5 stars (1)
image/svg+xml

Childminder in Wootton

Babysitter in Wootton

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2013 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 22 Jan 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
DBS Check

About Me

I am an Ofsted registered childminder.
I live in the centre of the village off the Bedford road. I have several dedicated rooms for the children in my care. I have a walled secure garden space for the children to play.
I work with a full time assistant so I will be able to offer extra spaces.
I am full at the moment.
Two full time spaces will be available from September 2020.
I moved to Wootton from Windsor July 2013 with my husband. Before becoming registered as a childminder I worked as a nanny/housekeeper in private households in London, South Oxfordshire and Berkshire for over 20 years.
I have no children of my own as I was very dedicated (and still am) to my families I worked with and for.

I offer a slightly different service to some childminders as I am a forest childcare provider. This means that the children I look after go out everyday to visit woodlands (there are several places we like to visit), play parks, local walks from my home to see the horses and we also like to walk around the lakes at Marston Vale, Harrold country park, Box End to name a few. While we are out enjoying our walks and looking at the wildlife we also look for items to use in crafts and to display in our nature room or take home. Our nature room (is just one of the rooms in my home dedicated to childcare) is a summer room that looks out onto the garden of my home where we have bird boxes, bird feeders and bug boxes, wind mills and wind chimes, we can watch nature even if the weather is bad. I also display our forest care photos so the children can look at them when every they want. I have beanbags in this room so they can read stories or have some time out.

I also offer a variety of crafts and messy play, again this is age dependant. Recently we have made pom-pom animals, planted sunflowers, painted a bird box. We visited a wooded area made a den and collected interesting items that we later painted or made into animals to name only a few.

We have recently extended our property to allow me to have a lovely child friendly working space. We have built, and will be extending over the spring, a children's play space in the garden, currently a play house with slide above it. We have also had artificial turf added to the garden so the children can play outside all year round without worrying about getting muddy. We have also built a raise bed so the children can experience growing some fruits and salad things as well as picking them and trying them to eat.
June 2016 - we have built a raised bedding area at the moment we are growing fruit trees and herbs. We also have a small pirate ship for the children to play in and explore their imagination. The play house now has a periscope and binoculars to allow the children's imagination to take them anyway or be on anything. We have added an awning over the deck area for shade when it is sunny.
October 2016 - we now have a second awning to allow us to play outside even when it is wet. Already it has been used to have lunch outside while it was raining and we have great fun listening to the rain above us. We talked about the weather then after lunch played in the rain. We have also used to it keep us dry while doing messy play outside.
We now have a sensory raised bed that is full of herbs and plants that smell when they are touched.
May 2018 we now have another awning to allow more shade and covered space by the Wendy house. We have covered the fort area of the play space so it has cover from the sun and rain.
We have now added some side screens to allow even more shaded areas and wind protection. Giving us more all weather space.
We visit local play parks and have a weekly trip to soft play area. We also go walking locally and also to woods to "go on a bear hunt" and build dens and just have fun.
We have some messy play, crafts and I love to cook and bake which I encourage the children to join in with me. We try to bake a weekend treat on Friday for the children to take home for you all to enjoy.

My Experience

The children I look after now are aged from birth to 13 years.

I have twenty five year’s of childcare experience working as a nanny. For 15 years I worked for a family in south Oxfordshire as a nanny/housekeeper. I left when the youngest child went to secondary school. I also did some housework, shopping and cooking for the family. There are 3 children in the family were aged 11, 14,16 when I left them.
Between the long term position and the family before I worked on short contracts for several months as I was thinking of changing where I lived.
The family before: I started working with them when their little girl was 8 weeks old. I worked for them for over 18 months and would have stayed longer but sadly due to the breakdown of the marriage they moved away.
Before that: I worked for a family that travelled a lot on their own. After 18 months the little one became too attached to me and I felt it was right to move on. Children should have a better bond with the parents and not the carer. One child in the family with some health issues from birth. The child was 18 months when I started. I also worked for two other families for a few months looking after 5 children under the age of 5.
Before that: I worked for a family that moved out of London to Oxfordshire. At that time I lived in and was happy to do so. I worked with this family for 18 months. Again I only left when mum unfortunately lost her own job and decided to stay at home. Two children in this family when I started the eldest was 5 and the youngest 4 months
Before that: At the age of 20 I moved from London to Oxfordshire and lived in with a family for two years. Once the children started school my roll changed and being younger wanted to carry on looking after smalls and not becoming more of a housekeeper/nanny. 2 children aged 6 years and 4 years
My first nanny position in London I looked after 5 children, aged 8, 2 aged 6, a 2 and half year old and an 18 month old.

Within my years as a nanny I have looked after children with the following problems:
One child was born with water on the brain and his development was delayed because of this.
One family was going through a marital brake up. Always hard on children and I supported both parents and children.
One child has dyslexia. I helped with extra after school activities and work sheets to help keep the child from falling behind.
One child has turners syndrome that condition also came with dyspraxia and ADHD. Again this child needed extra support.

At the moment I have 3 boys under 5. Two of them will be starting school in September and then I will have one 3 year old boy and a 1 year old girl with three 4/5 year old boys before and after school. I also have a few over 9 year olds after school too but this may change next year too as they get older.

My Qualifications

I am a qualified nanny. Taking my exams a very long time ago.
I left school with 9 GCSE's I was in the first year of pupils to take them.
While at collage working on my nursery nursing qualification I also took 2 A-levels in human biology and English lit.
I have studied at home for basic child psychology and I try to read childcare books.
CYPOP5 childminding course
First aid
Safeguarding
Food hygiene
Early Years Foundation Stage course
Observation in early years
Level 3 Speech, Language and Communication course
PACEY Safeguarding 2016
PACEY Delivering the EYFS
First Aid September 2016
Level 2 Food Hygiene October 2016
Data Protection October 2016
Child Exploitation and online safety October 2016
Awareness of child abuse and neglect January 2019
Safeguarding everyone - protecting children, young people and adults at risk January 2019
FGM, forced marriage, spirit possession and honour based violence January 2019
Safeguarding children November 2018
Prevent duty November 2018
Baby music bugs November 2018

My assistant Daisy
level 3 childcare July 2018
First aid July 2018
Safeguarding November 2018
FGM December 2018
Prevent duty 2018

My Availability

Updated September 2019.
All spaces full until September 2020

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 07/09/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.00 per hour
  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour

My fees depend on the hours and responsibility.
I would be happy to discuss.
I include all healthy home cooked meals, snacks of fresh fruit and drinks in my hourly rate and for those with younger children and toddlers it also includes toddler groups, soft play, craft and cooking activities.
For those school aged children it includes homework and any craft activities as well as meals when needed.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 09/10/2016)
  • Reference: Abby (added 27/06/2016)
  • Reference: Alice (added 27/06/2016)
  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 27/06/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for NannyKay Childcare. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Kay Has been looking after my son since July/August2013 and he has developed some great habits because Kay has taught him essentials! Probably stuff that i wouldn't have done right too! She is trustworthy,hard working and a fabulous Child minder for my son!
I do recommend Kay as a childminder!!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about NannyKay Childcare on 15/11/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.