
Nanny in Woking

Babysitter in Woking

Female Non-smoker Member since May 2013 Last Updated Aug 2020 Last Login 13 Jan 2021 Email

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
Ofsted Registered
Governess

About Me

Hello, my name is Michelle; I am 35 years old and am currently seeking work as a full time, daily nanny.

I feel I am an outgoing, energetic, proactive, organized individual with patience in abundance. I come from a large family and feel having family and people you can rely on and trust around you is important when growing up, especially at a young age. My mother worked in a nursery for many years and one of my sisters is also a nanny.

I feel children need to be stimulated in a variety ways to make the most out of their talents and I promote this by providing them with a wide range of experiences from a young age, including, frequent outings to the park or on walks. Whether it’s a stroll in a pushchair chatting about what we can see, to playing on the swings and jumping in puddles, every outing can bring something new.
I was brought up in a household that loved playing board games and I enjoy sharing this with the children in my care, both young and old. Like all sports playing a board game is social and teaches good sportsmanship, plus a great way to bring families together.
I believe swimming is an important activity in an all-round enriching capacity. It teaches trust, confidence, respect for water and is a great form of exercise and muscle development at any age.
Socializing is also important whether it be at a play-date, the park or parent/carer and toddler groups. Socializing with peers, older and younger children and adults encourages manners, communication and general behavior skills.

I find working with young children stimulating, rewarding and in every development they achieve I take pleasure.

Parent, child, nanny, every step we make, we make together.

My Experience

I have just given my notice to a family with 2 girls that I have been working for, for the last 6.5 years. The girls have reached the age now of no longer requiring the services of a full time nanny ( 9 and 11 years of age), so it is the right time for me to move on to something new.

I have been working as a nanny both in the UK and USA since 2007 but before that worked in a variety of childcare related fields, including daycare, summer camps and babysitting.

I finished working with the a family in Los Angeles at the end of December 2009 when my visa came to an end. They have one child who was 3 years old at the time of my departure and I was in their employment for just under 18 months.
I helped my charge in a variety of ways since the start of my employment. She was a VERY fussy eater, demanding only Mac & cheese and French fries, but with determination and patients, is now on a balanced diet, rich in fruits and vegetables!
I used my daycare experience to help get her ready for preschool, devoting time during the day to structured learning time through puzzles, imaginary play, arts and crafts and reading in a time allotted solely for these activities. We would work on learning the alphabet, counting and developing her attention span.
Once my charge showed signs of being ready for toilet training, I assisted her in this too, developing a rewards chart (she loved stickers and would get one to stick on her chart when she was successful on the toilet) to keep her interested. In under a week she had pretty much mastered this activity, without needing the chart towards the end.
My charge had a full schedule when it came to classes and activities. I also assisted in finding new activities that were more age appropriate for her as she grew and developed. This was the same when it came to sorting and updating her toys.
It was important to make sure there was a happy balance between classes and free-play and meeting friends on play-dates.
This was not a typical family in LA but rather an upscale nanny position. I was employed on a full time, live in basis in West Hollywood. There was a lot of travelling involved and long hours, but I loved all these aspects of my job and to date is still one of my favorites!

I have experience in baby care in my first nanny job as I had sole charge of a six months old when his mother returned to work after maternity leave. I provided him with a balanced daily routine with plenty of opportunities for learning, playing, socializing and rest. I also cooked and prepared all his meals and provided general nursery duties including keeping his room and toys clean and tidy, his laundry and ironing.

After leaving my job in Los Angeles I worked with family W for 3.5 years a job I very much loved (and miss) but came to an end due to their children no longing requiring the care of a full time nanny.
I have thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent with the children entrusted to me in this position. They have grown into fantastic characters and are a joy to be around. When I started in this role the children were very young, just under 3 years and the other 10 months old. Part of my role was to develop routines that would suit both children’s needs. From weaning to walking, toilet training to math’s homework, I have assisted the children through a variety of steps in their lives.
I have had experience working with a child recognized as being on the Autistic Spectrum, but due to contractual reasons cannot disclose who this is. This child had behavioral issues, including anger management. They were very immature for their age and had a lot of speech and social setbacks.
Through my own research and a trial and error approach I found ways to help this child deal with a lot of these problems and teach them ways to deal with everyday life. A big step was starting at school and learning to conform to this different environment. Also the educational side of things was always a struggle but through a rigid homework schedule they have managed to keep up with the other children in their class and is doing an incredible job with their reading and spelling. They still do have issues with social situations which tend to correlate when their regular schooling routine is disrupted (usually by special school events or school holidays) but I work closely with their teacher to prepare and support them through these periods.
This child has taught me a lot and opened my eyes to a very new way of seeing the world. I feel they have taught me as much as I have taught them.

My Qualifications

Children’s Care, Learning and Development, level 3 NVQ
Paediatric first aid (held since 2002 and updated every 3 years)
OFSTED registered
CRB checked
NVQ Levels 2 & 3 Travel Services (Tour Operations – Resort Operations)
Community Sports Leadership Award
NOCN Spanish 3 Credits
9 GCSE’s (English, English Literature, Maths, Science, Geography, German, Drama, Design Technology, Religious studies)

I enjoy taking evening classes to further my education or learn a new skill, although i get no formal qualification just self satisfaction in the new knowledge i hold. These classes have included Psychology, sushi making, ballroom dancing, Spanish, and my favourite which has come in so very useful ‘how to motivate the unmotivated child’ opening my eyes to making learning much more fun and making textbook work, that even I as a child found sent me to sleep, into a game and for some people find by doing a motion, whether it be catching a ball or playing periodic table bingo or target practice in a Spanish lesson, you retain the information being taught so much more effectively. I use techniques taught in this class quite a lot, especially with younger children when they are just starting school, as most find sitting at a table for a long period studying hard work and lose focus, turn it into a game – maths outside writing the numbers on the paving with chalks (with the odd silly picture to go with it) then copying it into their homework book, or spelling practice in the bathtub with foam letters of bath crayons, they enjoy or, can I say it look forward to doing their homework!
I have had over 9 years experience in a variety of childcare related jobs. These include babysitting since the age of 14, looking after new-borns to teenagers; youth work with the YMCA on their summer day camps scheme and with a local secondary school on a residential trip.
At college I arranged a variety of day and residential trips for students. At this time I was also called upon by the special needs department to assist their students (with physical, emotional and learning disabilities) on a residential trip.
After college I spent two summers working on a summer camp in Pennsylvania, USA, catering for the needs of children aged 6-16 years. I taught rock climbing and zip line but was also assigned to a bunk of 12 girls.
More recently I worked in a day Montessori nursery for children aged 3 months to 5 years. I was room leader for the 1-2 year olds class. Although this was my home room I also helped other classes when cover was needed and have experience working with all the age groups mentioned above. It was also my job to plan activities promoting learning and development relevant to each child in my class’s individual needs, in line with government guidelines.

My Availability

I am available evenings and weekends for babysitting

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 26/07/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £15.00 per hour (net)

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.