"Do not use you will not get your deposit back"

1 stars review of Homeschool SE - Childminder in Wednesbury

Avatar for Homeschool SE

Homeschool SE

View Profile


1 stars Reviewed

Do not use you will not get your deposit back

My daughter started with these last September and was being collected from school and taken to their home.
After few months my daughter refused to go back with them and got really upset and the school had to call me up.
We then agreed for them to only pick her up and bring her to my work which was just down the road from the school.

I have given notice in to cancel the school pick ups on the 8th of September 2020 to be told that as they were open during the lockdown I am not allowed my deposit back.
Even though schools were closed and I had no need to use them, and as I gave notice in September it should not matter if they were open or not before hand. The notice should start when I put it in.

  • 1 stars Overall
  • 1 stars Setting
  • 1 stars Cleanliness
  • 1 stars Food
  • 1 stars Communication

by Avatar for Hannah Hannah

Response from Homeschool SE

Dear Hannah,

We are disappointed by your action to leave a 1 star review. The review is also misleading. You stated that your daughter was upset and did not point out the reasons why. She was not mistreated or harmed in any way. In fact, we went out of our way to make her feel happy, we bought extra toys for her to use, we spoke to her gently but as the only female and one of the youngest children in our setting at the time, she obviously felt unsettled and did not want to play with the other children. The other children tried to show extra kindness towards her but she was not interested.

We made several changes to the contract (that would usually cost £25 per request) by first reducing the hours and then providing pick-up/drop-offs only. As a parent if you felt that our service was that bad, I’m sure you would have stopped using our service a long time ago, but in fact you recently turned to us again asking if we could continue dropping her to you.

As explained, we are within our contractual right to retain the deposit because you stopped using the service within the contacted year and points 6 and 7 of the contract explain when fees/deposits are retained.

You had a debt that we decided to wipe off, furthermore, you paid us late on numerous occasions and should we have added on the late payment fees, the amount would be likely to exceed the amount owed.

Based on these points I think your review is clearly intended to harm and not justified.

May God bless you and peace be with you.