Sarah W

Nanny in Edinburgh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

Female Non-smoker Member since May 2015 Last Updated Mar 2021 Last Login 12 May 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Part Time Nanny
Full Driving Licence
After School Nanny
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter

About Me

Hello Everyone,

I have recently returned from Australia where I spent two years travelling and working in various roles such as reception, administration and retail. I gained very valuable life and professional experience but would love to get back into working with children as it is where I feel the happiest.

For the past six months since returning to Edinburgh I have worked in the Amazon Warehouse and worked for Track and Trace with the NHS.

My hobbies include reading, cooking, cycling and socialising with friends (pre-covid) . I have travelled to many places in the past few years such as Costa Rica, Nicaragua, South East Asia and Australia. I love learning about other cultures and meeting new people. I also have a passion for wildlife and love to be outdoors finding new places to explore.

I passed my driving test in September 2015 and have my own car with a full clean UK licence.

My Experience

From January 2017- May 2017 I worked as a classroom assistant in a pre-school in Koh Tao, Thailand. My duties included:
Assisting the teacher in lessons and acting as supply teacher when needed.
Primarily caring for children of 12 months to 3 years old (occasionally children between 6-12mths).
Feeding, changing, cleaning and napping routines.
Organising educational and outdoor activities e.g. beach clean.
Teaching children development and motor skills.
Working with children with different backgrounds, ethnicities and languages.
Closely monitoring children with regards of health and safety.
Liaising with parents daily about children’s behavior and development

My other childcare experience included looking after three children (1.5,3 &4) in August 2015. I nursery/playgroup pick up, take them home, make lunch, do arts and crafts and play games. I love being outdoors so we would visit the park and the beach nearby. Creating a fun and caring atmosphere was very important to me and I formed a great relationship with these children.

Prior to Covid, I regularly babysat for a few different families who have children of a range of ages. I have looked after children between 5 months and 10 years old for the past 6 years. This included bedtime, bath and feeding duties as well as any other tasks the parents needed help with. I worked as a casual nanny for The Care Necessities in Edinburgh over the course of two years in which I met many lovely families and helped them out on an ad hoc basis.

In 2014-2015 I worked as the supervisor at a small kids soft play café. Being surrounded by children every day was a very fun and rewarding job. Some of my jobs included booking and running birthday parties, managing duties amongst the team, food prep and barista. Each day was different but we also had many regular customers who I got to know well and vice versa. This job gave me valuable skills in keeping calm in many situations and also taught me how to interact with groups of children.

In 2014 I nannied for a lovely family with a four year old boy. I would pick him up from nursery, take him home and make lunch, go to the park, do drawing and play games. This was my first experience of sole charge childcare (excluding evening babysitting) and it gave me confidence in my interacting skills with children.

My Qualifications

I have not yet completed any childcare qualifications but my valuable experience has given me the confidence and knowledge to be an expert care giver.

I am currently looking to complete a First Aid Course once bookings reopen.

My Availability

As of the middle of March I will be leaving my current job and would like to get a full time nanny job, but I could also accept part time hours. I am also available for evening and ad hoc babysitting.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 24/03/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £9.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (gross)

My fees are different depending on how many children I will be looking after and what is required of the job. I am happy to discuss fees with parents, taking into consideration of how many hours of work required each week.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.