5 stars (1)

Childminder in Acomb , York

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2010 Last Updated May 2019 Last Login 12 Nov 2019 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

HI, I currently have early years 9 months to 8 years spaces .
My vacancies are one space on Mondays and Thursdays to start now , two spaces on Wednesdays available from summer 2019.
All about me:
My name is Val Bushby; I am an Ofsted registered childminder based in Acomb near to Carr infant/junior school off Beckfield lane with my husband John who is registered to help as needed, he is also DBS checked both in the home and as a security officer with full first aid. I have grown up children and grandchildren that visit very regularly each week that live local.
We live in a comfortable smoke free semi-detached house which is safe, caring, fun and stimulating, where your child will be treated with respect and valued as an individual within a family atmosphere.
My Aims are too:
Offer a comfortable child friendly home from home childcare, To provide a safe, caring and stimulating childcare where your child will be treated with respect and valued as an individual within a family atmosphere by working in partnership with parents this is essential to ensure that your child is supported, settled and develops at their own pace to their full potential.
Important information required by Ofsted
Registration certificate
DBS
First aid: renew in 2020
Insurances: Renew each year May 2020
Each childcare provider is required by law to have a current DBS check and are registered to work with children and comply to all government standards carried out by Ofsted. This includes being inspected by an Ofsted inspector on suitability to become a childcare provider including any persons over the age of 16 years.
I am regularly inspected every 3 years on suitability and comply to EYFS standards and safety standards included in the service I provide within my childcare setting.
EYFS standards where brought in by government so that ‘all providers’ within the early years are all aiming for the same high standard of care and learning opportunities.
My home setting:
As a home childcare provider I can offer:
A spacious playroom which is a stimulating environment for children to explore, learn and have fun, with a variety of resources to nurture development in all areas of learning, following the EYFS. There is also a quiet area for story time and sleep time.
The children have the advantage to play outdoors in our large secure garden where our Little ones will develop their gross motor skills and explore the world through play with a variety of toys and equipment, which includes;
• A playhouse, A slide
• A sand and water play, Messy play, mud kitchen outdoor crafts.
• Bikes, Scooters
The children will have weekly opportunity to go on outings to local libraries, parks and toddler groups, visit other childminding groups where they can interact with other children and develop their social skills. And build friendships. Please ask to look at photos of things and places we have visited.
Routines /Sleep time / rest time
A quiet nap area, for younger children to rest/ sleep (in a travel cot or buggy, as parents choose
A daily routine is in place providing a range of activities to stimulate the childrens interested and is child led, child's individual needs can be adapted too all areas of play.
We prepare healthy snacks and cater for all children's dietary needs.
We celebrate events of all cultures throughout the year demonstrating equality and diversity.
I have a very 9 year old friendly cat, No other pets.
Any more information can be e mailed after your first visit. To arrange a time please text or e-mail my details are on the information in my profile. Thank you for your interest I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

My Experience

Experience and qualifications
I have worked in childcare for over 28years as a childminder within the local community.5 years also as a nanny gaining many years of experiences and learning opportunities.
I really enjoy my chosen career as a childcare provider.
My last inspection in 2016 I received a ‘GOOD’ grading including three outstanding elements
Food and hygiene, Safeguarding and other related training is updated within a cycle of 3 years .
Johns (my husbands) Experience and qualifications
DBS
First aid
Food Hygiene
Safeguarding.
DBS checked and so is my husband who works shifts as a security guard at a factory.
I have completed my diploma in level 3 in childcare and continue to work towards improving my setting with various training and e-learning on offer.
I am a gold member of childcare uk with public liability insurance.I do E -training on line with childcare uk which offer a full range and good variety of childcare related training including safeguarding. they offer a excellent support for childminders with advice and a good legal advice team.

My Qualifications

I have a portfolio of different training that I have attended over the many years by gaining a wealth of child care knowledge and experiences to us with-in my childcare setting.

By looking after and caring for children with additional needs (Autism, Cerebral palsy, A.D.H.D, Asthma and Eczema) with the support of my local Early years Training centre I have completed many different early years training courses that have helped me gain experience to support my childcare setting.
Qualifications:
Ofsted registered
DBS checked including my family.
Ofsted approved start up as a childminder.as a business
I have First Aid which is done every 3 yrs. re done January 2017 -- re-do 2020
Safe Guarding Training. level 2 and 3 updated November 2017
health and safety diploma level 2
Food and hygiene level 1 and 2
level 2 diploma in childcare
level 3 diploma in childcare
Early years foundation stage: To the same high standard as all state and private nursery's and pre-schools.

My Availability

Availability
My opening hours are 07:30 until 17:30 Monday to Thursday.
• Birth to 8 years.
• Full and part time places available.
• Before and after school if available as I do mostly working with under 5 years.
• Local pick up from schools in the area.
• On street parking when dropping off and picking up. Also on a regular bus service 5/5a
Funding and vouchers taken from all agencies.
I am also registered to offer the funded entitlement to children aged 3 and 4 years also the eligible 2year olds both 15 /30 hours.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School yes yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/05/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

Babies and toddlers up to 5 years £4 per hour. A minimum of 7 hours per session. Higher rates my apply if doing less hours shorter hours to cover school wrap around care. please ask about details, availability.
Average daily rate 7.30am till 5.30pm £40.00 for 10 hours

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Vals little Mindies. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Val is a FANTASTIC childminder. We have been lucky enough to work with her for 3 years now and I really don't know what we'd do without her.

She provides an exciting and stimulating environment with a home from home atmosphere. Both my children, 1year old and 3 years old, love going to Val's. The purpose built children's rooms and garden are the perfect places for little ones to explore and learn while having a brilliant time. It's not unusual for my children to want to stay longer when I go to pick them up.

They regularly attend local children's groups; take part in lots of arts and crafts projects and in the holidays go on fun days out.

Val is incredibly adaptable and looks after the emotional, social and learning needs of all the children in her care to the very highest standard.

I can't recommend Val highly enough.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Vals little Mindies on 05/07/2017

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.