5 stars (2)

Maternity Nurse in Brentwood

Female Non-smoker Member since Feb 2013 Last Updated Apr 2019 Last Login 08 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Night Nanny
DBS Check

About Me

FULLY BOOKED UNTIL OCTOBER 2019.

My name is Charlotte and I have 10 years of experience working with children in many different settings and capacities. I started working as a Nanny when I graduated from University and have been working as a Maternity Nurse since gaining my Level 4 Postnatal Maternity Care Award.

I am very calm and easy-going, I have endless patience with children and my approach with them is tailored to their needs and the needs of the family. I can help with setting up a routine which best fits your baby and your family and have experience living in with a family and being on call, sharing rooms with your newborn to look after their needs during the night so you can get the sleep you need to recover from pregnancy and labour and to be a happy and well-rested parent during the day.

My Experience

I have been working with children since 2009 whilst completing different childcare qualifications. My experience started with working at an infant school and a nursery two days a week over the course of two years for my Level 3 Childcare, Learning and Development course, working with children aged between 3 months and 7 years old.
Since then, I continued to gain experience in nurseries and school whilst completing my University degree in Education.

I also began working part-time in a crèche whilst at Uni and I continue to work for them ad-hoc now. I am a Key worker for children under the age of 3, including babies as young as 8 weeks old. This experience has given me practice in looking after a Newborn or young baby as I learnt how to make and sterilise a bottle, change a nappy, bathe a Newborn and settle them to bed. As a key worker, I am required to plan and carry out activities based around the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in order to help each individual child's development. Due to this, I know the different stages of a child's development and how best to help them reach these stages. Since working with the creche, I have been given the skills and training needed to be promoted up to room leader where I have charge of the staff members in my room.

After I graduated University, I worked as both a live-in and a live-out daily Nanny for 18 months. I worked in a sole-charge role looking after children between the ages of 11 months and 4 years old. My daily roles included getting them up, fed and dressed. Taking them out to group activities, days out and planning activities around the house as well as making all meals and settling the baby to sleep. Along with the childcare, my job role includes housework such as laundry, ironing and making beds.

I started working part-time with a family in October who had newborn twins as well as two older children. My role with them was preparing and making up bottles, settling them to sleep and helping to put them into a good routine. As they got older, I also started tummy-time with them, entertaining them with books and nursery rhymes. During nap times I washed and sterilized bottles and tidied up the house or play with their older siblings.

In January 2018 I started working with a family who had 6 week old twins. I worked nights with them in a sole-charge capacity so their parents can get some well-deserved sleep! My role included settling them to sleep, making up bottles and helping to settle their symptoms as they both suffer from reflux.
I have also worked with five other families with newborn twins, working both days and nights. All this experience has helped me to become confident in settling newborns, feeding them and bathing and changing them but I am also really good at spending hours settling a baby and working on little sleep!

From May 2018 I was based in Canada, working 24/6 with a newborn baby. I started working before the baby was born to help their other children (1 and 4) travel to Canada and once the baby was born, I took over during the night bottle feeding him and helping mum to breast feed during the day. I continued to help with the older two children, occasionally having sole charge of the 3 of them in order for mum and dad to rest or go out. Towards the end of the contract we all travelled to Saudi Arabia where the family live and I helped the baby to settle into the new time zone and get into a good feeding and sleeping schedule.

I started a role in July and was based in France where I worked with a family who have a 6 month old, 1year old and 10 year old. I worked 24/7, feeding the baby formula as well as starting to wean him, making up purees, settling him to sleep and looking after him throughout the day and nights.

I then started a role with a newborn in London, working nights with this family. Helping mum get her milk supply up and able to express. I then helped get the baby used to taking bottles of expressed milk during the night so mum could sleep and breastfeed during the day. He’s suffered from reflux so I implemented different ways of combating this. He also had a circumcision and I was required to give him antibiotics, apply cream and change the gauze as well as the usual roles of feeding, bathing, changing nappies and settling to sleep.

My current job is in based in the UK and the US working 24/6 with a newborn.

My Qualifications

I am First Aid trained and qualified as well as DBS checked and I hold a full, clean driving license and have my own car. I also hold public liability insurance.

I attended college to complete a Level 3 course in Child Care, Learning and Development before going to the University of Brighton where I graduated with a BA (Hons) Education degree.

I have also completed a Level 4 Maternity Nurse course in order to work with newborn babies in which I learnt about how to care for a newborn including understanding breastfeeding, sleep routines and how to cope with illnesses such as jaundice, colic and reflux.

Other qualifications I have gained include: (The following qualifications are all Level 2)
Babysitting
Counselling
The Prevent Duty
Safeguarding Young People
Food Hygiene and Safety
Equality and Diversity
Health and Safety in Education
Child Exploitation and Online Safety
Child Neglect
Data Protection
First Aid Essentials
The SEND Code of Practice
Child Protection in Education
Child Protection in Sport and Active Leisure
Female Genital Mutilation Awareness
Fire Safety in Education

My Availability

I am currently working full time and am not available until the end of 2019.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 16/04/2019

My Fees

  • Maternity Nursing from £10.00 per hour (gross)

My fees are negotiable and depend on whether you need a Maternity Nurse, Babysitter or Emergency childcare.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Exam Certificate: Level 4 Maternity Nurse Qualification (added 04/02/2018)
  • First Aid Certificate (added 04/02/2018)
  • DBS Check (added 04/02/2018)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for CharRey. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Charlotte was full time nanny to our two children (girl aged 1 and boy aged 3) from Jan 2017- Jan 2018. Charlotte is excellent with the children, she is patient and caring but at the same time is able to remain in charge. She is tidy and organised and kept the house Is good order. We use Charlotte for babysitting when we can and the children love her. We highly recommend Charlotte.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 4 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about CharRey on 03/04/2018

We hired Charlotte as a babysitter for a Friday night out in February 2018. She looked after our 6 year old son, and 3 year old daughter. She was very personable, and good with the kids. Highly reccomended.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about CharRey on 09/03/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.