FBrown

Childminder in Goudhurst

Babysitter in Goudhurst

5 stars
(8)

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Sep 2013 Last Updated Nov 2021 Last Login 30 Nov 2021 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups

About Me

Ofsted Good Provider Logo

I am an Ofsted registered childminder graded Good at my last inspection. I have three lovely children, growing up fast - Nathan (16), Nicole (19) and Ellie (23) and a very friendly working cocker spaniel, Harley. We enjoy a spacious home and large garden and are within easy walking distance for the shops, park and village church, Goudhurst School and local toddler groups. The children I look after are treated as part of the family and we inevitably become very fond of them.

I live opposite Goudhurst School, located just off the Cranbrook Road which is convenient for those travelling out to the A21 or Marden/Maidstone/Tunbridge Wells or towards Cranbrook/Maidstone. We have a large driveway for convenient and safe drop off.

I drop off/collect children from Goudhurst primary school and Goudhurst pre-school.

I enjoy helping children develop their skills, knowledge and self-confidence and feel this is best achieved by offering a safe, secure, loving and supportive environment as well as access to a variety of exciting and interesting activities.

For pre-schoolers and babies I offer a range of activities suitable for their development and enjoyment. They play with a variety of toys, shape sorters, Duplo, construction toys, puzzles, board games, dressing up as well as arts and crafts. I take them to the library, children's centres and local toddler groups. It is also important for children to have an opportunity for reading, quiet time and naps. I try to follow the routine they are already used to, where possible,

Most days involve a dog walk usually around one of the local National Trust properties or Bedgebury Forest, with time to visit the play area. I love cooking and baking and if the children in my care have an interest in this, I will be happy to involve them.

I send a brief summary of the day, any special moments or developmental leaps accompanied with photos via WhatsApp. I follow the EYFS Statutory Framework and record and observe the children which I share with parents. This helps each individual child with their development and learning.

The children I collect from school enjoy a home from home environment. A chance to enjoy some downtime, to play, read or relax watching pre-agreed television programme(s). I am happy to supervise their homework, and help with reading and spelling if that is what the children would like to do and time permits. I listen to how their day went and they enjoy a drink and a healthy snack, usually fruit, and the occasional not so healthy snack as a treat! For children that stay beyond 5pm, I provide a home cooked evening meal.

I look forward to welcoming your child to our home.

My Experience

First and foremost I am mum to three children, 2 girls and a boy, all of whom are very different characters and have presented plenty of learning opportunities and challenges!

I have assisted on many school trips and volunteered at a number of schools helping with activities, reading and as an exam invigilator.

Currently I look after 3 pre-schoolers from Monday-Wednesday and a number of children in the school holidays. I also look after children on an ad hoc basis.

The parents whose children I care for are more than happy for prospective parents to contact them and they are best placed to tell you what I offer and what their children's experience is or has been.

My Qualifications

Ofsted grading - Good

PACEY Childminding Course

Paediatric First Aid Certificate

DBS checked

Food Hygiene Certificate rated 5 - very good

My Availability

I work Monday & Tuesday, 8.30am- 6pm). I sometimes have availablity on other days of the week on an ad hoc basis and occasionally look after children on Saturdays and Sundays. Please contact me as this varies depending on who I am caring for at the current time.

I am registered to care for 2 children overnight.

I am available in the school holidays from Monday-Wednesday as a number of the children I care for are term time only.

I offer the following services:

Wrap around care (breakfast and after school club (Goudhurst School))
Day care
Overnight
Emergency care
Ad hoc care

I am happy to take all ages.

I am available for babysitting.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes no no no no no
Morning yes yes no no no yes yes
Afternoon yes yes no no no yes yes
After School yes yes no no no no no
Evening yes yes no no no yes yes
Overnight yes yes no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 20/11/2021

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.50 per hour
  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

£6.50 per hour

£10 per hour babysitting

I do not charge a holiday retainer fee (state school holidays).

My Local Schools

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for FBrown. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Fiona has looked after my two (2 year old girl & 6 year old boy) for nearly a year and a half & I can’t rate her enough. She is kind, loving & fun. I feel lucky to have found someone that I can trust with the most important people in my life.. And they love her!

Fiona makes sure the children have fun, outdoor, messy & educational play. My children love spending time with her & are over the moon when they get to spend time with her children too!

I couldn’t have chosen a lovelier family & I would have no hessication in recommending Fiona to anyone.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Katie Katie about Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 18/02/2018


Response by Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 17/04/2018:

The children have been a joy to look after and I shall miss E greatly when she starts full time at nursery in September. Lovely family.

My two girls (aged 4 and just 2) have been with Fiona for six months now and they are so settled and happy with her. They particularly enjoy excellent structure and routine, a home-from-home feeling and lots of interactive play and learning with Fiona and her lovely family.

Over the last few warmer weeks they have had some wonderful outings to local outdoorsy places and had top fun running around with her dog and the other children. My older child goes to the pre-school in the village and I'm grateful that Fiona's flexibility allows me to work long and irregular hours as a doctor, whilst my girls maintain a good routine. Fiona is always flexible and helpful to me to allow the combination of work and motherhood, and I enjoy written feedback every day the girls are with her as well as photos along the way.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for DrAnna DrAnna about Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 19/03/2017


Response by Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 20/03/2017:

Thank you Anna for such a lovely review. Your girls are a delight to care for and little R gives me hours of amusement!

My sons have been cared for by Fiona since September of 2015, my youngest attends 3 days a week & Fiona collects my eldest from nursery on the same days & takes him back for tea.
Fiona has always made my children feel very welcome & part of the family, they love spending time Fiona's children & the others' she cares for.
Fiona is a very good cook, everything is cooked from scratch & is very varied. I was very touched when Fiona made my youngest son a beautiful cake for his first birthday.
My children have also been cared for in the holidays whilst I've been at work & Fiona has taken them on some lovely outings, Brighton Aquarium & the seaside etc. On a daily basis my youngest son loves his visits to Bedgebury & both of them look forward to going to the local parks & library after nursery.
I know each day that my children are safe & happy.
Also it's really nice to see Fiona & have a nice chat.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for H Simmon H Simmon about Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 20/06/2016

I highly recommend Fiona - she has been amazing with my 2 older age children (10&12yrolds) for full days during school holidays. They have enjoyed being part of her lovely household as well as being taken out on truly brilliant excursions and fun outings. Plus they have raved about her delicious home cooking. Fiona's standards are extremely high and she truly is an excellent childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Ttob Ttob about Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 19/04/2016


Response by Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 20/03/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to write such s lovely review. I had a lot of fun with your two - when are they coming again?!

My 2 year old son, Cas and 4 year old daughter Merryn loved going to Fiona's. My daughter has Down Syndrome and has trouble accepting new people but was very happy with Fiona, who would pick her up from nursery once a week. Cas especially liked the dog walks around the forest every day, he's very outdoorsie and has a lot of energy to burn so this was brilliant.
The setting is next to Goudhurst school, nice and peaceful apart from school drop off/pick up times. Cas liked the garden which is a good size. During the summer Fiona set up a paddling pool in the garden and Cas had a fantastic time!
Cas and Merryn were treated as part of the family and I was very happy leaving them in Fiona's care.
Upon pickup I was always given the run down of the day's events and the up to date journal.
Fiona was very flexible and amenable, able to help out during the holidays which was a god send.
My kids always came to the door with big smiles on their faces, which told me all that I needed to know...this was the right setting for them.



  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for hobbit1 hobbit1 about Avatar for FBrown FBrown on 24/03/2015

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.