5 stars (1)
image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in Liverpool

Usually responds within 1 hour

Male Non-smoker Member since May 2013 Last Updated Jul 2020 Last Login 30 Jul 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
General Science Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
GCSE
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor

About Me

Fun, caring and kind. These are the three words that my family, friends and colleagues describe me. However, I’d like to add spontaneous to that list! My name is James, a qualified Primary School Teacher of sixteen years.

Since 2004, I have worked full time in Primary Education. However, the last three years have been part time whilst I completed a Masters degree. My teaching career has been wide, I’ve worked in Inner City Liverpool, leafy suburbs and opened an International School in Kenya. Throughout my time in education I have had the privilege of working with children from one to eighteen. Consequently, I have a good grasp of child development and how children progress throughout their life span. As well as excellent curriculum knowledge.

I believe that in my care everybody shines. I create a warm, nurturing and supportive learning environment where everybody feels safe and secure. Boundaries are present and I encourage good behaviour at all times. I am aware that all children are different and what works for one child might not work for another and therefore I employ a range of strategies to ensure that all children are catered for.

Adaptability is essential when working with children. My personality reflects this; I am fun, lively and bubbly yet warm, gentle and approachable. I can engage in Super Hero play and structure it so that learning is taking place as well as delivering meaningful circle time sessions and quiet reflection activities. I believe that this is essential as children require a range of approaches.

I fully understand that choosing the right person for your family can be a stressful and potentially scary! To make things easier I offer an initial telephone conversation, this is an ideal opportunity to talk about your specific needs and requirements. After that, we meet face to face to share documentation, references and to get to know each other.

Outside of work I enjoy reading, going to the theatre, cinema, cooking, exploring cities and places in the UK and abroad. However, I enjoy coffee and conversation the most – you can find me in one of Liverpool’s superb independent coffee shops!

I am a non smoker/drinker and a vegetarian.

My Experience

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
Successes so far...
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
* ALL children passed SATs (Year 6 and Year 2)
* GCSE grades achieved (Examples include; Grade 2 to a 4, Grade 3 to a 5, Grade 5 to 6)
* Three children scored TOP marks on 11+
* ALL of my current private clients have moved ONLINE and we are happily learning throughout this awful time we are having

Summary of School Based Experience:
* Inner City Liverpool Schools (13 years)
* International School (2 years)
* Inner City Birmingham (1 year)
* Private Tutoring: Evening 4-14 year olds (16 years)

I have worked with children aged one to eighteen. My specialism is Primary Education with an interest in the Early Years. My tutoring ranges from YR to GCSE. Maths and English are offered at GCSE Level.

Throughout my career I have worked with children of all abilities and needs; including children with Emotional and Social Difficulties, Autism, Speech and Language Delay, hearing impaired children and children with Downs Syndrome. I have successfully integrated children of all abilities into my classroom.

My Qualifications

I qualified from Liverpool Hope University in 2004 after successfully completing a BEd (Hons) degree in Primary Education, Advanced Study of Early Years (2.1). Currently, I have one year left on an MSc Play Therapy programme.

Since leaving University I have attended INSET for the past sixteen years. In addition to my teaching qualification I have a Counselling Skills/Concepts Qualification as well as BSL Level 1/2.

Before University I completed GCSE, A-Level and GNVQ Qualifications.

My Availability

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
FROM JULY 2020
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
At the moment I am using ZOOM to teach online, due to high demand I am fully booked.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
SUMMER HOLIDAY
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
Fully booked.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 19/07/2020

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 19/03/2020)
  • DBS Check (added 02/09/2016)
  • First Aid Certificate: Paediatric First Aid (12 hours) (added 17/08/2016)
  • UK Passport (added 12/06/2016)
  • Exam Certificate: Induction Completion (added 12/06/2016)
  • Exam Certificate: QTS Certification (added 12/06/2016)
  • Exam Certificate: Primary Education Degree Certification (added 12/06/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for James_rd. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

James has been supporting our 8 year old who has learning difficulties since lock down began via Zoom. Most of the time he doesnt even realise that he is learning because he is having so much fun. However after only a short space of time we have seen a noticable improvement all round in his abilities. James is a genuinely lovely caring guy and it is fascinating to see how much education can be delivered remotely through the use of his clever IT skills and carefully planned use of online resources.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about James_rd on 21/05/2020

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.