Gemma
image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in London

Babysitter in London

5 stars
(2)

Female Member since Mar 2010 Last Updated Nov 2021 Last Login 29 Nov 2021 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Music Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor
Home School Helper
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated
Mindfulness Tutor

About Me

Welcome families and care givers. I am an English and maths tutor (national curriculum based) and music teacher based in North London with a specialism in working with individuals with SEND. I also run a private tuition and performing arts company and work with an amazing team who are highly skilled and qualified to deliver all of the above

I started in primary education as a teaching assistant and progressed in my career to a cover teacher specialising in English and Maths. Alongside my full time job as a teacher I have been a private tutor for 10+ years teaching English, maths, CELTA/ESOL/TEFL and now offering singing and piano lessons. I specialise in raising children’s attainment levels and performance ability.

I chose this profession because as a child I struggled with my confidence levels which affected my schooling. This allows me to be empathetic towards children dealing with similar circumstances and as a result; can see clearly how to help those children by boosting their self-esteem and confidence, as well as helping those who just need extra learning!

Outside of my work in education, I am also a professional musician and teach children and adults piano, ukulele, singing/performance skills and song-writing.

Music isn’t just for those who want a career in it but can also work well for speech impediments and confidence building. I have a few clients that I work with to help with their speech impediments. I have seen vast improvements in their speech and confidence which I’m over the moon about and we have lots of fun at the same time!!

I thoroughly enjoy my work with children and feel privileged to watch them progress and mature into confident and able individuals.

I am SEN trained and am able to tailor learning for all children regardless of ability, being all inclusive is very important to me!

I also offer babysitting for children from 6 months to teenage years and have many repeat clients. I am a driver and happy to travel. Any questions please feel free to ask.

My Experience

- Teacher of English and Maths to KS1, KS2 and KS3
- Music teacher specialising in singing, piano, ukulele, and performance
- Teaching assistant (10yrs) and class teacher (5yrs) so am able to support children fully in their educational needs
- CATS/SATs and 11+
- Teaching piano to all ages
- Teaching singing to all abilities, performance and song-writing (on request)
- SEN specialist and behaviour specialist
- ESOL/TEFL/CELTA
- Speech and language therapy sessions
- First aid trained and up to date
- Current DBS
- Babysitting
- Epi pen trained
- Online lessons offered

My Qualifications

GCSE A-C
Diploma in Public Services
Diploma in Creative Arts
Team Teach
Autism awareness
Child protection certified
First aid certified
Sports coach
Diploma in working with children
BSc Psychology degree

My Availability

7 days a week
Most weekends

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no yes yes no
Last Updated: 16/11/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £35.00 per hour

Tutoring English and Maths
From £35 (online and in person)

Music lessons:
Beginners piano, Ukulele, Singing, performance and song-writing
Prices start from £30

I run an all inclusive private tutoring company also. We specialise in working with children with SEN and confidence building as well as developing curriculum knowledge and music skills. All team members are teaching professionals, dbs checked and skilled in their work.

Contact me for more details

Babysitting
1-2 children
£15 per hour (just childcare)
£18 per hour (childcare and housework)

3-4 children
£20 per hour (just childcare)
£25 per hour (childcare and housework)

£18 per hour (child with special needs)

My Documents

  • Exam Certificate: BSc Psychology msc degree (added 25/01/2021)
  • Exam Certificate: Vocal artist diploma (added 25/01/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Autism early birds training (added 25/01/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Music training (added 25/01/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Makaton training (added 25/01/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Autism training (added 25/01/2021)
  • Training Certificate: paediatric first aid (added 25/01/2021)
  • First Aid Certificate: paediatric first aid (added 25/01/2021)
  • UK Passport (added 25/01/2021)
  • DBS Check (added 25/01/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Gemma. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Gemma is a very experienced tutor. she is very patient and, engages. When Gemma contacted me, I was very sceptical but Gemma has cleared that up and exceeded my expectation.

My son's has speech and Lanague delay and low cencentration. But with Gemma, it is as if he has no obstacles at all; he is engaged, focus for a whole hour and he enjoys every bit of his session.
He has improved so much and, this is reflecting to his work at school. He looks forward to his sessions every week.
I highly recommend Gemma. She is lovely and excellent at tutoring.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Mercy Mercy about Avatar for Gemma Gemma on 23/03/2021

My daughter who is 3.5 years old does zoom piano lessons with Gemma.
Gemma is highly enthusiastic and brings a lot of energy to my daughter's lesson. She is very engaging and has a lot of patience.
Gemma sings and plays very melodiously.
We are very happy to have found her on childcare.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Rajani Rajani about Avatar for Gemma Gemma on 02/03/2021

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.