5 stars (1)

Childminder in Southend On Sea

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2015 Last Updated Jun 2019 Last Login 16 Aug 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

My Name is Sarah Marks and I am a mum of 2 that started out training as a Legal Secretary. I did bits and bobs, working initially as a Branch Secretary for a local Estate Agent’s before leaving to pursue a career with a large law firm in the city. After being made redundant and having tossed the idea around for a number of years I finally took the plunge and set up Flora’s. Flora’s was established in 2010, but certainly not lacking in experience, after having 2 children of my own, I believe that I have the necessary skills and knowledge to ensure that parents receive a trustworthy, reliable and common-sense approach to childcare. I haven’t looked back since.

My partner of 20+ years in my registered assistant and became my assistant after being made redundant. He is amazing with the children and they all adore him.

In May 2010 I completed my CACHE Unit 1 Diploma in Home Based Childcare (DHC) and hold a current First Aid Certificate. I have completed courses in Behaviour Management, Bob the Builder to Batman (How boys play), Communication development, Problem Solving play, Equality, amongst others. I currently have Safeguarding levels 1&2 and advanced safeguarding Level 4. I have undertaken the Level 3 Children and Young Peoples Workforce Diploma at Southend Adult Community College.

I am currently studying my Foundation Degree in Early Years, Playwork and Education with Anglia Ruskin University. I have also completed the necessary checks by Southend Borough Authority to offer funded places to eligible 2 year olds and funding for 3 & 4 year olds.

I can’t think of any better way to spend my days than playing with and making a mess with children and experiencing the joys of watching them grow up and learn through play.

Flora’s is also a member of the Professional Association of Childminders and Early Years (PACEY) , of which I am a Fellow-Ambassador. I am also a member of Southend Network Plus. Flora’s is an “accredited” childminder which enables me to provide government funded places for 2, 3 and 4 year old’s.

I was selected from a number of childminders and other settings to undertake the pilot scheme for the implementation of the “Eat Better, Start Better” Scheme.

I also have first-hand experience of Asthma, being asthmatic myself, and eczema (which both my children have) and dealing with allergies. I have use of a Nebuliser and am happy with parental permission to administer inhalers or apply eczema creams, and have the relevant training required. I also have training for dealing with Diabetes including Blood Glucose Monitoring and administering Insulin.

My Experience

I work the following days: Monday to Friday.

My hours of work are 7.00am to 6pm; however I am willing to negotiate longer hours.

I am registered to mind 12 children: 6 children under the age of 5 years (of which only 1 can be under the age of 1) and 6 children between the ages of 5 and 8 years. My public liability insurance, along with Ofsted, also allows me to mind children over 8 years.

Flora’s operates from Victoria Road and is in close proximity to Southend East Railway Station, Southchurch Hall Park and Southend Esplanade and with this in mind Flora’s would hope to fully utilise all that the surrounding area has to offer. Flora’s regularly uses facilities at Christchurch through their Mother and Toddler Group and Sensory Play Group and I always endeavour to meet and do activities with other Childminders, so that your child will interact with a broad diversity of people.

My Qualifications

OFSTED rated GOOD at a recent inspection.
Currently studying for my Early Years Playwork and Education Foundation Degree
Level 3 Children and Young Peoples Workforce
Paediatric First Aid
Asthma, Eczema, Epipen and Diabetes trained.
Attended over 40 Local Authority courses
10 GCSE's grade C and above.
2 A-levels

My Availability

1 x PART TIME (MON to WED) space available from July due to School leavers. Wait list available.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 01/08/2016

My Fees

I charge £5 per hour which is inclusive of all meals, snacks, drinks and days out.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Sarah. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I cannot recommend Sarah highly enough. My daughter has been with her for nearly a year now. She helped us through the childcare minefield, including applying for vouchers. My daughter loves her and is so happy with her. She is flexible, communicative and fair. As a first time Mum I feel I've lucked out hugely and recommend her to everyone.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sarah on 11/02/2019

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.