Childminder in Wells

Female 46 years old Non-smoker Member since Jul 2014 Last Updated Aug 2017 Last Login 10 Dec 2017 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Childminder in Wells - Rachel Gadd

I live in Wells, Somerset and I have been working with young children and babies since 1990.

I believe in providing security, a caring environment, stimulating play and learning experiences and a relaxed, homely setting where children can have fun and progress at their own rate, taking part in activities they enjoy.

I have been living in Somerset since 1999 and live with my husband and teenage son, I like to be outside, particularly enjoying walks with my family and our lovely brown dog, Wrinkles. I love reading and enjoy visiting my family back at home in Cornwall, where we tend to spend most of our holiday time on the beach (whatever the weather)!

The children I care for are offered a wide range of play and learning experiences, including small world activities, arts and crafts, cookery, outside play, gardening, woodland walks and trips to the local park. Trips to venues to support their learning will also be available throughout the year, maybe the zoo, the aquarium, the library, churches, and museums etc.

Babies in my care are given ample opportunities to play, socialise, get plenty of fresh air and have loads of cuddles whenever they're needed! All pre-school aged children are offered activities to pomote their continuing development - I follow the Early Years Foundation Stage.

School aged children in my care will be asked about their interests and activities will be offered to suit. Lego, cookery, crafts, board games, writing and a little bit of after school TV having all been requested recently.

My Experience

In the past I've worked as a private nanny, a nursery nurse, a nursery manager and a Pre-School manager. I have specialised in caring for children with Special Educational Needs and behavioural difficulties over the past 12 years and have worked closely with other professionals in the sector to help provide appropriate care for those children.

I have also cared for children who are older and have developed a wonderful relationship with my now adult step-son.

I have always worked with children and for over 15 years before becoming a childminder I deputised and then managed Early Years settings in Truro (Cornwall), Shepton Mallet, Priddy and Wells, but now it's time for me to work for myself and share my experience and expertise with families in my own way. I can offer you a personal, trusting, supportive and friendly childcare experience that can often be lost in larger settings.

My Qualifications

I gained an NNEB Certificate in Nursery Nursing qualification in June 1990 (level 3 equivalent).

I have attended many courses and training workshops during the course of my career and have a current Paediatric 1st Aid Certificate.

I have recently completed additional training courses as listed below:

* Paediatric 1st aid training
* The Clinical Psychology of children and Young People through Edinburgh University
*Exploring Play through Shefield University
*SCC Childminding Course
*Introduction to Child Protection
*level 2 in Food Safety and Hygiene
*Food Allergy training
*HENRY (Health, Exercise and Nutrician for the Really Young)
*Supporting Positive Bahaviour
*Opening Doors - supporting families with English as an additional language
*Maths in Early Years
*Early years SENCo training
I am a firm believer in keeping up-to-date with changes within the childcare sector and attend regular training courses and workshops to ensure I'm on the ball.

My Availability

I am available Monday to Friday all year round with approximately 5 weeks holiday per academic year which will always be taken during school holidays.
I provide school drop-offs and collections in Wells to and from St Joseph's & St Theresa's Catholic Primary school, Mondays to Thursdays and St. Cuthbert's Campus on Fridays.
I have Early Years places available from September 2016

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 10/07/2016

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

Fees will be invoiced monthly in arrears. I do not charge if I am on holiday or have to close unexpectedly and can offer term time only or year round contracts.

I have, hourly, daily and weekly rates available.

If you'd like to know more, please leave me a message and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Warning

This provider has not yet uploaded any documents for validation. Read our Safety Centre and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.