small group of children every week doing arts and crafts creating stars and other Christmas decorations. I also interacted with the children during story time and role play.

My Qualifications

Spring Board College 2009- 2011
NVQ Level 2 Children Care and Development
Level 1 Application of Number
Level 1 Adult Numeracy
Early Years First Aid

Gateshead College 2008 - 2009
BTEC Level 2 Children Care And Development
OCR Level 1 Functional Skills ICT
NCFE Level 1 Employment Skills
NCFE Level 1 Drug Awareness
NCFE Level 1 Certificate in Creative Craft

GCSE - 2008
Art and Design - C
English Literature - C
English Language - D
Additional Applied Science - E
DT Food Technology - E
Mathematics - E
Science - E

My Availability

I am looking for a full time position. I am available any time beginning February 2013 I would need to be contacted a week in advance to let my other jobs know

I would happily become a live in nanny or au pair for a good income and will happily move anywhere in england

. Looking forward to hearing from you

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/09/2019

My Fees

My rates are £7.50ph

Live in nanny £250pw

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.