Part Time Nanny Job in Leeds

Female Member since May 2016 Last Updated Aug 2018 Last Login Jan 2019 Email

About Me

We are a busy professional couple, married for 11 years with 2 girls aged 9 & 10.5. We're all pretty active and particularly enjoy spending time with friends and family, being outdoors, health & fitness and travelling. We also all love animals.

My Requirements

Live Out Nanny
Housekeeper
After School Nanny
Part Time Nanny
Private Tutor
Governess
Nanny Share
Mothers Help

We are looking for someone with special skills & experience to help part time with nannying, babysitting & possibly light housework & additional part time tutoring (we already have some tutor help) for our 2 girls who we adopted 4 years ago (and are therefore known as formerly looked after children - LAC). This is to help us all with school, family & work balance.

The girls have come a long way in the last 4 years and present as normal, friendly, fun & active children so that most people are not aware of their background on initial impressions. However, because of their history they do have some particular needs and things are different in a number of ways to regular, more relaxed parenting or tutoring. Like all kids they need fun & love, but more than most they need clear, firm and consistent boundaries, ‘house rules’ and structure. While we are always open to new ideas, we have spent a lot of time & energy working out what works & doesn’t. You will need to work with us on this so if that rings true to your style, please do apply.

The girls came to us significantly behind in all areas, including emotionally, behaviourally & educationally. We have spent a huge amount of time and effort supporting them on all fronts. It’s been very challenging for us so we could do with some help to make life a little easier for us all - giving Mum & Dad a bit of time off sometimes, so that the ‘jobs’ are done and family time is more relaxed & positive.

Generally they girls are doing really well and most people comment on how friendly, fun-loving, well-mannered they are. However, because of their past they will regularly push those they come into contact with to see if you'll give. For example, they may try every trick in the book to work around you & the house rules, or get you to think & do for them rather than apply themselves. There may also be argumentativeness, occasional big outbursts and regular sibling rivalry issues to deal with. It's definitely an ongoing, finely-tuned balance of fun, focus & firmness.

Therefore, as well as looking for someone with clear experience and expertise in helping children catch up on learning & expectations (emotional, social, behavioural & academic), it would also be a big help (although not essential) if you had experience of working with children with these types of additional needs. If you don’t have direct experience of working with children who’ve previously been in care, we do need someone who 'gets it', is happy continually enforce boundaries and will actively work with us on what we've found to be helpful, to be consistent etc. That’s as well as using all the usual interactive fun of course.

We’re reasonably flexible but naturally we’re talking mostly after school / before bedtime hours. Also some weekends, babysitting, occasional overnights, daytime housework & healthy meals prep options - that’s if it suits your hours & skills too. I.e. if you think we could work something out, let's talk!

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.