Babysitter in Streatham

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2013 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login Jan 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

All my life I have been interested in young people and their development and educational requirements. I have had a fair amount of experience with children having worked in several nurseries/schools in London and also international nurseries in Spain.

I graduated in 2010 with a BSc in Business Management. I chose the course, as I felt that having a detailed knowledge of organisational behaviour would aid my understanding of a school setting as well as developing the leadership skills a teacher requires through the management aspect of my degree. It is a choice I feel has greatly enhanced my theoretical awareness of those aspects of the teaching profession and it was guided by a lifelong desire to be a teacher.

I have a natural ability to positively connect, empathise and communicate with children. As well as the great enjoyment I have derived from the various opportunities I have had to work with them.

I want to gain further experience babysitting and tutoring children and my plan is to do a PGCE in Primary Education in the near future.

I also have a recent CRB and run my own car.

My Experience

My ambition began as early as the latter stages of my secondary education, where I selected a nursery for my first work experience placement. It was an extremely positive experience for me and the staff members particularly noted my enthusiasm and rapport with the children.

After this I sought an opportunity to enjoy a similar experience and worked in a crèche in Spain for six weeks, assisting in the care of children of a mixed range of ages and nationalities. Once again the staff commented on my great enthusiasm and I benefited from the experience of aiding in the integration of children from diverse backgrounds in an informal classroom setting.

These experiences fuelled my decision to work in a bilingual nursery in Spain for six months during a gap year from university. The experience gave me a more direct teaching role as I participated in teaching children aged three to four by organising programmes in conjunction with the preschool curriculum in both English and Spanish. Most children were part of expatriate English speaking families that lived in Spain. This not only gave me concrete practical experience but also deepened my awareness of language development in children as I watched them becoming familiar with the Spanish language through the Spanish classes that I provided for them.

Recently, in order to broaden my classroom experience, I requested a work experience placement at a local primary school. As well as assisting in general day to day teaching duties; due to my experiences abroad and knowledge of the Spanish language, I particularly worked alongside two Spanish speaking children who are not yet able to communicate in English, assisting in their integration in to the class activities. In fact I extended my placement from an original two, to three weeks as the teachers and I observed a significant improvement in their communication, class participation and confidence amongst their peers. This experience has been so rewarding and mutually beneficial, that I have agreed to extend my experience even further and will be attending once a week to help support them for the rest of the academic year.

Additionally, I am in the process of volunteering for the charities: The kids company, which helps children profoundly affected by traumatic events in their lives and Body and soul, which is a charity for children and families who have been affected by HIV. As I thrive on helping children achieve under challenging circumstances, I wanted to work with these organisations as I felt that they would be particularly successful in aiding children who are in danger of suffering academically due to their difficulties. In order to assist me in volunteering they have provided me with a safe guarding course as part of the application process which I have just completed.

My Qualifications

I have:
10 GCSE A* - C including English, Maths, Science, ICT and Spanish
A Levels in Sociology, Spanish and Psychology
A BSc In Business Management
I have just completed a safe guarding course and I am in the process of completing a level three teaching assistant course.

My Availability

I am very flexible. Please contact me to talk about availability.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/09/2019

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.